We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Luxury Boutique Safari Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Perfect Luxury Boutique Safari Lodge”
Reviewed 1 March 2017

My wife and I stayed for four nights at Tintswalo during our honeymoon in October 2016. We had an absolutely amazing time. We felt well cared for the entire time, and going out on safari with head guide and head of lodge operations Alistair was amazing. His knowledge of the animals, the ecosystem, and the people of the surrounding areas was encyclopedic. Alistair drives with his ranger partner Alfie, whose eyes were shocking... his ability to spot animals in the bush was phenomenal.

This lodge was perfect for a romantic experience as its size (not extremely large), and the fact that Tintswalo limits its game drives to no more than 6 guests per vehicle, made the whole experience feel extremely intimate. The lodge itself feels like you're staying in a close friend's well-appointed home, it's cozy, well appointed, and comfortable. Every staff member we interacted with with friendly and polite. The price of a stay here is significantly more reasonable than at other similar types of lodges, but that doesn't come at the expense of the quality or experience.

A hard thing to get a sense for in choosing a safari lodge is, beyond the quality of the hotel itself and its luxury amenities, the quality of the game drives which is the real reason you're there. Tintswalo is set in Manyeleti Reserve which is a huge private reserve shared with only one other lodge. The vehicles can offroad to follow animals and the park is not fenced in so animals can roam freely. You never know what you might see, which led to some incredible and unusual sightings. We saw all of the big five in 4 days, plus some extremely rare sightings including wild dogs and pangolins. On these 'harder to know in advance' qualities, we didn't know either and simply got lucky. But take it from us you will be so glad you chose to stay at Tintswalo.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cory K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TintswaloLodges, Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 26 March 2017
Dear Cory,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderfully detailed review. And thank you for all your kind words! We are so happy to hear that you had such a lovely time, and we do hope to see you back again one day - an anniversary trip perhaps!

Warmest Regards
Camp Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Emily Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    19
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
90
161
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Wonderful facility and even more wonderful people. Food and room exceeded expectations. Game trips were exciting and educational. Saw everything we came to see - up close and personal. My wife and I both thought all was done to make this " once in a lifetime."

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank arthurg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TintswaloLodges, Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 26 March 2017
We are so happy to hear that you had a 'once in a lifetime' trip with us!

Thank you for taking the time to write this review!

Warmest Regards
Camp Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Emily Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Everything about the lodge was perfect...the quality of the accommodation,exquisite public areas,the location,food,the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff were just fantastic.There were so many
little touches that made the place very special.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TintswaloLodges, Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 26 March 2017
Thank you for this lovely review! We are really glad to hear that it was such a special time for you

Warmest Regards
Camp Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Emily Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2017

The entire experience was fantastic. From the initial welcome until our departure all of the staff do their utmost to ensure everything goes smoothly. They are very friendly and attentive. When I had a request it was followed up and actioned without needing to continually remind a staff member.

The food is good, but do not expect Michelin Star dining. To me the food is a necessity, and it is very good. We benefited from the Virtuoso experience which included all wines, and we very much enjoyed the excellent quality top-shelf South African wines.

The overall experience, and in particular the twice daily game drives, are the most important elements. Our guide (and his tracker) were outstanding. They were continually able to spot animals which at most times I would not have been able to spot. It makes the safari experience so much more valuable when you not only see the "Big Five", but we also got to see lion cubs (rare), 2-week old baby lion cubs (very rare), and wild dog (also rare).

I have no hesitation in recommending Tintswalo.

Room Tip: We stayed in "Kingsley" which was a great room. They are all individually themed. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank fda001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TintswaloLodges, Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 26 March 2017
Thank you for this brilliant review! We are so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful review, and that you saw so many rare and exciting sightintgs!

We hope you come back again one day :)

Warmest Regards
Camp Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Emily Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

My husband and I went to Tintswalo as one of our stops for our honeymoon. And let me tell you, it was an experience of a life time. The food, service and hospitality left an everlasting impression. Our guide Andrew, and spotter,Simon, were not only very knowledgeable but friendly and accommodating. I would highly recommend this lodge to anyone who wants great food, friendly service, and great gaming.

Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TintswaloLodges, Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 26 March 2017
What a wonderful honeymoon destination! We are so glad to hear that it was an experience of a life time for you!

We hope to see you back again - maybe an anniversary trip one day!

Warmest Regards
Camp Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Emily Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manyeleti Game Reserve
37.3 km away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
32.5 km away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
12.0 km away
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
#2 of 6 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 km away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
28.3 km away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
20.6 km away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#45 of 170 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tintswalo Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tintswalo Safari Lodge

Property: Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Address: Manyeleti reserve | Greater Kruger National Park, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Manyeleti Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Manyeleti Game Reserve
Price range (per night): R21 332 - R25 204
Hotel Class:5 star — Tintswalo Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private safari lodge within the pristine Manyeleti reserve adjoining the Fenceless boundary of the Kruger National Park. Private plunge pools, big 5 game, amazing cuisine. Manor house can take children with a fantastic children's program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Tintswalo Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tintswalo Hotel Manyeleti Game Reserve
Tintswalo Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing