We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Outstanding”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Does this look relaxing? Enjoy your time in Bali
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Does this look relaxing?
Enjoy your time in Bali
The Pool
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Dining Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Bedroom
The Bedroom
The Bedroom
The Second Bedroom
The Second Bedroom
The Second Bedroom
Bathroom (Twin Bedroom)
Bathroom (Twin Bedroom)
Bathroom (Bedroom)
Bathroom (Bedroom)
Bathroom (Second Bedroom)
Bathroom (Second Bedroom)
Entrance
Pathways
Welcome to your own private villa
Swim in your own private pool whenever you want
Pool at night
Sun yourself on the pool loungers
Some of our wonderful staff - Juwini, Adi & Putu
Bedroom 1 - Super King bed 200cm x 200cm
Bedroom 1 - individual touches
Bedroom 2 as King layout - Super King bed 200cm x 200cm
Bedroom 2 - overlooking pool
Bedroom 2 - Twin layout
Bedroom 2 - Twin layout
Bedroom 3 - Super King bed 200cm x 200cm
Bedroom 3 - Super King bed 200cm x 200cm
Bedroom 3 - Super King bed 200cm x 200cm
Breakfast in bed anyone?
Lounge at night
Lounge area
Looks good, doesn't it.
Dining / kitchen
Who's ready for dinner prepared by their own private chef?
Picture yourself here with a good book...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Seminyak, Kuta District, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Leanne N
Port Sorell, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Absolutely Outstanding”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We booked Umala's because of great reviews & it really exceeded everything we hoped for. The attention to detail is exceptional...beautiful furnishings, great food...Juwini the gorgeous cook & house keeper, Putu the ever reliable driver, fantastic security & very private location... Don't hesitate to stay here..

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2015
Hi Leanne,
Thanks so much for your review. You have a beautiful family, and we loved having you stay.
We're hoping to come and enjoy a visit to your accommodation in Tassie soon.
Kindest regards,
Anthony & Kay Shearn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muriel A
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Affordable villa for the foodie”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We arrived late evening, coming from Australia & Holland with a beautiful welcome drink.
It's a hidden villa that is close to Seminyak (short taxi ride). The bedrooms are spacious and the beds are very comfortable. We used the pool for a morning dip or to relax after all our shopping in Seminyak. We had breakfast, lunch & dinner at Umalas and it was so beautiful, everything was freshly made and better then any restaurant!
We would love her to cook at our home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner, she is a fantastic cook, the food is so yummy!
Liked least: Noisy
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2015
Thanks for your review Muriel. We're glad that you enjoyed your time at Umalas Retreat.
Kindest regards,
Anthony & Kay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzy1691
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice villa close to Seminyak with fantastic chef, security and services”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Stayed for 10 days with a group of friends, had an awesome time, very clean, great pool, nothing was too much trouble for the very competent staff! Food prepared by Juwini is magnificent would highly recommend this villa

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2015
Hi Sue,
Thanks for leaving us a review.
I know Juwini loved having you stay at Umalas Retreat.
We're glad you had a great time.
Kindest regards,
Anthony & Kay Shearn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn_Ain...
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden paradise exceeding all expectations!”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in March 2015

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very much at home. Nothing was any trouble for Juwini who made our stay so very enjoyable. Juwini would make a daily shopping list at our request and the food she prepared was so fresh and delicious. The extra task of making separate meals for a fussy 7 year old was no trouble. The villa is beautifully decorated and the areas for relaxation are comfortable and enticing. We felt safe at all times and being able to utilise our own driver when needed was convenient. The surrounding rice fields added to our stay, we just loved Umulas Retreat, it was a very memorable holiday.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2015
Hi Robyn,
Thanks for your kind words.
We're so glad you enjoyed your long awaited holiday.
Come back and visit again soon.
Kindest regards,
Anthony & Kay Shearn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trina S
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Private Oasis”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

From the time we arrived at the airport through to the Villa everything was seamless. Nothing is to much trouble for Juwini & Putu.

The villa is beautiful and kept to a very high standard. Juwini does a fantastic job and is an amazing cook.

My family loved their stay and we would all love to come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2015
Hi Trina,
Thanks again for choosing to stay at Umalas Retreat.
I'm happy to hear that you were well looked after, especially by Putu and Juwini.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kindest regards,
Anthony & Kay Shearn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing