We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
2love2hike
2love2hike

A fantastic start to our stay in Sabi Sands

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Jul 2019
We were fortunate to stay 3 nights in May at Ebony Lodge. The General Manager, Chantelle as instrumental in helping me craft a perfect itinerary.

We enjoyed Nick as our guide along with Peter, our tracker. We learned about the habits of the different animals as well as experienced 3 days of seamless adventure. Seeing the Rhino at sunset will be something I always remember and the pictures help with that.

Tiffany, Ryan, Kenny, Pat and Guy were all so kind and welcoming. We loved the antics of the Vervet monkeys who could just see the slingshot and head off. That isn't to say the monkeys didn't sneak a snack or two, they are crafty little devils. The plunge pool in our suite overlooking the Sand River was a welcome spot mid-day to review photos by and watch the resident Vervets as they came around to play. Monkey around takes on a whole new meaning at Ebony.

One special stop while we stayed at Ebony was lunch at the neighbor Boulders Lodge. These two lodges, while close in proximity and both Singita are very different. Ebony is the classic lodge feel with rock walls and high peaked thatched roof lines. Boulders is a more contemporary design with the Wine Cellar built around the boulders. Very spectacular. I had the best steak fillet for lunch that I've had in a very long time. I highly recommend it.

I didn't have the opportunity to have a massage but I did peek in to the spa. One of our fellow travelers reported it was possibly her best massage ever. The spa itself had a great exercise facility and very relaxing looking treatment rooms.

Afternoon cocktails with dinner was a very relaxing end to an always exciting day. Singita Ebony Lodge absolutely deserves all of its accolades.
Date of stay: May 2019
Room Tip: Every room has a front row seat to the wild life action on the river.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SingitaTraveller, General Manager at Singita Ebony Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 15 Jul 2019
Dear 2love2hike,

We really appreciate the kind words about your stay at Singita Ebony Lodge!

The experience of being out in the bush is a magical one and we are so glad that also learning about the behaviours of various wildlife added to your experience. The staff will be so happy to read of the personal mention of them in your words. The guiding team as well as the Front of House team are thrilled that you had a magical experience.

The Monkeys really are cheeky little devils and their playful tactics in acquiring food always keeps us on our toes. As with most of the animal interactions, they do stay with you for life and the photos will always remind you of the experience.

We were more than happy to arrange for you to have a meal at Singita Boulders Lodge, and also showcase to you another amazing lodge within the Sabi Sand Game Reserve.

We do hope that you come back and visit us again and this time we will have to find time for you to enjoy the spa with us and possibly a little more "Monkeying around".

Warmest regards,
Kenny Smith.
Lodge Manager - Singita Ebony Lodge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 20 691
  • Priceline
    R 20 691
  • Agoda.com
    R 20 691
  • eDreams
    R 20 691
18.3 km from Singita Ebony Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 3 740
  • Priceline
    R 3 740
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 740
73.3 km from Singita Ebony Lodge
Restaurant
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • StayForLong
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
8.3 km from Singita Ebony Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 5 900
  • Priceline
    R 5 900
  • Agoda.com
    R 5 900
16.6 km from Singita Ebony Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 6 060
R 4 545
  • Priceline
    R 6 060
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 003
  • Hotels.com
    R 5 000
21.9 km from Singita Ebony Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
234
10
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
234
10
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sand river food and wine four nights sommelier africa guide rhino cellar lodge tracker bush lawrence sightings wilderness buffalo respect
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 244 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2019 via mobile

My daughter and I truly enjoyed our stay and our time with The Ebony Family. We felt as part of a family from the first moment we arrived.

Perfection in the Bush !

The smiles , the views , the experience. Is beyond a five star rating. ! If there was a 6 star - We would give our new friends and family a 6+++ star rating.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank journeyearthtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SingitaTraveller, General Manager at Singita Ebony Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2019

Dear Journey Earth Travel,

Thank you kindly for your beautiful review. What a pleasure to hear that you had such quality time with your daughter.
We appreciate the 6* family rating!

I trust you will return soon with the rest of the family.

Regards,
Chantelle Maritz.
Lodge Manager - Singita Ebony Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2019

We loved everything about Ebony. You are spoiled and catered to the entire time. The height of luxury in all respects. Great food, incredible rooms with swimming pools. First class service.
And that's before even getting to the safari experience!

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PBrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SingitaTraveller, General Manager at Singita Ebony Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2019

Dear PBrave,

Thank you very much for your lovely words. I’m so glad you enjoyed using the private pool, especially during the summer season.

We trust you made great memories!

And, we hope to have you visit again soon.

Regards,
Chantelle Maritz.
Lodge Manager - Singita Ebony Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2019

Without doubt one of the best hotel experiences in the world. From arrival to departure you are treated like a princess! If only other hotels were the same ....
Stunning location, stunning views, amazing staff ..big shout out to Gus (sorry Guy!) and our sommelier Minnie (goodday Minnie)... obviously comes at a price but if you want a real 5* experience then this is it. You will not be disappointed.
If I was going to make one comment I would have liked a bigger pool to swim in.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paniclondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SingitaTraveller, General Manager at Singita Ebony Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2019

Dear Paniclondon,

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. It is a pleasure to hear you were treated like royalty! The team definitely take a lot of pride in making guest feel special.

Minnie and “Gus” ( a nick name that has stuck to him since your departure) are doing well. I will pass on the hello.

We hope you return soon to continue your journey with the stunning wine offering.

Warmest regards,
Chantelle Maritz.
Lodge Manager - Singita Ebony Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018 via mobile

Went ro Singita Ebony with my family incl 2 kids 13 and 15. We were completely spoiled by the staff. Gameviewing was amazing. Kudos to the entire Singita team. I have been at safaris all my life, but this place is by far the best.

And the photo was taken with my iPhone... imagine how close we were!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank 300perh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SingitaTraveller, General Manager at Singita Ebony Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2019

Dear Per H,

Thank you for you review and kind words.

It's delightful to hear our team treated you and your family so well. Thank you for sharing your photo - it's always lovely to see lions.

Hope to see you return.

Regards,
Chantelle Maritz.
Lodge Manager - Singita Ebony Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018

You can never go wrong with Singita properties. We saw amazing wildlife and our room was a paradise we almost never wanted to leave. The staff was exceptional. They are genuinely happy to hear about your adrenaline spiked game drive descriptions even when it is obvious they see this daily! Singita made our dreams come true. It was the perfect end after visiting Cape town and two other Singita properties for my Mom's 70th Birthday. Andrew: you do a wonderful service and are a steward as well as GM. Loved we can talk to your guides and staff about books, music, birds/bees and booze! And the animals of course. Even the differences in what they digest and identifying different poop on walks. All my gratitude and best wishes, Michele Hogan

Room tip: Every room is pristine. Impossible to be disappointed.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelastar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews