We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect "home" for our visit to the Gila...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
View to east from casita.
Full size washer and dryer.
Pull-out ladder to futon bed in loft.
Road north of Pinos Altos
Storage room for all your gear and luggage.
Enjoy the clouds and stars, with thermal blinds.
Loft futon bed
Historic artisnal gold/silver mining town now perfect getaway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Pinos Altos, New Mexico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kdalng197...
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect "home" for our visit to the Gila National Forest and Cliff Dweller Site!”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect for the 2 of us and Zia, our dashound. Full kitchen which we loved - we like to cook. It had everything and items left for us to use, like fruit, eggs, and lots of spices, etc. The owners, Tom & Deb were very kind and helpful to arrange the stay and to be sure we had everything we needed while we were there. We enjoyed long walks around the property and in the ara. The town is very small, but cute; one very great restaurant, but we only has a drink there since we enjoyed the lovely kitchen at the rental. We didn't need more activity since the "home" was so nice. By the way, the price is right! Perfect location to travel to the Gila Cliff Dwelling site; it only took us 1 hr 15 mins to the visitors center; be aware, there is still a good 15 to 25 min hike to the dwelling - not an easy hike for us seniors - we did it and were very pleased - got to see it! The caves are so large they built adobe homes inside the caves!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: It was like being at home and the kitchen was even nicer than ours.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doublejac...
Bisbee, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lots of attention to detail and comfort!”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Tom and Deb have created a very special casita that we're lucky they shared with us for a long weekend in Pinos Altos, our favorite "quick getaway vacation location". The casita is very clean and VERY well equipped with everything thing you could want and need -- some food items like eggs and butter in the fridge, snacks, coffee and spices in the cabinets, games, books, DVDs, magazines, brochures, and a huge thick binder with tons of information about the area and surrounds. Granite and stainless kitchen and bath and there's even a dishwasher! Custom touches are everywhere -- like the gorgeous shower and bath sink and while laying in bed, you can see the night sky full of stars from windows close to the ceiling that run the length of the wall! If you want luxury in the thick of oaks, junipers and pinon pines, this is the place for you. The hosts keep all the bird feeders filled and you see tons of birds everywhere. Thanks for providing a beautiful casita for us to recharge from our busy lives back home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to details, clean and well stocked.
Liked least: Needs dimmer switches on the lights.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman t
1 review
“Quiet, peaceful and extremely relaxing. I would recommend this gateway to anyone interested in getting some alone time.”
Reviewed 7 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Only five mile away from downtown Silver City. This peaceful gateway provided us with the perfect balance between relaxation and simple, fun entertainment.

The owners are wonderful people who were there should I needed anything.

I will be back next year for the tour of Gila

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First class accommodations in P.A.”
Reviewed 1 December 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I spent a long weekend at Tom and Deb's with one of my kids this past October. The guest house is top-notch: wonderful southwest-inspired modern architecture, a large modern kitchen with all necessities, a decent sized bedroom with a loft and a nice bathroom which features outstanding tile work. The living area can comfortably fit 3 people and the unit also has its own washer/dryer. The unit is a decent distance off the main road through town, so the unit is very quiet and a dark night sky for star gazers is as far away as the driveway a few steps from the door. Hiking trails and forest roads towards Cross Mountain are easily accessible by foot, as is "downtown" Pinos Altos. Check-in and check-out was convenient to an extreme and Tom and Deb are very kind and considerate hosts. All-in-all an excellent place to stay for long and short visits alike.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's really a beautiful place.
Liked least: Going home.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorisM935
Tucson
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lovely guest cottage at the edge of the Gila Wilderness”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This tastefully designed cottage provided one of our most comfortable getaways. The interior is high-end and attractive, but with functionality of primary importance. The kitchen is amazing, with a dishwasher! Everything shiny and new-feeling. Excellent TV and DVR. Hosts congenial and helpful, even stocking the frig with some necessities. Best of all--the setting. So quiet and private. Secluded enough for our dog to roam unleashed. I drank my morning coffee on the front porch while watching Mexican jays. Perfect for the two of us, plus dog.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: total comfort and attractiveness of the cottage
Liked least: wouldn't change a thing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing