We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$2 842
View deal
Hotels.com
US$2 803
View deal
Priceline
US$2 842
View deal
TripadvisorUS$2 803
Prestigia.com
Expedia.comUS$2 803
View all 10 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveller rating
335
18
5
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
335
18
5
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews our honeymoon private game reserve every single person wild dogs world class the entire staff an incredible experience animal sightings water buffalo duncan team suite accommodations vehicle guide tracker bush
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
297 - 302 of 362 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Leopard Hills may not be the ultimate game camp as far as facilities are concerned but having stayed at camps that are over the top, I would chose Leopard Hills over any of them. The why is hard to explain. The rangers are the best. The staff make you feel that you are part of a family. Having been to Leopard Hills 3 times, we always feel like we are going home. The food is great. Sam the head of the dining room always has a smile and a hardy welcome for all.
The game viewing is the best. So many guides have a set pattern they are going to follow. If things don't work out, they don't have a plan B. At LH they are always ready to take the opportunites that are available. They will stay at a spot waiting for that special sighting as long as necessary. Expensive yes. Worth it yes. Many returning guests. Their clients are there for the animals, not for bragging rights that they stayed at the "hot" camp

Room tip: room 8 view is special and near the dining room
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

...and I was there almost a year and a half ago. I'm ashamed it's taken me this long to log-in to TripAdvisor and post a review of our honeymoon at Leopard Hills in June 2010. My husband and I joke that we'll never stay anywhere as wonderful as this lodge for the rest of our lives. The rooms are beautiful with no comfort spared. The service is exceptional. You become a part of the family from the moment you arrive. The food is spectacular. Every meal is at least three courses. And the safari experience will exceed any expectation. The rangers are extremely knowledgeable and do everything in their power to show you all the bush has to offer. We started asking our ranger Raymond to show us unicorns as there seemed to be nothing he couldn't find.

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank AmandaPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We were slightly hesitant when booking leopard hills as previous reviewers are right it is expensive and charges around 30-40% more than some of the neighbouring lodges which traverse the same land as leopard hills. However like everything in life you get what you pay for!

We saw the big five in our first hour on our first game drive, saw a lion kill and loads loads more. The ranger (Gary) and tracker (Ronald) were fantastic and made the game drives informative exciting and really good fun at the same time. They really made the holiday for us. We got enough time looking at animals before having to move on to let other guests move in to look. The coordinated approach between rangers and lodges really worked for us as in a short space of time we saw so so much! And we never felt rushed.

The rooms overlooking the waterhole are best as you get a great view and partial view of the waterhole. Rooms are good for a safari lodge in the middle nowhere and very luxurious but don't come expecting a marble bathroom luxury carpets and power shower because they aren't like 5 star hotel room in the middle of a city.

We had a great night at the outside dinner. Staff were lovely and really approachable and accomodating. We had a good group so ate dinner every evening with them and Gary the ranger. Breakfast and lunch you eat on your own. If you dont want to eat dinner in the group you dont have to, worth pointing this out as some previous reviews were compliaing about eating in the group.

We had animals regularly walking through the camp and had the most amazing 4 days safari at leopard hills. Would definitely recommend it!!! Planning on going back next year already!!!

Date of stay: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danjed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

It's hard to be critical about a place that really is so amazing but I think when you pay somewhere in the region of £1000 a night - you have earned the right to do so. My expectations were extremely high for Leopard Hills - I chose it for my honeymoon as THE lodge I wanted to stay at in Sabi Sands to see Leopard. We were given room 7, which is the honeymoon suite - best view of the water hole and highest position right next to the breakfast deck. The suite is incredible though much smaller than sister property Madikwe (we did the 4 night Leopard Hills, 4 night Madikwe Hills offer). Even so it is extremely well designed and perfect for a base when on safari. (Not sure the other suites have much of a view). Food was good, though two out of the four nights were in the Boma and my wife and I weren't convinced the food was cooked properly. We both had an upset stomach which could only have come from eating at Leopard Hills. The Boma meals are atmospheric in a way but the lack of light for cooking and the way the chefs cooked things to order while you waited - the food was hurried and clearly not cooked enough. In the restaurant the food was better, though three out of four nights tables were with your guide and the other guests. This is fine if the guests are sociable or interesting but quite an effort when this isn't the case OR when they're much older with different interests. It feels more like socialising at a work do. The ranger was also totally unenthusiastic when speaking and not even interested in other safari regions in Africa - which was surprising. Our last night on the deck of our room was the best in this respect. The complimentary wine was also of a disappointing standard - sure you can pay for something better, but again at this price you expect a £10 bottle at the least with dinner. That wasn't the case. Disappointing for a wine enthusiast.
We were also disappointed on a couple of the safaris - one outing we were in a jeep with 9 guests - which is totally unsatisfactory for this price tag. Another outing we were 8. It means someone has to sit in the middle on one of the rows and the view is far worse, not to mention uncomfortable for a 4 hour safari. For me 6 is the maximum and really you expect to be in a group of 4 or less for this price. The ranger also seemed to go through stages of lacking interest, going through the motions to pass the time - which was really strange. The first two days he didn't seem particularly interested, then some of the group changed and he was superb again - quite bizarre, but again not what you expect at this price tag. Sightings were good - we saw Leopard on 5 or 6 out of 8 outings. Once sleeping in a tree. Another time two cubs eating an Impala. Another day two were just strolling along the road - annoyingly the ranger stayed about 5 minutes and then called in other rangers - we were incredulous, that exactly what we had paid to see we had encountered, then given up so easily. I know rangers share what they find in order to benefit everyone, but after 5 minutes to leave two leopards out in the open?! The third and fourth days for some reason the same ranger kept his findings to himself far more - again strange. Leopard Hills also has a Wild Dog den on its property for the first time in 10 years - we saw the pack on 2 or 3 occasions - so you don't necessarily need to go to Madikwe for this experience either. Overall it is a fabulous place but don't let your expectations get too carried away. If you want to see Leopard, then Sabi Sands is THE place but perhaps the overall safari experience is better in Botswana - where less traffic and a more intimate experience is possible. Try Duba Plains for lion/buffalo interactions - a fabulous place. This is also not like East Africa - game is difficult to see and there are no vast herds. The chances of seeing Cheetah are also pretty remote. Anyway - so long as you know what to expect - it's a great option and despite minor niggles it's almost worth every penny!

Date of stay: April 2011
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
6  Thank ElHutch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandRivers, General Manager at Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2011

Thank you for your posting and we appreciate all feedback we receive as we see this as a vital tool in improving our standards across the board.

Having been here for the last thirteen and a half years as have many of our Staff, we will always look into all aspects of a feedback and ensure we take whatever steps are necessary to ensure we are always in tune with what our valued Guests are saying about our "home". Thank you again for taking the time to paste this report and we have sincerely taken notes of your comments.

Kind Regards

The Leopard Hills Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

To put my review in perspective, I have stayed at Singita Boulders, Tintswalo, Lion Sands (twice) and Mateya. At first glance, I was disappointed. The rooms are definitely inferior to the other lodges. They are dark and in need of a facelift -- especially at $1800 per person. They are a good size, but the lighting is very poor and they are decorated in a very rustic decor. The property is small compared to the other properties and there isn't a great distance for anyone to walk as in the other camps. The lodge is small and on top of a hill and the library is a separate and lovely separate building near the villas. Now, I am done with the negatives.

The food is great, the rangers are the best and the service is incredibly high. Above all, we had the best animal viewing we have ever had. The rangers become part of the group and really integrate. If you are interested in photography, they go out of their way to find wonderful photo ops. If you want to take a bush walk, they provide an educational trip. If you want to track down something special, they will do everything in their power to give you the experience of a lifetime.

We have already signed up for our next visit.

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank berniss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews