We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreams
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
165
35
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
165
35
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no electricity safari camp bush experience game drives comfortable accommodation off grid dining table mosquito net high tea real africa enjoyed every minute from australia wild dogs made us feel at home whole team morning coffee south africa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2017

We staid at Pungwe for 2 nights.
We arrived @ 12.00 noon and was showed to our tents. There was no info given as to the schedule or what to expect. We were not offered any beverages or even water. We did not feel welcomed or cared for. We were told that 'lunch' will be at 3.00. We had breakfast early that morning before traveling to Pungwe and was quite hungry and thirsty.
When lunch/high tea was served it was dry chocolate cake and one chicken pie per person. It was tasteless and unsatisfying. The food through out the stay was shockingly bad. Breakfast was passable but for the rest poor.
The personnel was very pleasant and the game drives fantastic.
The tents were clean and comfortable and the beds and bedding excellent.
Glad we went because we saw wild dogs and leopard, rhino etc. Loved the bush experience, but felt cheated and even slightly offended by the food we were served, Although Pungwe is more affordable than many lodges it is not cheep and this ruined the experience for us.
We will not be back.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Louis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 September 2017

Dear Loius M
I am truly sorry that you found the food to be below par, this is a bit of anomaly as you will see from all the other reviews posted in the last year that the food is always rated very highly. I will be in contact with your agent as all our documentation indicates that we serve a brunch mid-morning and a high tea at 3pm so they should have advised you off this. I understand that your son enjoyed the individual, personal gave drive that he was given after not joiining you on one of the drives. Very pleased to hear that you had a fantastic safari experience and found the accommodation to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

On 18th July 2017 we were received by the friendliest staff and Michelle for high tea followed by a sunset game drive. Little have I known that sundowners with the most beautiful sunset and a big hippo in the background will turn into the most memorable engagement!! It was perfect and couldn't imagine the moment being any more special!!

Thank you so much Michelle and your team for making the experience at Pungwe bush camp unforgettable and extraordinary!! You guys are doing great things and giving back to the communities around you.

I can truly advise anyone to visit Pungwe for an unforgettable heart warming Safari experience for what it is supposed to be!!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ankekleynhans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

We stayed at Pungwe Bush Camp for the night on 9 July 2017. It's a small, four tent camp but is really pretty and the tents are really spacious, with large en-suite bathrooms. The lounge and dining area is also really nicely done, and it's simple but effective. The service from the staff is really good and the food excellent. This is how safari camps should be - very relaxed, low-key and simple but cozy and comfortable. We had buffalo and hyena in the camp at night and their tracks were everywhere when we got up in the morning, which was very exciting. Our host/manager Michel was wonderful and very knowledgable and his team were great. And the braai under the stars was a great thing for a carnivore like me - with steak, wors and chicken kebabs done with baked potatoes, pap and a lovely tomato and onion sauce. Well done to everyone and thanks for the experience. It was a lovely way to end our holiday.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LukevanWyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

This week I had the great pleasure of staying at the Pungwe Safari Camp for a night. From the campfire under the stars to the excellent walking tour with Isaac, this was an unforgettable experience. Dining by candlelight in the beautiful gathering hut was fabulous. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank shelleyandbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2017

Thank you so much for this glowing review of both our camp and our staff, I'll be sure to share this with Isaac and the others as these reviews mean a lot to them. So pleased to see that the work that we have put in over the past eight months is achieving what we strive most for; happy guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

One of the last great original bush camps in South Africa - completely unique. I cannot recommend it highly enough. It is beautifully appointed and extremely comfortable. Isaac the head ranger will take you on walks through the vast open savannahs that the Manyeleti offers and offer unique insights into the bush that are inspiring.The game drives provide prolific game viewing without the hindrance of other vehicles. Spend at least three to four nights there and Detox from the stresses of modern existence.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prudencem545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2017

Thank you Prudence, we cannot tell you how happy it makes us when our guests appreciate the authenticity of our safari camp and the friendliness of our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews