We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Oberoi Bali
Nearby Hotels
US$405
US$356
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Legian Bali(Seminyak)
US$687
US$569
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Samaya Bali Seminyak(Seminyak)
US$678
US$492
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
IZE Seminyak(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pelangi Bali Hotel(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$196
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$261
US$225
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort & Villas(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
L Hotel Seminyak(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$141
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Amadea Resort & Villas(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1 809)
Filter reviews
1 809 results
Traveller rating
1 530
193
58
19
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 530
193
58
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssorbetkura kura restaurantsunken bathjohn halpinfruit skewerslanai roomfrangipani cafeour honeymoongarden viewindian oceanfour seasonscomplimentary afternoon teapool servicean oasisoverlooking the beachseminyak beachmain restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 1 809 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

On January 4th this year we returned to Oberoi in Seminyak after a 12 year gap.
Unlike us who had aged 12 years, Oberoi had remained beautifully preserved.

Oberoi is an oasis in seminyak, the staff are superb and the service is second to none.

You can watch the sunset from the bar, eat delicious food by the pool, being spoiled in the spa or watch traditional dancing in the historic amphitheater. No matter what you do at Oberoi, it will be just wonderful!

What I love the most about the Oberoi is that I never feel I have to leave the hotel.... just heaven!
I look forward to returning to the Oberoi Soon.

❤️

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kensingtonyogini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Dear Kensingtonyogini,

Thank you for again staying at The Oberoi during your recent trip to Bali, after your previous stay with us 12 years ago.

We are delighted to learn that you found the hotel to be still as beautiful as you had remembered and we greatly appreciate you taking time to post your review. Your positive feedback is a source of motivation for us as we try to achieve even higher standards of service and care.

We look forward to have the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.

Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018

Beautifully landscaped property with nice lanau rooms and lovely villas. the Lanau rooms are very luxurious with a shower and sunk in small tub. also if it rains one can have a shower in the open.Rooms are plush and very comfortable. Some of the villa rooms have their own private pools.
The beach area facing the hotel was clean even though the beach other than in front of the hotel was pretty dirty.
Breakfast is included and is Ala-Carte and quite magnificent. The only shortcoming was in the taste of the indian food in the menu at dinner time.

Room Tip: if one can afford it then go for the villa room with the private pool
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kunal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Dear Kunal B,

Thank you for staying at The Oberoi, Bali recently and for posting your positive review on Trip Advisor forum afterwards.

We all here are very happy to read that your stay with us was enjoyable and that you were satisfied with most aspects of your stay. We appreciate your feedback regarding Indian cuisine served during dinner time. We do try to have some basic Indian dishes and do conduct regular training with the Indonesian chefs on how to prepare some Indian dishes. We are sorry that you found the quality to be below your expectations and thank you for identifying an area where you feel improvements can be made.

Thank you once again for sharing your constructive feedback. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali once again.

Kind regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

This really is a beautiful, albeit older, property, with the loveliest setting. The staff is very friendly and efficient. We did experience very good service while staying at the Oberoi. However, two people of our party got sick (diarrhea and vomitting), and considering we did not take any meals outside the hotel, we do believe it to be the hotel’s fault. We heard from some of the staff we were not the only ones experiencing similar problems at the time. We communicated this issue with the management who assured us they take all the necessary precautions to guarantee absolute food safety. However, based on our experience there was a flaw in these procedures.
Other than this the beach (even though really beautiful from the distance) was not clean during our stay. I do understand this is a part of a larger problem of waste management and sea pollution in Bali, but still, if you like to spend time playing in the waves, be advised the ocean is not really swimmable (unless you enjoy plastic floating next to you while in the water).
On the brighter note I have to say the a la cart breakfast was really wonderful, and among the best while on the island. The afternoon tea with cultural activities was also lovely.
Overall, even though this is a really nice property, we would probably not return, as we believe there are better places in Bali.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank LittleMissSmith_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Dear LittleMissSmith_2010,

Thank you for staying at The Oberoi on your recent visit to Bali and for posting your review on Trip Advisor forum.

We are delighted to receive your compliments on the resort’s setting as well as staff attention and courtesy extended to you during your stay. On the contrary, we are truly apologetic to learn that two people in your party were ill while staying here. The local hospitals have reported that a virus has been sweeping the island and many people (guests, foreigners and natives) were effected. I assure you that the health and safety of all of our guests and staff who serve them is paramount. All certifications and training in regards to hygiene are regularly conducted and tests carried out on all food handlers. I am truly sorry that two of your party were ill whilst staying with us.

We are sorry to note that the beach was not to your expectations. Each year, usually in December, trade winds shift and start blowing on to Bali from the west. Additionally, heavy rains begin at this time of the year and flush out Bali’s rivers and ravines where illegal and improperly discarded rubbish from all corners of Bali ends up in the sea and on beaches. This mismanaged waste problem and the pollution of Indonesia’s beaches is indeed sad. Indonesia is only second to China in marine pollution offences. We assure you that The Oberoi, Bali is at the forefront of educating the community, lobbying the government and doing our best to keep up with the rubbish washing on our beach. We are very sorry about it.

We are sorry to learn that you feel there are better places in Bali. However, if your travel plans bring you to a place where there is another Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in other parts of the world, or you change your mind about Bali, I would appreciate you letting me know. I would be delighted to offer you my personal attention with your arrangements.

Sincere regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

We are regulars to these beachside gem in Seminyak. The hotel is low rise and set up like a traditional Balinese garden with individual single level lanais. A stroll through beautiful manicured Balinese gardens with water features brings you to the pool. The pool is right by Seminyak beach. On days with good weather, breakfast is served in an open area overlooking the beach. This is a fully served breakfast and the variety of continental, local and Indian specialties makes this, in my opinion, the best breakfast in Bali. There is no lining up at a buffet breakfast at the Oberoi Bali. At 4 pm a poolside tea is served. The black rice pudding with coconut milk is highly recommended. As regulars, we have noticed, this year, new flat screen TVs in the room and high speed internet. Finally, a beautiful hotel is nothing without a dedicated staff. The hospitality and service shown to us was, again, exemplary. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Garden Lanai nearer the pool
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Dear Andrew K,

Thank you for again staying at The Oberoi on your return visit to Bali recently. We highly appreciate you sparing your valuable time to share your experiences on Trip Advisor forum.

Myself and my team are very happy to read that your stay with us was pleasant once again and that most aspects of your stay here have met with your satisfaction as well.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.

Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

After staying at other 5 star luxury resorts in Bali and Asia we were overwhelmed by this unique place. Tired of the modern hotel we wanted something authentic but not 'dated'. The Oberoi Seminyak Bali is breathtaking for it's combination of location, authentic Balinese style and impeccable service. Our Lanai room was larger than expected and had an ocean view with the soothing sound of the ocean waves at night. We loved the attention to detail in the room, especially the wide selection of tea, coffee and local fruit provided daily, The overall charm of the thatched roofs and immaculate grounds with magnificent mature trees that signify the history of this place is unforgettable. The spa offered excellent massages in a romantic setting and we loved relaxing by the pool with it's stone turtle fountains. Dining at the exceptional Kura Kura restaurant for dinner was a memorable experience. Above all, the warm hospitality of the staff will be remembered for a long time.

Room Tip: Ask for a Lanai room with ocean view
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Dear Chris P,

It was a pleasure to have you stayed with us at The Oberoi, Bali on your recent trip to Bali.

We greatly appreciate your valuable time in reviewing our resort on Trip Advisor forum and we are truly honored to receive your compliments on our resort's location, traditional Balinese style, Lanai room with its amenities, gardens, Spa treatments, Kura Kura dinner experience and warm services extending by our team members have all met your satisfaction.

If your travel plans bring you to any of the other Oberoi Hotels & Resorts, or you are able to re-visit The Oberoi, Bali, please do let me know. I would be delighted to offer you my personal services and attention with your arrangements.

Sincere regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews