We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Daniel
Cape Town, South Africa

Safari - best one ever.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Nov 2020via mobile
I just wanna say thank you again to you and your whole team. We had a phenomenal stay with priceless impressions!!!
Would recommend the Lodge to anybody of my friends.
Perfect accommodation and such a lovely staff.
See you soon..
Daniel
Date of stay: November 2020
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adrian Kaplan, General Manager at Singita Ebony Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 21 Mar 2021
Dear Daniel,

Thank you so much for your kind words – it was wonderful to have met you all and spend time with you.

We hope that we will see you soon again.

Kind regards,

Claude, Marinda and the Singita Ebony team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
18.3 km from Singita Ebony Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
234
10
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
234
10
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sand river food and wine four nights sommelier africa guide rhino cellar lodge tracker bush lawrence sightings wilderness buffalo respect
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 244 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2020

We have just returned from Singita Ebony which for us was a very special occasion. So first time travelling since lockdown and a BIG birthday with our very special friends. The trip from Cape Town is fairly easy on Airlink, then there's about an hour drive to the lodge from Skukuza and the rangers that are allocated to you for the trip greet you and transfer you to the lodge.
We were fortunate to have Piet and Lawrence who really made the trip extra special. They are competent rangers and have so much local knowledge. The vehicles are comfortable and equipped with warm blankets, poncho's and binoculars. We had rain on two of the five drives which made it a little uncomfortable, but for the second drive they did put on a roof covering. We saw some spectacular sightings of at least 300 buffalo at a watering hole and a pack of 9 very energetic and playful wild dog, who we watched for ages! We were a bit disappointed in that we only saw one lioness, which is the first time that has happened on a bush trip. We did see a leopard though very close to camp on the first drive out, which was special. A black mamba made it's appearance three times on another drive which is always rather scary! The sunset drinks are always pleasant and the staff ensure whatever your favorite drink is, is available. The Hendriks and lite tonic tasted so much nicer in that setting.

All drinks are inclusive at this lodge, even the mini bar, which is far from mini, has all your best quality drinks available.

You have brunch / lunch when you return from your morning drive, anytime until 13h30 which is great, staff are all so accommodating with special fussy requests! Nothing is too much for them and I believe the staff are the greatest asset in this lodge and certainly sets them apart from others. We were allocated our own special waiter / barman, Robert, who was delightful and tried so hard to please.

There is a high tea at about 15h00 before the afternoon / evening drive. Dinner was once in the boma, which always makes a safari experience even better.

The spacious rooms are so comfortable, with everything you could possibly need, very comfy beds and fireplace, aircons, outside shower, loads of cupboard space, plunge pool that can be heated, all overlooking a magnificent river with various animals around. Housekeeping service the rooms at least three times a day.

All staff and management are very customer centric and make the stay memorable.

Ebony is an authentic lodge without being over the top and you do get a true safari experience.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adrian Kaplan, General Manager at Singita Ebony Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2020

Hi Bernice

Thank you so much for the kind words in detailing your recent Singita Ebony experience. We have been so excited and thrilled to get to have the opportunity to share our wonderful world with guests again.

The game sightings have been extraordinary of late and to get to see the large herd of buffalo as well as a pack of wild dogs is very special. Piet and Lawrence are true gems in our ranks and we are so glad that you enjoyed the experience with them. Robert has been with us for over 20 years and still goes out of his way with guests.

Thank you again for coming through and experiencing our world with us, and also thank you so much for your humbling words.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Kenny Smith
Assistant Lodge Manager, Singita Ebony Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2020

Exceptional quality architecture and vibe, fine dining food (in abundance - they feed you constantly) and impeccable service.
Their tours are exceptional and the ultimate luxury way to experience Africa
At the time of writing I have visited 5 lodges over 5 years and would love to visit them all!

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GlobalTravelAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SingitaTraveller, Manager at Singita Ebony Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2020

Another 10 years and you would've visited all our lodges! We can't wait to have you back.

Thank you for your review and mentioning some of the features that mean the most to us too.

Until next time, take care!
Kenny Smith
Lodge Manager - Singita Ebony Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2020 via mobile

I cannot day enough wonderful things about this lodge. You are catered to in the most natural of environments. Our guide, Mark Taylor Bowles was absolutely spectacular and I really believe made the whole experience so much more than I ever could have expected. - request him. There are other Marks there so make sure you say his last name. And our tracker Golden - request him as well. They amped up the fun. We laughed , they made some amazing gin drinks and we did not want to say goodbye. The hotel is festive, easy-going and works around you. We had wine tastings, gin tastings, foods to try, and they let you go to dining room whenever you want. This place gets an A+.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Audio212
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SingitaTraveller, Manager at Singita Ebony Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2020

Thank you so much, we really appreciate your review!

Marc and Golden have built a great partnership and they are passionate about sharing the bush with guests, we're so glad you got to experience them while staying with us.

Thank you for the special mention of all the wining and dining too. Is there anything better than a Gin & Tonic in the bush?

We hope to have you back soon, either at Singita Ebony Lodge or one of our other lodges in the not too distant future.

Until then, take care!

Kenny Smith
Lodge Manager - Singita Ebony Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2019

I have traveled around the globe and I'm fortunate to have stayed in the best places. Hands down Singita Ebony Lodge blew me away. The service, the decor, the food and the safari excursions are exceptional. I travelled with my partner who is not even interested in wildlife and he wants to book again for next year simply because the lodge is that special. It is all inclusive (obviously it is no bargain), but the food and drink are absolutely the most upscale and it's unlimited. The amenities are superb. The rooms are stocked with every type of libation you could possibly desire. The toiletries they provide are heavenly and there is complimentary laundry service. Your clothes are returned looking better than the best Park Ave. cleaner. If you can afford this place it is an absolute no brainer and you will have the experience of a life time. Paul was my safari guide and he was the best. Guy is an excellent host and Linette is your mother away from home.

Room tip: The rooms are all wonderful the only difference are the views and proximity.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank christinaf819
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SingitaTraveller, Manager at Singita Ebony Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2020

Hi Christina

Thank you so much! Receiving these kinds of compliments from a seasoned traveler like yourself really humbles us. I know Paul, Guy, Mama Linneth and the laundry team will be so happy to get this feedback, and remind them of the time you all shared. The African bush has a magical spirit, one that changes us all into bush people. We look forward to hosting you at Ebony Lodge or any of our other Singita lodges around Africa on your next visit.

Regards,
Kenny Smith
Lodge Manager - Singita Ebony Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2019 via mobile

From the moment we walked onto the property we were cherished. The room, the bed, the deck, the plunge pool...just wow! The food and service were impeccable and never pretentious. Our guide Coleman and tracker Tembo were fun and learned “camp counselors”. They greeted us every morning and evening and came to the airstrip to send us off. We felt the love for what they do. We were the beneficiaries of that love. We will always be grateful for the memory and experience of a lifetime.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank kellid338
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SingitaTraveller, Manager at Singita Ebony Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2020

It was an honour to welcome you to our little slice of heaven and we are thrilled that you loved every aspect of your stay with us.

Coleman and Themba are two peas in a pod and their amazing chemistry shows on game drives. The love that one gets for the bush is infectious and when you get to share that with people who will also cherish it, it is a great honour.

Keep that love strong and keep the memories front and centre, until next time.

Regards,
Kenny Smith
Lodge Manager - Singita Ebony Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews