We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
164
35
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
164
35
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no electricity safari camp bush experience game drives comfortable accommodation off grid dining table mosquito net high tea real africa enjoyed every minute from australia wild dogs made us feel at home whole team morning coffee south africa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Pungwe camp in Manyaleti Reserve was an amazing and thrilling stay. This camp is small but very luxurious. Food was delicious and expertly prepared by long time chef Robert. The tents are large, covered with a thatched roof and full bathroom even a huge tub and plenty of hot water!We had two drives each day and sae the big 5 on every drive! The reserve is unfenced so animals from Kruger, Sabi, and Timbavati roam freely. Manyaleti is a large reserve with few camps so one won't have hoards of trucks at each sighting. In fact, most of time we were in the only truck! Guides were knowledgeable about tracking and finding animals but did not talk much. This is just fine if you have several safaris.Pungwe is an historic camp that has a tradition of 30 years. Even the firepit with cast iron kettle has been in the same spot for decades.With crisply ironed sheets, delicious cusine, comfy beds, and abundance of animals, Pungwe is an exceptional value and experience.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lgaranflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell O, Owner at Pungwe Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Our staff will be so happy to read your review, they love hearing from our guests (especially the gregarious Robert). Thank you so much for the kind words and your recommendation. Hope to see you again sometime soon.

Regards

The Pungwe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

Our trip to Pungwe was an adventure! We had 8 in our group, so exclusive use of the camp was ours. We loved the rustic feel and being disconnected from the world for 3 nights. The accommodations are awesome for a tented camp. Food was hearty and plentiful. We asked for some snacks one afternoon and Rob brought out a nice cheese tray, followed by Warthog kabobs- Delicious. Then, there are the animals. In the first 2 drives, we had seen the Big 5! Each game drive was a new adventure. Back at camp, we had Buffalo near by and Lions running by our tent in the light of the full moon, that is an experience that will not soon be forgotten. Our visits with Michel were enjoyable and informative. He is a thoughtful man, who is attentive and interested to know how you view his camp. In a world that seeks luxury, spas and pools in their safari experience, I hope that there will be enough people who want to experience a place like Pungwe- rustic, yet very comfortable, and keep it as it is.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramonn161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell O, Owner at Pungwe Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Hi Ramon

Thank you very much for your wonderful review, we really appreciate the time that you took to review our wonderful little safari camp. I will convey your thanks to our staff and share the review with them as they love to hear that their efforts are appreciated. The buffalo and lion interaction in the full moon is hopefully a memory that you will long cherish.

Regards

The Pungwe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018

We stayed for 2 nights in this wonderful camp and it was a fantastic introduction to the African bush. The camp is small and intimate, with only 4 tents and a maximum of 8 guests. There is no electricity so everything is lit by oil lamps, water is heated from a fire lit by the staff during the evening game drive and a kettle full of water boils continuously on the camp fire always ready for tea and coffee. All this means a total escape from reality and produces a wonderful ambience.

We were fabulously looked after by the staff who cooked excellent meals for breakfast and dinner, plus rusks before the morning game drive and afternoon tea with cake. Isaac, our driver and Wonder Boy, our tracker, excelled in finding game and we saw four of the big five during our first drive. On a subsequent drive we quietly waited by a pair of lions who finally mated. Remembering the roars they, and other lions on the reserve made, still makes my hairs stand on end.

We were also able to go on bush walks accompanied by Isaac and Wonder and learned much more about the plants and animals in Manyaleti, including what to look for when tracking. But I would never be able to spot the wildlife like those two pros!

Although the trees and shrubs are less prevalent on Manyaleti there were still plenty of animals on each of the drives and walks which made them easier to spot, well for most of us anyway. And we were never bothered by other vehicles, which made us feel like the only people on the reserve. A truly wonderful experience.

Room tip: There are only 4 tents so each has a good outlook.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MATTNottinghamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

A lovely Bush trip. Michelle and Rob and staff were great. Meeting people from all over the globe was really nice. Wish I could live this life for good. The sightings were incredible. 2 leopard, mating lions, lion brothers, etc. Thank you!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank jmundy770450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018

It is our second time in Manyaleti and really enjoyed our stay. The atmospheare at the camp is so nice but I missed a dinner in the boma, around a fire.... Only 4 tents, very comfortable and warm, even if it was winter and no electricity. We really loved our stay.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Silvia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews