We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveller rating
300
18
3
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
18
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool our honeymoon bedtime stories watering hole sabi sands safari experience south africa baby leopards every meal moment you arrive amazing wildlife private game reserve every single person food and wine mini bar rooms are large water hole
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 325 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2018

We just got back from a wonderful trip to South Africa and Leopard Hills was clearly the highlight. We have been lucky enough to go on Safari three times now to a few different lodges and without a doubt Leopard Hills is the best. From the moment you arrive you are greeted like a member of the family and they really do go out of their way to make you feel at home. The accommodation is superb, the food amazing and plentiful and the game drives are our out of this world.

We had Stu and Congive as our ranger and tracker and they truly did an amazing job. Stu is an incredible guide who combines his immense knowledge and passion of the bush with a great sense of humour whilst Congive has eyes like a hawk and never misses a thing. The best thing about Stu and Congive is they are a great team who make every game drive fun and exciting and if you set these guys a challenge to find a specific animal they will go above and beyond to find it. In our 3 days we saw Lions multiple times including seeing them mating and lionesses with cubs, 6 different leapards some of which we saw on multiple occassions, including a 6 month old cub, lots of Rhino, Elephant, Buffalo, Giraffe, Zebra, Hyena, Kudu, Steenbok, Impala, Duiker, Hippo along with all the incredible bird life and we also saw some rare things like a white tailed mongoose, 2 civets and 2 genets. I can guarantee if you go on game drive at Leopard Hills you will be blown away by the incredible wildlife.

Thank you to all the wonderful team at Leopard Hills, you made our trip truly memorable. We hope to be back soon!!!!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith_Nicholson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo_Breed, Manager at Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Good afternoon Keith,

Thank you very much for your glowing review. It is always much appreciated by the whole team to receive a review like this. I am so glad that you had such an amazing time and that you also got to see all the game that you did. We hope to have you back soon.

Stu and Congive also send their regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

The folks at Leopard Hills have thought of everything. Rangers and trackers are top notch, accommodations are spectacular and the food was great. There are many reserves to choose from and the seemingly little things make all the difference. Leopard Hills has them covered - from curated snacks to little printouts of African bedtime stories left on the bed. Highly recommend a stay here.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank digarland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo_Breed, Manager at Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Good day David,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. We are very happy that you had such a great time and also honored that you chose to have your Safari experience with us.

We hope that we will see you soon again.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights . This place is superb. The rooms are spacious, fully equipped and have everything you could wish for including a private pool and outdoor shower. The food is great with excellent choices and all inclusive here means that. The only exception are the spa treatments. But on to the main event - the drives with expert guides and the game is also great . There are great touches like the blankets and on very cold mornings hot water bottles waiting for you. Our team was Johan and Walter who found everything and more ! Johan is a real enthusiast and gives you pertinent facts including an astrological guide to the heavens . Overall we had the best stay in any place around the world . Can’t recommend it enough.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo B, Manager at Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Dear Mike H, we are very glad that you had an such a wonderful time and that you were able to relax through all the excitement that you experienced on your drives. Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and having you say that it has been your best stay in any place around the world is an amazing compliment for us.

We hope to have you back soon. Kind regards from Walter, Johan and the rest of the Leopard Hills Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

A private reserve, fantastic villas, high quality cuisine, friendly personnel, helpful & interactive management, great value for money with an All-inclusive plan, SUPERB Game drives & sightings with extremely knowledgeable & passionate Ranger & tracker....What more can you ask for from a Safari experience?!

Leopard Hills Private Reserve, Sabi Sands is truly a 11/10 Safari experience!

Been here for the past three days, leaving tomorrow! An absolutely wonderful overall experience indeed.

Starting from Hugo, the acting Manager who is keen to interact with guests, to the Exec. Chef who is happy to be flexible with any of our culinary requirements, to Cal - the young & absolutely passionate expert ranger , to Mo - the happy, cool & courageous tracker who will do all possible to track a sighting, the entire team at this LUXURY Lodge goes out of their way to make it an overall fantastic experience!

It is SO important to appreciate & experience the villa and the Lodge too , as the villas are truly stunning, giving it a fullsome Journey!

Cuisine, very high quality, a la carte fine dining experiences with an incredible view of the waterhole directly below. Their special theme night - the traditional South African "Boma experience" was brilliant too, with a customized area especially for this event with live cooking and under the stars dining.

From a Game sighting perspective, we had some stunning sightings & animal activities - very similar to National Geographic Classics! The number of leapards we have seen is quite incredible in different environments. You name the Animal and it is all there! Wow! Cal, our guide / ranger was extremely informative and loves to share the facts as well as wonderful stories. Very passionate and a grounded young man!

Do try out the "MO BUSH MIX" special made by Mo himself during the drives ....WOAH! A fantastic concoction of Amarula cream liqueur, Cocoa powder, coffee , a little bit of milk!!

Overall, having now experienced TWO luxury lodges in Sabi Sands, I would recommend strongly Leopard Hills as the goto LUXURY Private reserve, as it is an encompassing Safari experience!

Congratulations to the Management and the entire team for creating this wonderful bush experience!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 271dineshb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo B, Manager at Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Dear Dinesh B, thank you for the wonderful review and taking the time to write such a detailed account of your experience.

We are very blessed to have an amazing team that works and lives here at Leopard Hills, and also have wonderful guests that become part of the family. We are very glad that you had such an amazing experience during your time here.

It was an honor to be able to host both you and your wife and we look forward to welcoming you back with the rest of your family.

Cal and Mo send their regards with the rest of the Leopard Hills Team.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

I was fortunate to bring my daughter with me for a 3 day visit. It was as special as my previous visit. We stayed in unit 6 and loved the solitude. Call and Moe made our safaris priceless with a viewing of a leopard and her cubs, and hyena and lions enjoying a snake dinner. This trip is a blessing and an opportunity to enjoy Mother Earth. Thanks Hugo and again, this may be THE best experience.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Patricia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan R, General Manager at Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Hi Patricia O from the Leopard Hills Family. Thank you for you kind comments, and we are so pleased your return visit was filled with yet more memories of your time in the African Bush.

Cal and Mo, Hugo and the rest of the Leopard Hills Team send their greetings to you.

Hope to see you back with is again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews