We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
165
35
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
165
35
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no electricity safari camp bush experience game drives comfortable accommodation off grid dining table mosquito net high tea real africa enjoyed every minute from australia wild dogs made us feel at home whole team morning coffee south africa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2017

We stayed four nights at Pungwe and loved every minute!!!
We arranged a transfer from Hoedspruit airport to the camp, which was only 1.5hr drive to the camp. When we arrived, we were greeted with a nice welcome drink and showed around the dining, lounge and bar area. The bar was an honor system, so you can help yourself to alcohol or non alcohol drinks at anytime and just write it down under your room/tent name! During the welcome drink time, the staff went over daily time table.
Our private bush tent/cabin with en-suite was very spacious and well appointed. The bed was extra large with rich linens, mosquito net draped around the bed! Our en-suite had a lovely claw foot tub and separate shower!!
But the unforgettable part of our time there was the animals!! We saw more game then we could have imagined!! We saw lions, leopards, cheetahs, elephants, giraffes, water buffaloes, hyenas, zebras, wildebeest, kudo, impala, and many birds, flora and fauna!
Pungwe Safari Camp is a true safari experience, an authentic bush feeling!!!
THANK YOU, to staff, guide and owners for our magical time at Pungwe!! We highly recommend Pungwe Safari Camp!

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cecilia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

We (family: 2 parents, 3 kids) spent two very enjoyable days and nights at Pungwe. A big thanks to Michel, Neva, Isaac, Robert and the rest of the staff for all of the great experiences! @Robert, we already miss your culinary skills!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
5  Thank jurrienp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed two nights at Pungwe.
We arrived through a local gate and drove 1.5 hours to the camp. Its better to arrive through Orpen gate. The way is well marked with signs. We wished we had a 4x4, but we made it. We could join the game drive the afternoon we arrived, so you should be there by 2.30 pm. Dinner and Breakfast were excellent. We really like the warm water bottle in our bed when we came back to our tent after dinner. Pungwe is a small camp and therefore is very familiar. The game drives and the bush walk in the morning were great!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank dorflaedeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

We staid at Pungwe for 2 nights.
We arrived @ 12.00 noon and was showed to our tents. There was no info given as to the schedule or what to expect. We were not offered any beverages or even water. We did not feel welcomed or cared for. We were told that 'lunch' will be at 3.00. We had breakfast early that morning before traveling to Pungwe and was quite hungry and thirsty.
When lunch/high tea was served it was dry chocolate cake and one chicken pie per person. It was tasteless and unsatisfying. The food through out the stay was shockingly bad. Breakfast was passable but for the rest poor.
The personnel was very pleasant and the game drives fantastic.
The tents were clean and comfortable and the beds and bedding excellent.
Glad we went because we saw wild dogs and leopard, rhino etc. Loved the bush experience, but felt cheated and even slightly offended by the food we were served, Although Pungwe is more affordable than many lodges it is not cheep and this ruined the experience for us.
We will not be back.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Louis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 September 2017

Dear Loius M
I am truly sorry that you found the food to be below par, this is a bit of anomaly as you will see from all the other reviews posted in the last year that the food is always rated very highly. I will be in contact with your agent as all our documentation indicates that we serve a brunch mid-morning and a high tea at 3pm so they should have advised you off this. I understand that your son enjoyed the individual, personal gave drive that he was given after not joiining you on one of the drives. Very pleased to hear that you had a fantastic safari experience and found the accommodation to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

On 18th July 2017 we were received by the friendliest staff and Michelle for high tea followed by a sunset game drive. Little have I known that sundowners with the most beautiful sunset and a big hippo in the background will turn into the most memorable engagement!! It was perfect and couldn't imagine the moment being any more special!!

Thank you so much Michelle and your team for making the experience at Pungwe bush camp unforgettable and extraordinary!! You guys are doing great things and giving back to the communities around you.

I can truly advise anyone to visit Pungwe for an unforgettable heart warming Safari experience for what it is supposed to be!!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ankekleynhans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews