We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 15:00
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (1 379)
Filter reviews
1 379 results
Traveller rating
1 229
128
13
1
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 229
128
13
1
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews slot canyon trail bring water great hike national monument santa fe unique rock formations hiking shoes veterans memorial steep climb entire hike new mexico cochiti lake easy hike decent shape million years longer hike lots of water
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 1 379 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

wonderful place in the world! narrow pathway at times to get to the super high lookout. Go early to minimize the crowds that can turn an hour walk into a long day in the sun. Worth it worth it worth it!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank greasyskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

We are middle age and slightly active but had to attempt this hike. We went at opening time on a Monday am, lots of parking at that time, we also wanted to beat the heat and go as early as possible. The ladies wore their Chaco sandals and the men wore their hiking shoes. The terrain is soft and sandy. There are inclines that level off then incline again. We intended to walk the loop and accidentally got on slot canyon trail. At the end, there is a treacherous climb up Rocks to the scenic view that I did not do but the others did. The slot canyon trail offers a must better experience of the tent Rocks and narrow passages. If only doing the loop you miss a lot. Don’t do this trail alone, there were places my husband had to help me up and over rocks in tight places with barely any foot hold. And remember what ever you climb up and over means you have to come back down and over!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Rhjones69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

This is a cool place where volcanic ash, wind and water all had a hand it creating a beautiful landscape. It is probably better to go in cooler weather but we managed in June. Just bring a lot of water. Walk in the canyons created by time and mother nature and reach the top to see the unique tent formations.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Mary I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

The location is extremely hot and dry, and the hike can be tough at times, but it is totally worth it. The beautiful views and the amazing rock structures will put you in awe.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

Kasha-Katuwe Tent Rocks National Monument is a little out of the way but is well worth the detour. I made it my first stop in New Mexico and it was awesome. This hike has it all. You go through a fun and interesting slot canyon then climb up through scented pines past the base of the main tent rocks and up to a great overlook. The trail then continues along a narrow ridge to more great viewpoints on the other side. It's popular but wasn't super crowded when I went in the early afternoon on a weekday. The 1.2 mile flat easy cave loop trail starts in the parking area and the slot canyon trail branches off of it to the right pretty early on. The slot canyon trail is an out and back hike, 1.5 miles each way with 630 feet of climbing. You can then head directly back to the parking area or finish off the cave loop, which is just a few tenths of a mile farther than the direct way back. Be sure to make it to the overlooks before 3:30 pm when the rangers start turning people back.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank dhj16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews