We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
almesq
New York City, New York

Pure Luxury in Africa

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Sept 2023via mobile
We just returned from 4 days at Singita Ebony Lodge and were blown away. Singita was just over the top with luxury, service and had everting you could ask for or imagine. Our guide, George, and tracker, Israel, were great. Pat also make sure we had everyone we needed or could possibly want. The entire staff was amazing. The room was simply fabulous, from the comfortable sitting areas, the great outdoor space and plunge pool and the lovely fireplace that we certainly took advantage of. The food was amazing and if you didn’t see something you liked in the menu all you had to do was ask and they brought us anything we wanted. This trip (coupled with a 4 day stay in Botswana before arriving at Singita) was our first safari and we are so happy we were able to spend part of it at Singita. We felt so spoiled and it was hard to leave. Thank you to the entire staff at Singita!!
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Singita Traveller, General Manager at Singita Ebony Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 19 Sept 2023
Dear Almesq,

Thank you for your kind words; I will be sure to share it with George, Israel and Pat – they are truly special ambassadors of Singita.

The team takes pride in creating memorable experiences that match the incredible lodge and surrounds. I trust that this trip has ignited a desire to return to the magic that is Africa, and especially hope we can welcome you back soon to Singita Ebony.

Kind Regards,
Dan and the Singita Ebony Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 20 691
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Priceline
    R 20 691
  • Agoda.com
    R 20 691
18.3 km from Singita Ebony Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 10 622
  • Expedia.com
    R 9 446
  • Priceline
    R 10 622
  • Hotels.com
    R 9 400
15.4 km from Singita Ebony Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 390
  • Priceline
    R 3 390
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 390
73.3 km from Singita Ebony Lodge
Restaurant
  • Expedia.com
    R 43 104
  • Trip.com
    R 35 091
  • Hotels.com
    R 43 104
8.3 km from Singita Ebony Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
  • Priceline
21.3 km from Singita Ebony Lodge
R 5 900
  • Priceline
    R 5 900
  • Agoda.com
    R 5 900
16.6 km from Singita Ebony Lodge
Pool
Restaurant
View more hotels in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
234
10
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
234
10
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sand river food and wine four nights sommelier africa guide rhino cellar lodge tracker bush lawrence sightings wilderness buffalo respect
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 244 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2023

This was truly the best vacation my family and I have ever been on. From the beauty of the lodge itself to the ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE staff, rangers, and the animals, i couldn’t have asked for a better experience. The food was excellent, and not to mention every person that worked at this lodge couldn’t have been nicer. I’ve never felt closer to the staff at a hotel in my entire life! Whatever and whenever we needed something, they were there for us. Our two rangers, Andrew and Louis, showed us every animal imaginable and explained everything in precise detail- ask for them if you go! We felt extremely safe while out in the middle of all the animals, and in the comfort of the resort. I would recommend Singita Ebony (and ALL Singita resorts- we also went to Singita Lebombo and had the same amazing experience) to everyone and anyone. We can’t wait to be back so soon! I don’t think you can get a better Africa experience!

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank martina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 May 2023 via mobile

We discovered South Africa for the first time with Singita Ebony Lodge. It is magical and beautiful place. Everyone there is just amazing. Food and wine is delicous.

Attention to details 10/10. We will definitely come back. Everything there is just WOW. Toyota jeeps are very modern with heating seats and cup holders.

Thank you Piete and Renneck. You made our trip magical making us discover the Big Five and explaining us a lot of things. You showed us also slipping impala and slipping elephant hahah You are team A in Singita :)

Room tip: I recommend to take clothes in natural colors (beige, dark green), cover shoes and worm jacket cause evenings and mornings are cold in may
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 663anetaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Singita Traveller, General Manager at Singita Ebony Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2023

Thank you so much for your amazing feedback on your stay with us at Singita Ebony, We are so happy to hear that you all had such a magical time with us.

It is always such a pleasure to receive great feedback on our team, Piet and Renneck are a phenomonal pair in our Singita family.

We look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Jason Powell
Ebony Lodge Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2023 via mobile

We discovered Africa for the First time with Singita .
Ebony lodge is the first of the Singita lodges created in 1993.
While rooms would welcome a face lift ( soon to happen ) there is a colonial charm unrivalled .
The whole organisation is flow less. You are taken over by a team form the guide to the waitress that will be your staff up to your departure .
Food and wine are just amazing and you can taste SA during your whole stay.
Thanks good there is no Tv in the rooms but the internet is fairly good assuming you are in the middle of nowhere . It allowed out teenager to even play online with friends !!
A special reward to our Guide Johan and tracker Reazert.
They made our trip magical making us discover the Big Five and explaining us a lot of things . They were fun, interesting and always smiling .
If you go to Singita Ebony ask for them and do not forget to make them prepare their coffee with Amarula in the middle of the bush!!!!
Bravo to the owner Luke Bailes who has created amazing places with a full respect of the nature !

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Seaside26868552545
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 April 2022

We stayed at Ebony lodge in April for four nights with our three young kids. It's impossible for me to imagine another place where wilderness and hospitality hold hands so perfectly. The setting is glorious. The lodge overlooks the Sand River with it's abundant wildlife. It's large outdoor wooden decks are framed and shaded by ancient ebony trees on both sides. The rooms are massive and very finely appointed. Every detail has been considered and executed perfectly. The staff are a joy, the food is sublime. They have an excellent cellar full of carefully selected and matured wines (plus a Sommelier to help you), as well as other treats; fine brandies, great cigars, you name it. The three people appointed to us: Johan, Lawrence and Vivian were absolutely outstanding in their roles. The daily game drives were unreal. I still miss them. Our guide (Johan) and tracker (Lawrence) where so knowledgeable and so great with our kids. We had multiple sightings of Leopard, Lion, Rhino, Elephant, Buffalo, Waterbuck, Kudu, Cheetah, birds galore, massive trees even more. Unforgettable!! Thank you Singita!

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chrisalheit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Singita Traveller, General Manager at Singita Ebony Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2022

Dear Chris,

Thank you so much for your beautiful message – it was a privilege to have hosted you & your family at Singita Ebony Lodge.

We really hope that we will see you all again very soon.

The entire Singita Ebony family are sending you our warmest wishes and thanks.

Kind regards,

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2021

Singita Ebony's 12 uber-luxury suites with gourmet food, resplendent furnishings, hunting lodge styling, with a definitely modern approach to health and wellness, surround you with luxury. The standalone suites feature old world touches, netted beds with superbly soft linens, large shower and tub inside, huge outdoor shower with a massive plunge pool, plus patio lounge chairs, yoga mats, exercise programs and wild game passing by below us! But the absolute best feature going (besides the fabulous morning and evening game drives) is the ensuite real wood fireplace with tons of wood which kept us toasty-warm while having nightcaps and then sleeping in real luxury.

Singita's Ebony and Boulders Camps are normally jammed with Americans like us. But because Americans want to travel but are afraid ... we had almost the entire lodge to ourselves. The only hurtle was getting Delta Air Lines a Covid-Negative test within 72-hours of departure and filling out an Attestation Form for South African Immigration saying we were Covid-Negative. On the way back to the USA, the Camp Manager arranged a Covid test with results delivered by email within a day and only your airline cares about that. This was no different than going to Hawaii, just far friendlier! DON'T BE RELUCTANT because the lodges have availability today!

Room tip: Suite 10, 11 & 12 are closest to the lobby but none are very far away. All have river views
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobFj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews