We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wise Investment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Khoka Moya in Manyeleti was amazing. From the first game drive to the last we saw something different every single time. Our group of 6 were teamed up with the guide, Vestment, and the tracker, Wise, for a total of 10 game drives and we loved every minute. We saw prides of lions coming out of the bush to stalk a herd of about 500 buffalo. wild dogs chasing impalas, leopards dragging antelopes and porcupines up into trees for their feast, hyenas, elephants, giraffes, and everything you could imagine. We saw so many of these animals that we almost became jaded to it but Vestment and Wise made sure it was always exciting.
The camp was great with elephants, kudus, and leopards always visiting the watering holes during the day and walking by your tents at night. There are monkeys running around waiting for you to drop some food but never being aggressive. At no time did we ever not feel safe and if you love animals and want to see them the way they should be seen this is the place to go.I never thought we could get so close to some of these big 5, being only feet from lions and leopards.
I can't say enough about Vestment and Wise and their ability to find the animals and their knowledge of all of them. They made sure we knew everything about the animals, the bush, and the area. If I ever go back to Africa it will definitely be with Vestment and Wise at the Honeyguide Khoka Moya Camp.

Room Tip: It seems like all of the tents are located very well with positioning that makes you feel like the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2017

We were part of a small group who went earlier in the year at the end of April and unfortunately couple of them had a terrible time. We absolutely loved the place and sure it is an experience sleeping in an open tent with all the animal noises during the night, which is probably worst during the first night , but well worth it. The accommodation is as safe as can be, all I would suggest to the owners is to wire mesh off the open triangle above the shower area, this is the only place where baboons can enter, although the PIR sensitive lights comes on immediately, the rest of the tent is zipped up and safe from animals. The early start for the safari is also worth the trip, with hot drinks mid trip at the back of the Toyota cruiser, in the bush , watching the sun rise !! Similarly during the evening safaris , drinks before dinner watching the sun go down , what an experience. And back at the restaurant , hot breakfast after the morning safari and fabulous dinner in the evening, with entertainment from the staff , singing along , it was great. Food was excellent , even for our vegetarians. Just lazying around in the afternoons watching the giraffes and elephants come right close by the pool, we all wish we were there again in the warm sunshine ! Definitely try to go again, well done to the team at Honeyguide.

Room Tip: Just ask what you preference is
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

If you are a first timer for a safari in the great Kruger area, then you might really like it. The Game Drive are quite ok, the main dinning area is very average, if not good at all. Only the elephant coming drinking water in the pool makes the reception deck enjoyable. The food is ok, nothing really fancy, but in general good.

The tent in the bush, in the middle of the nature is the part that save the experience of this camp. From the tent you can enjoy elephant drinking and impala coming by. The furniture is good but in general, an overhaul is needed.

If you join the camp as a couple you will have to come along with an other group. This means you will do the game drive with the same group, but also will have to have breakfast, lunch and dinner at the same table with the same group. I guess on this part we got unlucky and got a quite noisy group during the drive. We could not really appreciate the nature and the surrounding environment. Changing the group is not possible since the camp is fully booked.

Regarding the ranger, I guess we also got unlucky. We made more than 7 Safari in South Africa, Namibia, Botswana and Malawi and we never got such a antipathetic ranger. They are friendly when it is needed but, they will not try to show you the true beauty of the reserve and share their experiences and thoughts.

I would say, for the price it is on average good.

If you have already done Safari in the great Kruger and had good experiences, I would not recommend you to visit this camp.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alexawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Honeyguide Khoka Moya for 4 nights. Our guide Devance and our tracker Ezekiel were true professionals. Already in our first game drive we saw all of the big five. Afterwards, we feared that there's nothing left for us to see next (and of course, we were wrong). We saw an elephant giving birth (extremely rare), hyenas eating a dead buffalo, a lion pride and a hippopotamus yawning from the water. We did both walking guided tours as well as drives.

The food was incredible and the courses changed on daily basis.

The tents were an awesome experience. They were cozy and cleaned twice a day. They were also hermetically closed to prevent mosquitos and other wild animals. At night we were able to see elephants and monkeys pass by our tents which was so exciting.

We highly recommend staying there for 2-4 nights.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Asaf N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Loved this place and wish we'd stayed longer. The permanent tents are actually nicer than the photos and each one is spaced out enough to not know you have any neighbours. It's a short bush walk to the main building, and it's advised to not walk about at night as the camp is not in a fenced area.

Elephants have been know to visit the waterhole there, though sadly we missed them by a few hours both times.

Food was basic but more than adequate, and the staff were always really friendly and helpful. Our guide was alot of fun and the overall experience here I would recommend, and would definitely go again.

A night visit on our verandah from a hyena was a real treat, hearing her call out to her clan, have them answer and hear her run off. Lions roaring on the last night there was the perfect end to a great trip.

Would definitely recommend this camp to any type of visitor, there were couples, singles, friends and families, it fits well with all.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mosh66Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manyeleti Game Reserve
38.1 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
12.0 km away
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
#1 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
397 reviews
0.0 km away
Ndzhaka Tented Camp
Ndzhaka Tented Camp
#7 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.9 km away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#10 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
511 reviews
19.2 km away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
439 reviews
13.6 km away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#34 of 176 in Kruger National Park
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps

Address: Orpen Gate, Kruger National Park 1360, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Manyeleti Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Manyeleti Game Reserve
Price Range: R6 314 - R10 127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3,5 star — Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury tented safari camps in the Manyeleti Reserve in the Greater Kruger National Park. Stay either at Mantobeni, the more classic camp with its Nehru tents on wooden decks set in a forested water course, or the contemporary designed Khoka Moya camp with its larger tents and which welcomes children of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Honeyguide Khoka Moya & Mantobeni Camps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps Hotel Manyeleti Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing