We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of the world experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tintswalo Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Out of the world experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2017

In simple words, our experience here was far far beyond our expectations. Great location, great food, great service and on top of it, far superior safari experience. The team there definitely know how to make wow experience for their guests and delight them with their unobtrusive service. I should name Dave and Erik who were outstanding and their knowledge of the landscape and wildlife is amazing. We enjoyed every drive we had with them and they made sure we did not miss anything during our drives..

Room Tip: Family Villa
See more room tips
Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank saburaghavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    19
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
79
154
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
164 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Wow! Tinswalo certainly gave us the adventure of a lifetime, absolutely blown away! Starting our experience we flew in to them on a bush plane and were met by Guide Dave and Tracker Eric with Champagne, nice start, which only got better! It has such a great feel about the place. Every member of staff were exceptional and nothing was a problem. Food was fab, service (Sharmaine was a gem) exceptional. Room, upgraded to honeymoon suite, was exquisitely appointed with plunge pool, and perfect privacy. In all honesty we thought it might have been a bit sterile at first due to its exclusivity but this was not the case. The highlight of course were the animals, and we were immersed from beginning to end. Our Guide, Dave, truly made our trip with his incredible knowledge, and strove to give us the best experience possible (he did!). Thank you, thank you, thank you Tintswalo team, in particular, Dave, Tanya, Eric, Simone, Sharmaine, Emma.

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank valDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2017

We stayed in the Presidential Suite for 5 nights over the New Years period. The suite is not a suite....its an apartment...its huge and furnished beautifully with unique pieces of furniture, two comfy four poster beds, two roll top baths, two open showers and staff on hand for your every need. The suite was unbelievable and topped off with two sightings of bull elephants drinking from the river right at the back of the property - you can't improve on perfection but the elephants were the icing on the cake. So that's the suite....

Where else do you start about Tintswalo? The staff, the food, the lodge, the safaris?

So much has been said before by others and I went with really high expectations...they weren't met....they weren't exceeded....they were smashed out of the park. Nothing but faultless from start to finish.

The staff care, I mean really care about the guests, the lodge, the animals and you get a sense of pride from the staff which is infectious. Nothing was too much trouble and everything ran so smoothly....whatever mountains it must take to make Tintswalo run like a dream none of this is visible to guests....none of it and that is an art in itself.

Tintswalo is like visiting family who are house proud - it just doesn't feel like you are a guest...it feels like you are a visting family member and they are so keen to please and proud to show what they have created.

The food is stunning....from the moorish homemade cakes and biscuits on the game drives through the breakfast, lunches and dinners - prepared with love and attention. I would walk over hot coals for another bowls of the mussels we had on our first night - seafood in the bush? Hell yes!

And then we turn to the game drives.... Where do I start??? I mean...sigh....the memories that these provided will live with me forever. Alistair and Alfie were the perfect team. Alistair goes above and beyond to ensure you see everything you want to see, with information to boot - who knew a group of giraffes is called a 'stretch'?. Alfie says very little but with a swish of his arm a herd of elephants appear on the right or a pack of wild dogs on the left.....and he makes a mean Bushbucks on the drives too!

We saw all the animals you would wish for and many more but what I think sets Tintswalo apart from the others (other than the comfortable game drive vehicles which can access places many can't) is the fact that they don't over crowd the animals. They respect the fact that we are on their territory and actively manage viewing, without inconveniencing guests, seamlessly so that you feel its just you and the animals on your own for that moment in time.

I wanted my wife to cry tears of happiness during this trip....I lost count of the number of times I saw her wiping her eyes...the only time I saw tears of sadness was when taking off she saw Alistair and Alfie waving goodbye from the ground having cleared the landing strip of wilderbeast.

Tintswalo is simply heaven....and once you have been it remains in your heart until the day comes when you can return again.

To the 'family' at Tintswalo - I can't thank you enough for making our time with you simply perfect. I hoped for amazing but what we received was perfection with memories to last a lifetime (well at least until we see you again later in the year).

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely - you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FS1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TintswaloLodges, Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 21 January 2017
This is one of the best and most fantastic reviews we have ever received. Thank you so much for your kind words and detailed description of your stay from every aspect.

We are so glad to hear that Alistair and Alfie looked after you so well and that your expectations were 'smashed right out of the park'

We really do hope to see you back again one day!

Warmest Regards
Emily Booth
Camp Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2017

I spent with my family 4 days at Tintswalo lodge at the Presidential Suite. The Suite is an independent villa where you have 3 people at your service, lunch and dinner included. There's a chef at your disposal and above all all your game drives are unique and extraordinary. We saw all the Big Five easily and we learnt so many things about wildlife, animals and birds. Alistair was a super professional guide for us. We had a really special time with him and his staff and an unbelievable holiday. We strongly reccomend a stay in this lodge!

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Algo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TintswaloLodges, Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 21 January 2017
Thank you for the great review - we are so glad to hear that you had such a great time, and that Alistair looked after you so well!

Warmest Regards
Emily Booth
Camp Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2017

We spent three nights at Tintswalo over Christmas. The, our first safari, was one of the most incredible experiences we have ever had and we will always remember our time there.

We saw elephants and zebra even while we were simply driving under our own steam to the lodge. In 6 game drives, we then saw the big 5 regularly, once all 5 in one day. But equally amazing for us was the myriad of other game we saw, equally rewarding - giraffes, wildebeest, zebra, baboons, hyenas, many types of antelope as well as many different bird species. The lodge's drive cars seem to be the most comfortable in the Manyeleti reserve, which is used by 3 or different game drive companies. Unlike most others, we had open top cars in which they never had more than 6 people - so much more comfortable than some of the other game cars. After the first day, we were lucky enough to share one car only with our 2 friends we were travelling with. Equipped with warm ponchos (for when it drizzled once), sun cream and insect repellant - they think of everything. The drivers and spotters are so knowledgeable and friendly - Thank you Eric (our spotter) for your amazing stories about the wildlife and trees. Thanks Dave (or driver / guide) for never tiring of our endless questions. And thanks both of you for going the extra mile to find the elusive cheetah, an experience we will never forget. Manyeleti is amazing as a game reserve because the number of vehicles permitted is very restricted, and no more than 3 vehicles are ever allowed near the big game which makes the experience all the more personal - but all the drivers share information ensuring that you are never far from an interesting find, be it a leopard with an impala in its larder up a tree; or a whole pride of lions tucking into dinner.

We stayed in one of the suites at the main lodge (Baker). This was the furthest one away from the lodge along a wooden walkway. Some reviews have complained about the distance but, I do not understand this (only a 3 minute walk), as it feels wonderfully secluded and gives a great view of lots of birds in the trees. The suite was faultless and luxurious, which is expected given the price of the suites. A roll top bath and separate shower room each with a beautiful view over the savannah. A lovely plunge pool - so nice to cool down in with temperatures reaching into the 40Cs on 2 days. Very well provided with tea / coffee, sherry, cookies; wonderful toiletries. Everything was kept spotless.

The food at the restaurant was always very good with a selection of really interesting dishes for lunch and dinner, often introducing us to African dishes. House wine (Alvi's Drift) was included in the package. As wine lovers, we thought originally of exploring the great wine selection when we were shown into the wine cellar (where they later set out a wonderful meal just for the four of us). However, the house wine, in several varieties of red and white grapes, was so good, we never explored further. Breakfasts after the morning game drive were varied and always excellent.

One of the most special things about Tintswalo is the staff. Everyone there seems very happy and is genuinely determined to ensure you have an amazing experience in every respect: telephoning you in your suite when an elephant has arrived at the watering hole by the main lodge to give you an opportunity to come and watch; arranging Christmas dinner for the four of us in a room in the main lodge of our choosing; asking us which drinks we would like to be put on board the game drive car for our sundowner experience; our waiter Kenneth always greeting us by name.

We left this place refreshed, exhilarated and just so grateful for what we had experienced. It is a privilege to live like this for just a little while, and one that we will never forget.

Thank you Tanya and everyone on the team for helping to make our dreams come true.

Room Tip: Baker Suite was an excellent choice - one of the most secluded suites and great for watching birds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 000mc000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TintswaloLodges, Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 21 January 2017
What an incredible review - more detail, kindness and gratitude than we could ever have asked for. Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you had the experience of a lifetime! We appreciate it so much that you are so appreciative!

We really do hope that you can come back again one day!

Warmest Regards
Emily Booth
Camp Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manyeleti Game Reserve
37.3 km away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
12.0 km away
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
#2 of 6 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
28.3 km away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 km away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#2 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
17.4 km away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#7 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
20.6 km away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#45 of 169 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tintswalo Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tintswalo Safari Lodge

Property: Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Address: Manyeleti reserve | Greater Kruger National Park, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Manyeleti Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Manyeleti Game Reserve
Price range (per night): R15 104 - R50 039
Hotel Class:5 star — Tintswalo Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private safari lodge within the pristine Manyeleti reserve adjoining the Fenceless boundary of the Kruger National Park. Private plunge pools, big 5 game, amazing cuisine. Manor house can take children with a fantastic children's program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Tintswalo Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tintswalo Hotel Manyeleti Game Reserve
Tintswalo Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing