We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Priceline
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 10 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
35
7
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
35
7
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews comfortable beds charging station game drives lion tents leopard elephants guide safari
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2019

We were a party of eight and stayed 5 days. The camp is unfenced and close to a water hole. An elephant, hyenas and a honey badger visited us. The accommodation is basic but comfortable.
This is one of the few camps in the lowveld ordinary South Africans can still afford!
The game sightings under the guidance of ranger Louis were amazing. We saw the big 5 and wild dogs and plenty other game. The chef Kenneth provided us with excellent meals, he has a passion for cooking!
We will be back!

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Erwin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 March 2019

We have been to Buffelshoek before and we came back because of the location, game drives, and price. We know the accommodation is basic and there is limited internet and electricity but we like the charm and intimacy of the place. This time we had a new chef called Kenneth and his food was great. I know the budget must not be high for what he can spend on food but he does amazing things with it from freshly home made break to mint leaves in the fruit salad. The meat was never dry or over cooked and he did an amazing job with very fussy guests. he had to deal with 4 different types of guests requirements (Gluten intolerant, pescatarian, vegetarian, lowfat, and the normal people) at the same meal! there was often 6 or 7 dishes prepared to cater to everyone. Presentation of food wasnt anything fancy but the quality and taste was brilliant.

For our game drives we had Louis who did a great job. Working together with the other lodges we managed to see some incredible sights including a large make Lion relaxing on the grass beside our jeep, a female lion and her 3 baby cubs, Buffalo, hyenas stealing a fresh kill from a leopard, and even leopards mating which was so amazing to see in the wild. Loads of other animals but we were never rushed and he stayed at the sightings as long as we wanted.

The accommodation is basic. Our room was room 3 and it has a problem with the shower mixer so the shower is either boiling hot or freezing cold. Our friends in room 2 had a perfect shower so I would recommend room 2 over 3. The rooms are small but we didnt spend much time in them so it was fine. The unfenced camp is incredible - being woken up by lions and elephants calling each other is as close to being in the bush as you can get without actually sleeping under the stars.

We stayed for 2 nights and that was fine with the accommodation. If the rooms were a little bit bigger and the hot water worked better we would happily stay longer

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WZVZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 January 2019 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights at the start of January and loved every bit of it.
The place is run by what seemed like a 3 man band.
Lovely Silvia, best chef Kenneth and a safe pair of hands and very experienced ranger Louis.
When we first arrived I though oh my ‘NO FENCE’?? Seriously?
And that was probably the best part. You can hear the animals roaming at night and then the following morning you check the footprints to see which ones paid the visit.
The place is well organised, clean and safe. Silvia makes sure everything is in order whilst Kenneth worries me what is the next great meal he can cook for us.
Louis is very experienced, kept us safe and well informed. He tried really hard to get us very close to the animals and to get us to see as many as possible.
All three people were great, worked really hard to make our stay comfortable and as best as it can be.
The tented camps were safe, clean and although basic they were fine for what we needed.
The camp is in a remote place in the middle of the reserve and great for exploring and seeing the animals.
As it is only 9-10 people max occupancy it makes for a very private and relaxing stay. We’ve met some lovely people and spent time talking to other families on our safari journeys and the meal times.
All together very highly recommended and would love to do it all over again.
This place completely grew on me.
Thanks to Louis, Kenneth and Silvia we had a great stay, amazing drives and great food!!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank buraza
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 January 2019 via mobile

Wonderfull place Buffelshoek Tented Camp. Bookingassistent Lynn was very helpfull in every detail and always direct replying. Place Buffelshoek itself magic: open and ungated with only 5 tented cabins inside the Manyeleti game reserve with a cosy main building and a staff of 3 that do everything to make your stay perfect. A great chef who made various, very good dishes (amongst one braai). Our cabin no 3 had an idyllic view on a small water bassin (in the morning a herd cudu’s in front). And on top of all our ranger Louis who did everything to let us see the big 7 in his open range rover (we saw 5 among very rare wild dogs, a cheetah and a leopard resting in a tree with his prey hanging beside her and 2 hyena’s waiting below on the ground (we went actually below the tree itself so a perfect view), but he still always respected nature. He did not mind the time, always searching for animals and telling interesting stories. We were overwhelmed by the wild life in this Manyeleti Game Reserve (no fences between the private reserve and Kruger so animals can cross each reserve freely). Don’t complain about no chargers in your tented cabin (solar power, charging in main building) or no pool. This is the real deal. Not commercial and not crowded with other lodges or no asphalted roads. Definitely come again and will recommend to al my friends!!!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank AnjaFoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 June 2018

We stayed at Buffelshoek for 2 nights in May. Having read some negative reviews here I was interested to see it for myself.
Communications with Lyn regarding the planning were quick and helpful.
We enjoyed the fact that it is unfenced and that elephants and other animals come to the pan to drink. The dining area and upstairs viewing platform are wonderful – we could watch elephants, zebra, impala, warthogs etc, a great view out over the plains.
Game drives with Prince were very good and he went out of his way to try and get the best sightings for us, we saw mating lions, leopards, elephants and many more. Buffelshoeks location can mean a lot of driving to see sightings so do be prepared with warm clothing as it can get very cold on the vehicle. Blankets would be a nice addition. Being able to traverse all of Manyeleti meant varied sightings and habitat which we enjoyed.
Food – really excellent. Every meal was delicious, plentiful and varied. Compliments to Kenneth the chef.
Accommodation – yes it is basic and yes the bathrooms could do with an upgrade but otherwise it was fine and nice to have only 5 tents. In May insects weren’t a problem.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColinandJanetH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews