We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Nearby Hotels
SUN1 Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morning Star Express Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Manhattan Hotel(Pretoria)
US$77
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
StayEasy Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
US$89
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$205
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Arcadia Hotel(Pretoria)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (463)
Filter reviews
463 results
Traveller rating
440
22
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
440
22
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspresidential suitegame viewingwine cellarour honeymoonplunge poolsouth africaover the toprooms are beautifulthe general managerheaven on earthlion cubsevery staff memberdaily game drivescape townbucket listearly morningwatering hole
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 463 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Wonderful facility and even more wonderful people. Food and room exceeded expectations. Game trips were exciting and educational. Saw everything we came to see - up close and personal. My wife and I both thought all was done to make this " once in a lifetime."

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank arthurg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TintswaloLodges, Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

We are so happy to hear that you had a 'once in a lifetime' trip with us!

Thank you for taking the time to write this review!

Warmest Regards
Camp Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Emily Booth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Horsham, United Kingdom
12
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Everything about the lodge was perfect...the quality of the accommodation,exquisite public areas,the location,food,the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff were just fantastic.There were so many
little touches that made the place very special.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TintswaloLodges, Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

Thank you for this lovely review! We are really glad to hear that it was such a special time for you

Warmest Regards
Camp Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Emily Booth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017

The entire experience was fantastic. From the initial welcome until our departure all of the staff do their utmost to ensure everything goes smoothly. They are very friendly and attentive. When I had a request it was followed up and actioned without needing to continually remind a staff member.

The food is good, but do not expect Michelin Star dining. To me the food is a necessity, and it is very good. We benefited from the Virtuoso experience which included all wines, and we very much enjoyed the excellent quality top-shelf South African wines.

The overall experience, and in particular the twice daily game drives, are the most important elements. Our guide (and his tracker) were outstanding. They were continually able to spot animals which at most times I would not have been able to spot. It makes the safari experience so much more valuable when you not only see the "Big Five", but we also got to see lion cubs (rare), 2-week old baby lion cubs (very rare), and wild dog (also rare).

I have no hesitation in recommending Tintswalo.

Room Tip: We stayed in "Kingsley" which was a great room. They are all individually themed. If you want a slightly closer room to the central area choose "Livingstone" (although the walk is not that far to "Kingsley").
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fda001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TintswaloLodges, Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

Thank you for this brilliant review! We are so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful review, and that you saw so many rare and exciting sightintgs!

We hope you come back again one day :)

Warmest Regards
Camp Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Emily Booth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

My husband and I went to Tintswalo as one of our stops for our honeymoon. And let me tell you, it was an experience of a life time. The food, service and hospitality left an everlasting impression. Our guide Andrew, and spotter,Simon, were not only very knowledgeable but friendly and accommodating. I would highly recommend this lodge to anyone who wants great food, friendly service, and great gaming.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TintswaloLodges, Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

What a wonderful honeymoon destination! We are so glad to hear that it was an experience of a life time for you!

We hope to see you back again - maybe an anniversary trip one day!

Warmest Regards
Camp Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Emily Booth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

In simple words, our experience here was far far beyond our expectations. Great location, great food, great service and on top of it, far superior safari experience. The team there definitely know how to make wow experience for their guests and delight them with their unobtrusive service. I should name Dave and Erik who were outstanding and their knowledge of the landscape and wildlife is amazing. We enjoyed every drive we had with them and they made sure we did not miss anything during our drives..

Room Tip: Family Villa
Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank saburaghavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TintswaloLodges, Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

We are so happy to hear that your experience was far beyond your expectations!

Thank you for the lovely review, we really do appreciate it!

Warmest Regards
Camp Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Emily Booth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews