We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreams
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
165
35
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
165
35
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no electricity safari camp bush experience game drives comfortable accommodation off grid dining table mosquito net high tea real africa enjoyed every minute from australia wild dogs made us feel at home whole team morning coffee south africa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2017

Janine at Inspired2Explore organised our SA trip and included a few days at Pungwe. This is a nice bush camp in a beautiful area with lots of game viewing opportunities. We liked that the bush camp is not fenced, which means you may see some animals within the camp itself. The seating/dining area is very pretty. We are vegetarian and they happily catered to us, with very yummy food. We found that there were more mosquitos/bugs here than other areas, which may have just been a coincidence, but the camp provides mosquito repellant. Recommended for a couple of days.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Unfortunately we had only the chance to stay for one night in this fantastic camp, next time we will stay longer in any case.
The experience was very unique, no electricity, but full comfort and my best safari ever. Only 4 luxury, very spacious tents with excellents beds. Personal service is guaranteed. I also like to mention the candle light dinner, we all were sitting around a big table and enjoyed our delicious food and the great stories of Michel. Even my late request for a vegetarian food was met - and it was fantastic.
Last but not least I want also to mention the great team - service at its best (every wish was read from the guest's lips).
After several times in southern Africa, I can really recommend Pungwe Safari Camp - don't miss this unique experience with the real bush feeling.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Monika_R75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights from the 22nd to 24th Sept at Pungwe Safari Camp.

Pungwe is in the best way an old fashioned tented camp. If possible, we prefer this type of accommodation on our safari vacations and that was the reason for us to choose Pungwe - and also because it is a small camp with only 4 accommodations.

The tents are very spacious and in addition to the wide and comfortable beds there is an armchair, a wardrobe and a chest as a storage.
In front of the tent there is also a covered seating area with two chairs and a table.
The bathroom also has plenty of space and includes a shower and a bathtub as well as the sink and toilet. The water for the bath is heated two times a day with an oven that stands outside the tent.

There is no electricity in the tents. For light there are paraffin lamps, which have already been lit in the evening after the return of the game drive and put the whole camp and the tents in a wonderful and very special mood.

The main building is open on all sides and includes the lounge area as well as the dining area and a small bar where solar power is available and cameras etc. can be charged.

Of course there is also a Boma where you can sit comfortably around the fire (which burns all day) and occasionally the food is prepared over the open flame - real classic safari-feeling.

The food must be highlighted at this point. Whether lunch or dinner - no frills, but home cooking from the very best. All the ingredients were fresh and of best quality. The braised lamb and the chicken we had for our dinners were cooked to perfection. All meals were plentiful and never could be eaten completely.
Also the breakfast must be mentioned. Eggs cooked to order with with sausages, bacon, baked beans … and also toast and cheese, marmelade, honey, Salami and many more. And for tea time freshly baked cake was served daily.

As usual during a safari vacation the days at Pungwe started with a Game-Drive at 6.00 am. After returning at 9.00 - 9.30 am the breakfast was served. Afterwards there was free time until lunch and then again up to teatime. At 4.00 pm the afternoon game drive began. Coming back to the camp depends on what was to see and can lasts more than the announced 3 hours because on both days we have been driving long distances to see a pride of 16 lions. During our Game-Drives there was much game around and we have seen the Big Five in Pungwe - thanks to our Guide Issac.

In summary, we had an excellent stay in Pungwe. But it was far more - it was simply memorable. And the reason for this is Michel, the owner, the manager and mostly the heart of the camp. You rarely meet such an interesting and intelligent person like him. The other guests and we have been talking and discussing with him for hours during the breaks between the Game-Drives and at dinner (and long after). He had incredibly interesting stories to tell from an amazing life that everyone loved to hear. We are glad to have met Michel. Without him, Pungwe would not be the same.

Pungwe Safari Camp is our absolute recommendation for a Safari-Vacation not only in the Manyeleti Game Reserve but throughout the Greater Kruger area.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ralfcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

We stayed four nights at Pungwe and loved every minute!!!
We arranged a transfer from Hoedspruit airport to the camp, which was only 1.5hr drive to the camp. When we arrived, we were greeted with a nice welcome drink and showed around the dining, lounge and bar area. The bar was an honor system, so you can help yourself to alcohol or non alcohol drinks at anytime and just write it down under your room/tent name! During the welcome drink time, the staff went over daily time table.
Our private bush tent/cabin with en-suite was very spacious and well appointed. The bed was extra large with rich linens, mosquito net draped around the bed! Our en-suite had a lovely claw foot tub and separate shower!!
But the unforgettable part of our time there was the animals!! We saw more game then we could have imagined!! We saw lions, leopards, cheetahs, elephants, giraffes, water buffaloes, hyenas, zebras, wildebeest, kudo, impala, and many birds, flora and fauna!
Pungwe Safari Camp is a true safari experience, an authentic bush feeling!!!
THANK YOU, to staff, guide and owners for our magical time at Pungwe!! We highly recommend Pungwe Safari Camp!

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cecilia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

We (family: 2 parents, 3 kids) spent two very enjoyable days and nights at Pungwe. A big thanks to Michel, Neva, Isaac, Robert and the rest of the staff for all of the great experiences! @Robert, we already miss your culinary skills!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
5  Thank jurrienp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews