We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Nearby Hotels
SUN1 Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$46
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fortis Hotel Capital(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morning Star Express Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Manhattan Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$93
US$91
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Arcadia Hotel(Pretoria)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveller rating
432
22
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
432
22
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspresidential suitegame viewingwine cellarour honeymoonplunge poolsouth africaover the toprooms are beautifulthe general managerheaven on earthlion cubsevery staff memberdaily game drivescape townbucket listearly morningwatering hole
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 455 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2016

We stayed with 5 people (4 adults and 1 child, age 4) in the Presidential suite. The service was impecable, the bush experience was completely personalized and our guide was absolutely excellent. I cannot imagine going anywhere else, honestly. We had a personal chef, housekeeper and butler, the spaces and lodge were amazing. I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggiegkuhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TintswaloLodges, Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

Dear Maggie,

We cannot wait to have you back! Thank you for the wonderful review and we are very happy that you had such a lovely time with us.

Kind regards
Emily Booth
Camp Manager
Tintswalo Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2016

Private safari full of wild life, top trackers and rangers, very friendly staff, amazing food, luxurious accommodation, overall top destination. So if you are looking for something extraordinary, we can only recommend Tintswalo...

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank janT2135QQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TintswaloLodges, Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

Thank you for the great review and recommendation, Jan!

We are so happy that we made such a good impression on you :)

Kind regards
Emily Booth
Camp Manager
Tintswalo Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2016

My husband and I have been visiting various lodges in Africa for over 15 years. We met Alastair, the General Manager at Tintswalo at a previous lodge. He is the gold standard of rangers. The lodge, staff, accommodation and game viewing were spectacular. Some of the best elephant interaction that we have ever seen. Seeing the Big 5 on a single drive was almost a given. If you want to experience Africa, this is it.

Room Tip: There are only six suites so take your pick
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank nicolascheepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TintswaloLodges, Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

Dear Nicola,

We were so happy to host you at Tintswalo and I know Alistair loved having you here.

Thank you for a lovely review and we hope to see you back again one day.

Kind regards
Emily Booth
Camp Manager
Tintswalo Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

I rarely do reviews but as the service was so good, I decided that it should be acknowledged. We have done safari before but if we want to see not only the big five but everything from ground to sky explained within a few days, Andrew and Pardon are the people for you. Taking into account that you are in the bush, general service, food, and accommodation were top notch. Well done

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Healymcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TintswaloLodges, Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

Thank you for your great review and taking the time to write such nice things about us!

We are so glad that you had such a good time and that Andrew and Pardon looked after you so well :)

Kind regards
Emily Booth
Camp Manager
Tintswalo Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

My husband and I decided to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary with a trip to South Africa this year. Our travel agent booked our stay at Tintswalo and after seeing the pictures on their website we were really looking forward to our stay there. The pictures only show part of the excellence of this lodge though. The accomodations are beautiful, the beds are very comfortable, every little detail is perfectly placed. But what made the trip for us was the staff at this safari lodge - they are top notch and want nothing less than making your stay and experience one you will not forget.

Andrew was our guide with Pardon as the spotter. Andrew was very knowledgeable of every creature, big and small and always tried to get the best view while respecting the animals and making sure we were safe. He truly cares about God's creation and wants to protect all aspects of the bush, from the parasites to the rhinos and he is very careful to make sure nothing is damaged or put in harm's way. All of the safari trucks are topless and can drive off-road to get up-close-and-personal with the animals.

Chrizette was the chef on duty during our stay, her talent is extraordinary - you will never go hungry while on safari! Every meal is gourmet and we always looked forward to what was on the next menu!

Tanja was there to greet us when we arrived the first day with cleansing towels and a warm smile. She is very welcoming and went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable and exciting!

Everyone at Tintswalo is helpful, kind and hospitable! You never pass someone that doesn't say hello or offer a greeting. They are truly are special people and will always hold a place in our hearts!!

My husband and I hope to return to South Africa and Tintswalo is most definitely on our priority list of places to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisandMonique621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TintswaloLodges, Manager at Tintswalo Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

Dear Chris & Monique,

We are so glad that you could celebrate your 20th wedding anniversary with us! And that you had such a fantastic stay.

We hope you will come back again one day :)

Kind regards
Emily Booth
Camp Manager
Tintswalo Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews