We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Johnmartin1953
Sydney, Australia

Magical

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 05 Oct 2015
Having recently spent a few days at Singita Ebony Lodge I can say that anyone who wants to visit the African bush should have this lodge as their number 1 destination. The setting was extraordinary and the best hotel room ever. Having a private pool and such opulence in the bush was very special. The staff from Matt at the front desk through to the rangers were great friends who made the whole experience even more memorable. Highlights were the decor of the rooms, the fresh food especially the Boma dining, the game drives with drinks served by the rangers, the service in every section and the sheer indulgence allowed throughout the property.
Very opulent expereience!
Date of stay: October 2015
Room Tip: Doesnt matter as all are exceptional
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 3 310
  • Priceline
    R 3 310
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 310
73.3 km from Singita Ebony Lodge
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 42 299
  • eDreams
8.3 km from Singita Ebony Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
    R 20 691
  • Agoda.com
18.3 km from Singita Ebony Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
234
10
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
234
10
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sand river food and wine four nights sommelier africa guide rhino cellar lodge tracker bush lawrence sightings wilderness buffalo respect
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 244 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2015

There are no words to describe this lodge and the perfect service they provide. It is simply magnificent! The rooms are amazing and include every amenity you could ask for. The food is locally grown and they served the most delicious vegetables I have ever tasted. The real gem of this trip was the people. Our guides, Coleman and Renik were extremely knowledgeable and personable. They made the twice daily safari incredible! Our lodge managers, Tom and Cheri were lovely and took care of every imaginable detail.

This was a trip of a lifetime and will embedded in our hearts forever.

Thank you to everyone at Ebony lodge, you are amazing!!!

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pka512
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 September 2015

This privately owned game preserve was first opened in 1994 by the Bailes family. Located on the banks of the Sand River in the 45000 acre Sabi Sands preserve it has recently undergone extensive renovation. The spacious elegant rooms are the height of safari style that is reminiscent of a bygone era. Every modern convenience is contained in this romantic setting, including your private pool and vast vistas from every room. The main lodge is soaring and comfortable, and the indoor and outdoor dining areas provide a marvelous venue for the superb food. The property prides itself in its outstanding and extensive wine collection, all of which is included in your room cost. The game drives had extremely capable guides and trackers who make certain your experience is unparalleled and safe. Everyone of the staff is warm, friendly and helpful. This is a not to be missed experience.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 August 2015

Our first stop on a ten day four property family safari! Beyond words... The lodge has just been redecorated in a chic Ralph Lauren-ish Safari Style, and is very comfortable. The food is top of the line - as good as any restaurant in the world. The staff and guides could not have been more professional and friendly. All I can say is: You MUST stay at this property at least once in your lifetime!!

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 611LisaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

Ebony is just restyled so it was even more beautiful than we could have seen on the pictures. The view from the lodges over the river is like a dream, just sitting on the veranda of your lodge and you will see so many animals passing. We had Adries and Martin as our ranger and tracker and the did a wonderful job to see so many beautiful aniamals.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Erik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 July 2015 via mobile

Well, there is little to say about this place that hasn't been said. I significantly prefer the classic Safari style of Ebony over the modern look of Boulder. Loved everything except the buffet style African theme evenig, where the food was really not good. We should just have opted for the a la carte instead.

On a side note: What I found weird was that all the staff in Ebony was coloured all staff at Boulder was white. It might have been a coincidence (but what a coincidence that would be!!) but if not, I find it very weird, that the respective guests prefer that (otherwise Singita wouldn't do it).

Date of stay: October 2014
Thank georgh753
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews