We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
165
35
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
165
35
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no electricity safari camp bush experience game drives comfortable accommodation off grid dining table mosquito net high tea real africa enjoyed every minute from australia wild dogs made us feel at home whole team morning coffee south africa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2017

We stayed at Pungwe Bush Camp for the night on 9 July 2017. It's a small, four tent camp but is really pretty and the tents are really spacious, with large en-suite bathrooms. The lounge and dining area is also really nicely done, and it's simple but effective. The service from the staff is really good and the food excellent. This is how safari camps should be - very relaxed, low-key and simple but cozy and comfortable. We had buffalo and hyena in the camp at night and their tracks were everywhere when we got up in the morning, which was very exciting. Our host/manager Michel was wonderful and very knowledgable and his team were great. And the braai under the stars was a great thing for a carnivore like me - with steak, wors and chicken kebabs done with baked potatoes, pap and a lovely tomato and onion sauce. Well done to everyone and thanks for the experience. It was a lovely way to end our holiday.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LukevanWyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 June 2017

This week I had the great pleasure of staying at the Pungwe Safari Camp for a night. From the campfire under the stars to the excellent walking tour with Isaac, this was an unforgettable experience. Dining by candlelight in the beautiful gathering hut was fabulous. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank shelleyandbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 26 June 2017

Thank you so much for this glowing review of both our camp and our staff, I'll be sure to share this with Isaac and the others as these reviews mean a lot to them. So pleased to see that the work that we have put in over the past eight months is achieving what we strive most for; happy guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

One of the last great original bush camps in South Africa - completely unique. I cannot recommend it highly enough. It is beautifully appointed and extremely comfortable. Isaac the head ranger will take you on walks through the vast open savannahs that the Manyeleti offers and offer unique insights into the bush that are inspiring.The game drives provide prolific game viewing without the hindrance of other vehicles. Spend at least three to four nights there and Detox from the stresses of modern existence.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prudencem545
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 26 June 2017

Thank you Prudence, we cannot tell you how happy it makes us when our guests appreciate the authenticity of our safari camp and the friendliness of our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Pungwe Safari Camp is a true African safari experience. The camp is situated in Manyeleti Game Reserve which is adjacent to the Kruger Park with no fences between the Game Reserve and the Kruger. Manyeleti is much quieter in terms of tourists in comparison to the Kruger (A big plus point) The camp is small with only 4 tents and offers the best of the bush. Well fitted tents with a lovely communal area for dining and some R and R. There is no electricity and hot water is supplied by wood fired donkeys. Remember to get your timing right for the shower to catch the hot water. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Excellent game viewing (big 5) with 2 drives a day which offers the best African sunsets!
If you are looking for an authentic bush experience, Pungwe is the place to go.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yn0ttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 19 May 2017

Thank you so much for this wonderful review, it is so rewarding to get this kind of feedback after all the effort that we have gone through with our recent renovations and refurbishment. I will be sure to pass your compliments on to our fantastic staff. We hope to see you again sometime in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

This is a magical place.

As Michel, the owner, goes to great lengths to explain, it's a bush "camp". It's not a lodge where everything is at the flick of a switch. It's a camp, intended to give those staying there the "authentic" taste of just what life in the bush is really about. Hence .... no electricity. Hot water provided by little wood burning donkey stoves morning and night. Tented accommodation - very comfortable accommodation, it has to be said, with soft beds and cosy duvets and flush loo's, showers and baths all under a thatch roof - but you are, nonetheless, still a part of the living bush. There are animals all around you. You don't wander about in the dark on your own. They come through the camp. This is what you come here for.

At the time of our stay there were nightly visits from an elephant intent on ripping up water pipes. This rarely happens in the UK.

The game drives with local, knowledgeable guides, enthusiastically intent on ensuring that you see all that there is to see, are an amazing experience - as is the stop for sundowners out in the bush as dusk descends. G & T's from the bonnet of a Land Cruiser whilst listening to (and later having an encounter with) a magnificent leopard just a few yards down the road. Unforgettable. Driving through and within touching distance of a pride of lions. Priceless.

And at the end of the day, after sharing dinner with your guides, returning to your tent to find it aglow with hurricane lamps and ..... a hot water bottle in the bed. It really can't get much better than this.

One tip. Ensure you are driving a vehicle with reasonable ground clearance. It's an hours "energetic" drive from the gate to the camp.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 19 May 2017

Hi Peter
Thank you for the fantastic review, nothing makes us happier than having satisfied clients. I will ensure that our enthusiastic staff receive your review and thanks. We can only agree, Pungwe is a magical place, a truly authentic safari camp.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews