We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“see below”
other travellers have booked this property
We have 8 sun loungers and a good 8 hours of prime sun
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
We have 8 sun loungers and a good 8 hours of prime sun
The view of the Bungalow which is separated from the main house 5 bedroom villa walking distance to the beach and shops, restaurants and bars and clubs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
37 reviews
We have 8 sun loungers and a good 8 hours of prime sun
The view of the Bungalow which is separated from the main house
5 bedroom villa walking distance to the beach and shops, restaurants and bars and clubs
The dining table with out door lounge and bar and kitchen in the background, perfect for group chill
The Bar and kitchen, breakfast is prepared by our staff
dining area with adjacent kitchen
fully equipped kitchen
The indoor living room is Air conditioned so its perfect for escaping the heat, has Cable TV too
The couch can seat the whole family for movie nights or for a cool hang out area
enquited bathroom
ensuited bathroom
kitchen bar
The out door living space is great for a holiday
dining area and outdoor sofa lounge
shower
ensuited bathroom
Bathroom 3 can be made into 2 single beds or we have a hollywood twin setup that can a double bed
bedroom with twin beds
Bedroom 2 is a great double room
Upstairs bedroom is perfect for the kids, it has an xbox the beds can be in single beds or double
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Seminyak, Kuta District, Bali

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Deb S
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good clean basic villa in the middle of Legian.”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a two week christmas stay at Amaya Villa. To be honest the villa is not what we were expecting and we were disappointed with the villa and with our stay.

First off the photos on the web site are very generous. The villa is a nice clean basic five bedroom property. However it's far from luxury.
It's a basic villa, yes it has five bedrooms and five bathrooms but for the price that we payed we expected much more.
It's very suitable for a family or group holiday but it should not be sold as a " Luxury holiday" when it's simply not.

It's an old villa that's had some basic recent renovations. Eg, down stairs bathrooms.
It's missing a few essential things for a group / family holiday. No microwave, no kettle, no iron, most rooms didn't have hangers, the fridge was tiny and full of "mini bar" drinks.
We had some major issues with leaking roofs in the bedrooms, bathrooms and dinning room. Not just a leak or two but six or seven leaks in one bedroom is a bit crazy. We had blocked toilets in two of the bathrooms on and off for the 15 nights.
We had limited hot / warm water with most showers being ice cold. I was told this was because they use solar power water but considering bali is mostly sunshine I don't understand how we had no hot water 70% of the time.
We used the "in house chef" on New Year's Eve and ended up with food poisoning. Hanging over the toilet is Not a fun way to see in the new year!

The pool fence that was up when we arrived ( we had not asked for one, it was a lovely idea) but was useless...... All children both crawling and walking could easily fit between the gapes. It ended up taking longer for adults to get in to the pool area then kids.

There were constantly work men / handy men in and around the villa, a lot of the work they were doing was not emergency repairs so they should not of been there when paying guests are staying. None of us felt comfortable having so many strangers around the children or in the garden while we were trying to enjoy the swimming pool.

The only other major problem for us was the Mosquitos. I know they are everywhere in bali however I also know staff should be doing there best to keep them at bay. The staff told us they did fogging on the property every second day. And spayed the rooms every afternoon however we never spotted anyone doing this. I even asked to get a company in to do fogging that we would pay for but it never happened.

The villa is very central and is right in the heart of Legian so very handy to walk to shops / cafés. The staff were all very nice and friendly. They made a real effort to make us feel welcome and were always up for a chat.
The breakfast was very basic but the girls that cooked it were lovely and always full of smiles.
The beds were comfortable and always made up well in the morning and rooms had a basic clean everyday.
The down stairs bathrooms look great. When the was warm water the shower heads were amazing.

If the property was not sold to us as a "luxury property" we might not of been so picky but with such a high nightly rate and generous photos on the web site that simply do not show the villa the way we think it truly is. We will not stay at Amaya again. After a couple of amazing visits to Bali and after staying in some amazing villas In the past this one fell short for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2014
Hi Deborah,

Thank you for your review to Trip Advisor.

When booking with Villa Amaya we gave you a discount on the already Soft opening promotional rates, due to being the first family group through the villa. So we offered you a rate of $700 net for the Peak Season New Years period in Bali, including airport transfers and breakfast for your party every day.

You booked through an agent and the booking confirmation that we received stated that there were 10 adults and 2 children, which you received copies of. During our communications we agreed to 10 adults and 2 children plus a baby cot for a 3rd child. There were another 2 babies that you didn't inform us about. Taking the number of people to 15. Which puts a considerable strain on the villa,our staff informed us this created over crowding. We wouldn't have taken your booking had we known the true number of people you were bringing. Having 5 children under the age of 2 created an environment that the staff described as very stressful.

When you contacted us directly the day prior to check in, we informed you that we were still setting up the villa and that we would not be in the country due to our annual family holiday, We requested that you please contact us if there were any issues. and we would call you back immediately

We did not hear from you, There were serious issues with the cyclonic weather and the house being untested for torrential rains. The staff and our maintenance team fixed these issues as soon as they were reported.

We do find a few points in your review very harsh and actually feel that they are intended to damage our reputation at Villa Amaya. We have a very comprehensive hygiene routine established and have not had any problems with food, we would comment that you group are our only guests to date who have prepared their own food. We have made changes to breakfast as your suggestions and changed the coffee served.

The leaks and the septics were fixed whilst you were in the villa, we switched on the booster as soon as you said the hot water wasn't working we have now fully resolved these issues.

We do thank you for your stay and we do apologise about the effect of extreme Rainy Season weather that you experienced (it rained for 5 days non-stop upon your check in and the entire area of southern Bali experienced floods that had never occurred like this before), so we understand this is not the ideal weather for a holiday and it may have caused some frustrations.

We thank you for being the first family group through Villa Amaya and testing our villa during the rainy season and do apologies for the inconveniences that you encountered.

Regards

Villa Amaya
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robert s
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“see below”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

First time visit to Bali with 15 of us! Need to bear in mind that we stayed over Christmas and New Year so it wasn't cheap, but the villa does have 5 good size double bedrooms with room in 3 for cots.

First impressions were good; villa arranged to meet us at the airport although it was 3am, so we arrived in the dark; staff gave us a welcome when we arrived - at first sight we were impressed. The villa is situated in a compound style urban situation in Seminyak (ie high walls all round). Plenty of shops/restaurents in the local vicinity.

Positives:

1. Friendlness of staff, always smiling.
2. Villa kept very clean and tidy, including pool and external aspects.
3. Staff always willing to help.
4. All 5 bedrooms were of a good size each with its own on-suite; also two large community areas, one inside, one outside under cover. Pool is totally open to the sun hence a good temperature.

Areas for improvement:

1. Roof leaked in at least 3 rooms - when it rains in Bali you know it!
2. 2 loos and one basin blocked - wifi down for 2 days.
3. Only 1 sitting for breakfast (for 15!); the breakfast menu was our greatest disappointment - in the end we made do with toast, fruit, and not very good coffee.
4. Perhaps the bed sheets might have been changed more frequently bearing in mind temp/humidity.

We would recommend this villa, but at the price paid we would have expected the breakfasts to be considerably better with greater flexibility.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: staff friendliness
Liked least: Breakfast
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2014
Hi Rob,

Thank you for your feedback on Villa Amaya, and for coming to stay with us. We have responded to your wife's Debs review of our villa and from your review it seems that the major problems you talked about were due to the number of guests you had come stay in our villa.

You booked as a party of 11 guests including children, however you arrived with a party totalling 15 people. Our villa is not set up for 15 people. We don't have enough chairs for the table so we would never accept your booking. We can't sit the 15 people in one setting as you mention so we do apologise but we were expecting 11 people and you had 15. Breakfast was prepared for 11 as this is what you paid for, so you this could have been one of the problems. You lack of acknowledgement on the true number of guests that stayed only furthered the problems we had.

We provide a continental breakfast, for guests to Villa Amaya, your choice of fresh fruit juice, fruit salad and yoghurt, you can then pick from Eggs, or Pancakes, Fried Rice, French Toast all with toast (you didn't mention this in your review so its a good judgement of how you are positioning your review). We have fresh jams and other spreads for toast. We also have teas and coffee, we have changed our coffee to an organic coffee that tastes much better as a result of your review. The kids have a choice of cereal to eat too.

If you want to eat Bacon and Sausages, Muffins, Croissants, Banana bread, and cakes, avocados and tomato salsa you can add to your breakfast. These extras are priced at no more then $1.50 per serving. So you were more then able to add to your breakfast to upsize it. We provide a healthy and nutritional breakfast at Amaya and if you want to make it into a "Big Breakfast" you have the option too. All this information was provided to you in the menus and guidebooks of Villa Amaya. So had the breakfast really been an issue, we give you options to make your breakfast how you want it.

This villa was sold to you on a soft opening promotional rate and you got a discount on that price that your travel agent negotiated in a number of emails back and forth. You did not pay anything for the extra 4 people. If you had booked a villa for 15 the rate would have been much more than you paid. You came to Bali in Peak Season, this is when all accommodation and villas fill out and prices are at their highest. You paid $700 net a night for 15 people including breakfast, transfers, welcome feast, free waters, coffees and teas. So the point that you think this is expensive highlights a very big consideration that I hope readers of this review can take on board.

Furthermore Villa Amaya has 6 staff on duty to look after you, and the many requests that you had. These rates were incredibly affordable for the Peak Season in Bali. You managed to have a Christmas Banquet and a New Years Feast as well using the minibar and other services with the 15 member group for a 2 week holiday and your consumables cost $500. So I think your comments of "not cheap" is very unfair. Please try to prepare one meal, for 15 people and not spend $500. Let alone on a Christmas feast, and that doesn't take into account the other consumables. At Villa Amaya we give our guests a very affordable way to enjoy healthy and filling meals, at an incredibly affordable rate. Our competitors in this price range do not do this. We provide this service as we care about our guests and want them to leave Bali healthy and relaxed.

With the greatest respect the overcrowding and lack of an honest response and the tight budget is the main concern that your group experienced. As you stated "when it rains in Bali you really know it" we had some of the worst weather in recent history during your stay.

The issues with the leaks and the blocked toilets have been resolved but this was very much due to the shocking weather. It didn't stop raining for the first 5 days of your holiday. The streets were flooded and ground water did not drain away as Bali does not have mains “sewerage” or mains “water” for the most part. Seminyak is not on line for these services. As a result of these experiences we have now increased the size and capacity of the septic tanks.

Roof Leakages etc: There are videos on Google of entire roofs blowing off just a few miles from us, and almost every home in Southern Bali lost roof tiles and leaked. As soon as a leak occurred we had our maintenance team fix it, however it was rather difficult as you complained when they did this.

The Septic tanks also became full of water because of the incessant rain and the groundwater being at the level of the grass. Our maintenance team eventually resolved this, we do apologise, as these were the most extreme weather conditions the island has ever experienced and we had to adapt to them. We have now fixed the roofs and resolved the drainage and waste problems. You were the first guests through Villa Amaya during rainy season. The weather was extreme, the rains that we tested the villa in, weren’t of the intensity that you experienced, hence the need for fixing the roof, we were informed that this was done within a few hours of the reported leaks. We have since fixed this problem and the roof is holding up in the subsequent heavy rains.

Regarding the bed sheets being changed, we change the bed sheets every 2 days and the towels every 3 days. If they are dirty we do this more often. We think that this is a good time period for cleaning the sheets and towels.

We feel this is a balanced view: The main issues you refer to were resultant of the overcrowding and the unfortunate cyclonic weather, if the weather was not causing a crises island wide and we were dealing with the 11 guests we expected you would have experienced the kind of stay other guests have reported.

We do thank you for your review and for coming to stay at Villa Amaya, we hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lulotte
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay!”
Reviewed 14 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

A group of us spent a weekend at Villa Amaya and had a fantastic time. The villa was pure luxury and the service was 10/10. The meals were beautifully prepared and delicious. The staff were incredibly friendly relaxed and helpful. We enjoyed yoga, a personal driver and a traditional Indonesian welcome feast. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The outdoor showers attached to nearly all rooms make the stay!

I would definetly come back and spend longer next time!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2013
Hi Laura,

It was great to have you guys come and stay at Villa Amaya.

Your group were great and the staff throughly enjoyed having you come and stay. We are glad that we could help with the extra activities and hope to have you come and stay a little longer in the future.

Thank you for the great review of Villa Amaya

Regards

The Villa Amaya Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purpl3
Bali, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Will be coming back next year”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Villa Amaya is amazing and the staff were so friendly! Every morning the table was set with breakfast that was freshly cooked by the staff in our kitchen. The staff not only cooked breakfast but also great lunches and dinners and they were genuinely interested in making sure that we had what we needed everyday. They are proud of being Balinese and their culture and it was great to be in Bali in a great villa environment, it made our holiday absolutely fantastic.

Most of the days were spent around the pool in the open air living area, which was great for our group as it gave a really relaxed area for us to hang out. Being able to walk to shops and the beach was really convenient. The Legian area is great and we thoroughly recommend Villa Amaya!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, great service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2013
Hi Enny,

Thank you for the review of Villa Amaya.

It was great to have your group come and stay. You were some of our first guests through the villa and it was great to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Regards

The Villa Amaya Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing