We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Arathusa Safari Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kapama Karula(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Southern Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Buffalo Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama River Lodge(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge(Kruger National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Skukuza Rest Camp(Kruger National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveller rating
430
21
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
430
21
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspresidential suitegame viewingwine cellarour honeymoonplunge poolsouth africaover the toprooms are beautifulthe general managerheaven on earthlion cubsevery staff memberdaily game drivescape townbucket listearly morningwatering hole
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 452 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2017

I spent with my family 4 days at Tintswalo lodge at the Presidential Suite. The Suite is an independent villa where you have 3 people at your service, lunch and dinner included. There's a chef at your disposal and above all all your game drives are unique and extraordinary. We saw all the Big Five easily and we learnt so many things about wildlife, animals and birds. Alistair was a super professional guide for us. We had a really special time with him and his staff and an unbelievable holiday. We strongly reccomend a stay in this lodge!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Algo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TintswaloLodges, Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2017

Thank you for the great review - we are so glad to hear that you had such a great time, and that Alistair looked after you so well!

Warmest Regards
Emily Booth
Camp Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017

We spent three nights at Tintswalo over Christmas. The, our first safari, was one of the most incredible experiences we have ever had and we will always remember our time there.

We saw elephants and zebra even while we were simply driving under our own steam to the lodge. In 6 game drives, we then saw the big 5 regularly, once all 5 in one day. But equally amazing for us was the myriad of other game we saw, equally rewarding - giraffes, wildebeest, zebra, baboons, hyenas, many types of antelope as well as many different bird species. The lodge's drive cars seem to be the most comfortable in the Manyeleti reserve, which is used by 3 or different game drive companies. Unlike most others, we had open top cars in which they never had more than 6 people - so much more comfortable than some of the other game cars. After the first day, we were lucky enough to share one car only with our 2 friends we were travelling with. Equipped with warm ponchos (for when it drizzled once), sun cream and insect repellant - they think of everything. The drivers and spotters are so knowledgeable and friendly - Thank you Eric (our spotter) for your amazing stories about the wildlife and trees. Thanks Dave (or driver / guide) for never tiring of our endless questions. And thanks both of you for going the extra mile to find the elusive cheetah, an experience we will never forget. Manyeleti is amazing as a game reserve because the number of vehicles permitted is very restricted, and no more than 3 vehicles are ever allowed near the big game which makes the experience all the more personal - but all the drivers share information ensuring that you are never far from an interesting find, be it a leopard with an impala in its larder up a tree; or a whole pride of lions tucking into dinner.

We stayed in one of the suites at the main lodge (Baker). This was the furthest one away from the lodge along a wooden walkway. Some reviews have complained about the distance but, I do not understand this (only a 3 minute walk), as it feels wonderfully secluded and gives a great view of lots of birds in the trees. The suite was faultless and luxurious, which is expected given the price of the suites. A roll top bath and separate shower room each with a beautiful view over the savannah. A lovely plunge pool - so nice to cool down in with temperatures reaching into the 40Cs on 2 days. Very well provided with tea / coffee, sherry, cookies; wonderful toiletries. Everything was kept spotless.

The food at the restaurant was always very good with a selection of really interesting dishes for lunch and dinner, often introducing us to African dishes. House wine (Alvi's Drift) was included in the package. As wine lovers, we thought originally of exploring the great wine selection when we were shown into the wine cellar (where they later set out a wonderful meal just for the four of us). However, the house wine, in several varieties of red and white grapes, was so good, we never explored further. Breakfasts after the morning game drive were varied and always excellent.

One of the most special things about Tintswalo is the staff. Everyone there seems very happy and is genuinely determined to ensure you have an amazing experience in every respect: telephoning you in your suite when an elephant has arrived at the watering hole by the main lodge to give you an opportunity to come and watch; arranging Christmas dinner for the four of us in a room in the main lodge of our choosing; asking us which drinks we would like to be put on board the game drive car for our sundowner experience; our waiter Kenneth always greeting us by name.

We left this place refreshed, exhilarated and just so grateful for what we had experienced. It is a privilege to live like this for just a little while, and one that we will never forget.

Thank you Tanya and everyone on the team for helping to make our dreams come true.

Room Tip: Baker Suite was an excellent choice - one of the most secluded suites and great for watching birds.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 000mc000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TintswaloLodges, Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2017

What an incredible review - more detail, kindness and gratitude than we could ever have asked for. Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you had the experience of a lifetime! We appreciate it so much that you are so appreciative!

We really do hope that you can come back again one day!

Warmest Regards
Emily Booth
Camp Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

I had no idea what to expect when I landed in Kruger for our safari, and I was totally blown away. Everything from the accommodations, to the safari, to the staff, to the food was perfection. This lodge is true luxury and loved my stay!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rena-on-the-Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TintswaloLodges, Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

Thank you Rena-on-the-Road!

We are so happy that you are happy :)

Kind regards
Emily Booth
Camp Manager
Tintswalo Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Tinswalo is an oasis in the wild. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we felt welcomed, cared for and inspired. A young outstanding staff anticipated our every need. Our guide was knowledgeable and fun and our tracker Eric knows the bush as if he was born there--oh, right, he was born there. Our rooms were so beautiful and just by sitting in our deck or splashing in our private pool we could watch the wildlife that inhabit the reserve. Our game drives were exhilarating and the food was plentiful and delicious. Our last night's dinner in the bush under the stars was a real highlight.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ssklar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TintswaloLodges, Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

Dear Ssklar,

It sounds like you certainly had the most incredible stay - we are so glad that you enjoyed everything and that everyone looked after you so well. Thank you for the wonderful feedback!

Kind regards
Emily Booth
Camp Manager
Tintswalo Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Planning a trip from California to South Africa can be a daunting experience. Landing at Tintswalo was the best gift we could have received for our efforts. There are not enough adjectives to describe how incredible the staff and accommodations are. To go on safari is an incredible experience and Tintswalo knows how to make dreams come true for everyone. From early morning bush coffee until bedtime it is as if you are living the dream.
They do a remarkable job and are such a harmonious team lead by an amazing owner.
It was a trip to be remembered, relished, and I am full of dreams of returning. I cannot thank the staff enough for all their beautiful efforts to make our vacation so remarkable.

Room Tip: every room is remarkable
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank carrieconcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TintswaloLodges, Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

Dear Carrie,

What a wonderful review, Thank You! We are so glad to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us, that everyone looked after you so well and that you managed to meet our wonderful owners. We hope to see you back again one day :)

Kind regards
Emily Booth
Camp Manager
Tintswalo Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews