We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
FindHotel
eDreams
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
164
35
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
164
35
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no electricity safari camp bush experience game drives comfortable accommodation off grid dining table mosquito net high tea real africa enjoyed every minute from australia wild dogs made us feel at home whole team morning coffee south africa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2018

It was our first time at Manyeleti Reserve and Pungwe Safari Camp and it will surely not be our last.
We go to the bush fairly often but can honestly say that we have never experienced such superb game viewing. Every game drive was special - we saw the "Big 5" several times as well as wild dogs, hyenas, cheetahs, honeybadger!
The staff is friendly and attentive and the food of excellent quality.
The camp is basic and rustic but has everything you need - except for electricity.
However, the camp is run with solar power to be able to charge your cell phones and a so-called "donkey system" ensures you have hot water to shower.
Sitting around the fire and listening to Michel's camp side stories was absolutely enriching.
We can't wait to be back.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kerstin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell H, Owner at Pungwe Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Thank you for such wonderful feedback. We eagerly anticipate your return, with all the fantastic safari sightings that we are having of late, Michel is bound to have even more stories by then to entertain you around the fireside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

We have had an amazing visit. It started with a warm welcome from Michel. The accommodation, the game drives, the food from early mornings till sunset drinks; absolutely wonderful. Pungwe is in our hearts.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Wendel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell H, Owner at Pungwe Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

So happy that our little safari camp has crept into your hearts as well, we have always felt this way about Pungwe. We hope to see you back sometime soon. Thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

The MOST amazing place to stay! Cannot rate Pungwe highly enough, incredible staff, fantastic food and beautiful, authentic atmosphere of Safari days gone by. The wildlife viewing in Manyeleti is out of this world, fabulous guides and every day something better than then day before!! You will not regret a visit to Pungwe Safari Camp- I will be back!!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank SafariSally1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017 via mobile

Loved my stay at Pungwe. This small and private camp captures the essence of Africa.
Great game sightings, beautiful trees, abundance of birds and more all form part of a unspoilt natural eco-system.
Lovely tented accommodation with super comfortable beds made for a good night's rest while the sounds of Africa filled the night.
Thank You Michel and your lovely staff for being superb hosts.
I

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank SharonHaussmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

Under new highly experienced management since September 2016 (new investment), the "Camp" delivers a finely balanced experience of living in a game park (no fences); convivial dining hosted by the owner, while delivering unforgettable safari drives and bush walks from skilled guides. Your life is in their hands. It is their experience and knowledge which will protect you, and you will need to follow their instructions in order to be safe. You will come away with a new respect for all living creatures. The elephants and other game can, and do, wander right through the camp, even while you are sleeping there. This is not a place for young children. It is for those that want to experience Africa as it was in the days of "Born Free" but with a little more comfort (decent beds and running water). The Food was excellent for a camp. You are encouraged, when you want a hot drink, to visit the camp fire, and pour the hot water from the kettle suspended above the flames; sit on the log seats, and chat with others, as has been done for 1000s of years across Africa. Under the nearby thatched dining room and bar, modern more comfortable sofas and chairs provide another area for socialising.

I have given this 5 stars because the overall Safari experience is superb. The new owner has around half the concession for the Manyeletti game reserve, which has open fences to the Kruger Park. He invested because the entire ecosystem of the reserve from vegetation through birds of prey to the "big five" are all healthy. There are only room for 8 people in the single Safari Viewing Land Cruiser. That meant that in 2 days of Safaris we only met one vehicle. For example, when we were viewing a stalking lion at 10 meters distance (spotting the lame buffalo) our vehicle was the only one present. We saw on the drives all the game that we desired (I don't want to overset your expectations because you may not be as lucky as us. We were delighted). I also want to dwell for a moment on the Safari walk (from about 6.30am to 10am). The moment that you set out with your guides, your senses become more attuned to everything around you. There is no engine noise. The guides start to introduce to bush craft. They have time to talk and explain, as they begin to track the wild animals on foot. Here you start to learn so much more about the bush than just viewing the big game magnificence.

I am a cruising sailor. I have sailed the Atlantic. That was not risky for me because I was trained and experienced. The same is true here. I put myself under the experience and instruction of the staff, and the five of us had a safe and incredible experience of Africa that we will remember the rest of our life.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews