We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing, other-worldly safari experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An amazing, other-worldly safari experience”
Reviewed 19 March 2017

We celebrated part of our honeymoon at Tintswalo and it surely turned out to be the highlight of our trip! Everything was spectacular from the get-go, from gorgeously laid out sunset drinks in the bush to the exciting game drives. Service was excellent, from the wait staff, housekeeping, to the reception and of course our knowledgeable ranger and tracker, Andrew and Pardon, who really went out of their way to make sure we spotted the big 5 and more! The rooms are also super luxurious and has everything you could think of, complete with charming colonial-style interiors. As an extra memorable touch, the little surprises the staff threw in really made our honeymoon all that more special.

There are a plethora of safaris out there but we couldn't be happier with our choice to stay at Tintswalo. The size of the lodge (taking only up to 22 guests) and game drives (max 6 per drive) really makes the service here that much more personalised. Further being a private reserve that forms part of greater Kruger really means that the variety of game is top notch. And the animals came right up to our lodge!

We can't thank the whole team enough for such a wonderful stay, we would love to return for another stay!

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wen_Chow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TintswaloLodges, Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 26 March 2017
Wow - Thank You for this wonderful review!

We are so happy to hear that you had such a great honeymoon and that you had such brilliant sightings - what a treat!

We hope to see you back again one day

Warmest Regards
Camp Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Emily Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    20
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
98
170
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

Amazing three day stay. Attentive staff, nothing was too much trouble. Excellent food and phenomenal game viewing. Great overall experience not to be missed. Sincere thanks to Alistair, Emily, Dave, Eric and all staff concerned.

Stayed February 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mrdavemrssuet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TintswaloLodges, Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 26 March 2017
Thank you Dave and Sue Tindall - and Evi!

We are so glad that you had a great stay with us! Come back again soon!

Warmest Regards
Camp Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Emily Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2017

My wife and I stayed for four nights at Tintswalo during our honeymoon in October 2016. We had an absolutely amazing time. We felt well cared for the entire time, and going out on safari with head guide and head of lodge operations Alistair was amazing. His knowledge of the animals, the ecosystem, and the people of the surrounding areas was encyclopedic. Alistair drives with his ranger partner Alfie, whose eyes were shocking... his ability to spot animals in the bush was phenomenal.

This lodge was perfect for a romantic experience as its size (not extremely large), and the fact that Tintswalo limits its game drives to no more than 6 guests per vehicle, made the whole experience feel extremely intimate. The lodge itself feels like you're staying in a close friend's well-appointed home, it's cozy, well appointed, and comfortable. Every staff member we interacted with with friendly and polite. The price of a stay here is significantly more reasonable than at other similar types of lodges, but that doesn't come at the expense of the quality or experience.

A hard thing to get a sense for in choosing a safari lodge is, beyond the quality of the hotel itself and its luxury amenities, the quality of the game drives which is the real reason you're there. Tintswalo is set in Manyeleti Reserve which is a huge private reserve shared with only one other lodge. The vehicles can offroad to follow animals and the park is not fenced in so animals can roam freely. You never know what you might see, which led to some incredible and unusual sightings. We saw all of the big five in 4 days, plus some extremely rare sightings including wild dogs and pangolins. On these 'harder to know in advance' qualities, we didn't know either and simply got lucky. But take it from us you will be so glad you chose to stay at Tintswalo.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cory K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TintswaloLodges, Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 26 March 2017
Dear Cory,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderfully detailed review. And thank you for all your kind words! We are so happy to hear that you had such a lovely time, and we do hope to see you back again one day - an anniversary trip perhaps!

Warmest Regards
Camp Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Emily Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Wonderful facility and even more wonderful people. Food and room exceeded expectations. Game trips were exciting and educational. Saw everything we came to see - up close and personal. My wife and I both thought all was done to make this " once in a lifetime."

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank arthurg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TintswaloLodges, Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 26 March 2017
We are so happy to hear that you had a 'once in a lifetime' trip with us!

Thank you for taking the time to write this review!

Warmest Regards
Camp Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Emily Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Everything about the lodge was perfect...the quality of the accommodation,exquisite public areas,the location,food,the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff were just fantastic.There were so many
little touches that made the place very special.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TintswaloLodges, Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 26 March 2017
Thank you for this lovely review! We are really glad to hear that it was such a special time for you

Warmest Regards
Camp Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Emily Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manyeleti Game Reserve
37.3 km away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
393 reviews
32.5 km away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
434 reviews
12.0 km away
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
#2 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 km away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
388 reviews
25.4 km away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
444 reviews
26.1 km away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tintswalo Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tintswalo Safari Lodge

Property: Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Address: Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Manyeleti Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Manyeleti Game Reserve
Price range (per night): R17 011 - R46 087
Hotel Class:5 star — Tintswalo Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private safari lodge within the pristine Manyeleti reserve adjoining the Fenceless boundary of the Kruger National Park. Private plunge pools, big 5 game, amazing cuisine. Manor house can take children with a fantastic children's program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Tintswalo Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tintswalo Hotel Manyeleti Game Reserve
Tintswalo Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing