We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
165
35
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
165
35
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no electricity safari camp bush experience game drives comfortable accommodation off grid dining table mosquito net high tea real africa enjoyed every minute from australia wild dogs made us feel at home whole team morning coffee south africa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2018

Pungwe was a better than I dreamed. It is a small location that holds a maximum of 8 people and is owned by Michel who will often sit with your group and tell your the most interesting stories about his life. When we arrived to the reserve we immediately saw wild animals before we even made it to the camp site. Once we were at the site the guides took us to our beautiful tents which were phenomenal. The beds were comfortable and somehow they made the mosquito netting look magical. The bathrooms had hot water for showers which I was not expecting out in the bush. At night you could hear the animals in the campsite which was incredibly cool to listen to while you were laying there. Some of our braver members sat on their porches and watched them through the night. The camp also cooked all of your meals and it was the best food we had the entire trip. The chefs rotate but we got lucky and had Robert cooking for us. If I could have brought him home with me I would have. Best food I've ever eaten. And the bread he made...words can't describe it. I'm not much of a bread person but I ate two pieces at almost every meal. Our guides were also amazing. Issac took us out immediately after our arrival the first afternoon and that evening we saw 4 of the big 5. He saw things hidden that I never would have seen. By the next morning we had seen the missing member of the big 5. The guides took us on night safaris, day safaris, a bush walk, and even up to a look out point to see the entire reserve. They were extremely good about communicating with each other to determine where the best sites were but also communicating with us to determine what our top wish list animals were. It was a perfect stay. Just a word of advice, make it your last stop on the trip because nothing will be able to top it. We will definitely be returning.

Room tip: There is no such thing as a bad room here, all the tents were great
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jpro1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell H, Owner at Pungwe Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Thank you for sharing your amazing experiences and for the fantastic review. We take pride in offering an authentic safari experience and are overjoyed when our guests respond in this way. Our staff take great pleasure in receiving feedback and will be extremely happy with you comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to our safari camp in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

Pungwe Safari Camp was the highlight of our trip to Africa! I can't begin to tell you how much we loved this place. We arrived late, which did not seem to bother the staff. They quickly prepared a snack and we were off on safari within an hour of our arrival.

Our safari guide, Issac, was amazing! He would see the animals long before any of us. He always asked for our input, as several times there were many different sightings to choose from. He would take us off the road and very near to the animals. Within 24 hours of arrival we had viewed more animals than we ever imagined. His knowledge of the area and the animals is extensive. He led us on a bush walk and provided so much information about plants, animals, and the history of the area.

Back at camp, our chef, Robert, treated us royally with his delightfully flavored meals and fresh made bread. He always arrived with a smile on his face and was willing to adjust meals based on an allergy in our group. This was the first stop of several on our trip to Africa and we mentioned that we missed Robert's cooking throughout the rest of the trip.

The accommodations are beautiful. When I considered a camp, I had no idea it could be so well done. The beds are very comfortable. The rooms are large with ensuite full bath. We had hot water every evening (fire-heated) and a fan if we needed it. We were provided solar lanterns to take to our tent every evening and when there were animals in the camp, the staff escorted us safely to our room. Charging stations are available back at the main lodge area.

Our host, Michel, graciously joined us each afternoon and evening ensuring we were enjoying our time and providing background and insight into the history of Pungwe. His stories captivated us as he has a long history of managing safari camps.

We loved the small, intimate feel of this camp. There are only four tents making a maximum of 8 visitors in the camp at any given time. There are no fences, so the animals roam freely through the camp. Manyeleti is a private reserve so we never had to fight crowds when there was an animal sighting.

One night, we took a quick drive when the guides realized there was a leopard nearby. They quickly located the leopard despite the challenging brush and lack of light. The next day, a bull elephant wandered right into camp in the middle of the day. That same evening, a whole group of elephants passed through the camp as we were finishing dinner. The next morning, a hyena cautiously followed my adult son to breakfast. All of this happened under the watchful eye of our host and guides, who were very careful with our safety.

All of this is accomplished with careful consideration to the footprint we are leaving on this planet. If you're looking for an authentic safari experience...look no further.

Room tip: All the rooms are wonderful!
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tami M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell H, Owner at Pungwe Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review, we strive to give every guest a truly authentic safari experience and love getting such positive feedback. I will pass your compliments on to all the staff and especially to Robert, Isaac and Michel.

We hope that you are able to visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

It was our first time at Manyeleti Reserve and Pungwe Safari Camp and it will surely not be our last.
We go to the bush fairly often but can honestly say that we have never experienced such superb game viewing. Every game drive was special - we saw the "Big 5" several times as well as wild dogs, hyenas, cheetahs, honeybadger!
The staff is friendly and attentive and the food of excellent quality.
The camp is basic and rustic but has everything you need - except for electricity.
However, the camp is run with solar power to be able to charge your cell phones and a so-called "donkey system" ensures you have hot water to shower.
Sitting around the fire and listening to Michel's camp side stories was absolutely enriching.
We can't wait to be back.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kerstin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell H, Owner at Pungwe Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Thank you for such wonderful feedback. We eagerly anticipate your return, with all the fantastic safari sightings that we are having of late, Michel is bound to have even more stories by then to entertain you around the fireside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

We have had an amazing visit. It started with a warm welcome from Michel. The accommodation, the game drives, the food from early mornings till sunset drinks; absolutely wonderful. Pungwe is in our hearts.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Wendel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell H, Owner at Pungwe Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

So happy that our little safari camp has crept into your hearts as well, we have always felt this way about Pungwe. We hope to see you back sometime soon. Thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

The MOST amazing place to stay! Cannot rate Pungwe highly enough, incredible staff, fantastic food and beautiful, authentic atmosphere of Safari days gone by. The wildlife viewing in Manyeleti is out of this world, fabulous guides and every day something better than then day before!! You will not regret a visit to Pungwe Safari Camp- I will be back!!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank SafariSally1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews