We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Seminyak, Kuta District, Bali

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Sally W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location, average villa”
Reviewed 28 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have had several very enjoyable holidays in Bali and always stay in self contained Villas. We rely on the reviews on trip advisor and other booking sites to be accurate so that we can make an informed decision about which accommodation to book. La Dolce Villa in Seminyak is in a really good position - it’s quiet and an easy stroll to the main street where there is good shops and restaurants but that is where the accuracy of the reviews for this Villa ends. We found it to be in need of a renovation. ‘Tired’ would be a good description – examples are lots of cracked and lifting tiles around the pool, curtains that clearly used to be white are now grey and torn, a mouldy and broken shade umbrella, cracked kitchen benchtop and cracked baths and on and on. The one negative review on trip Advisor (1 out of 27) was actually truthful – the hot water disappears in about one minute after turning on the showers and the baths would take hours to fill with the water pressure and it would be a cold bath at that! The mosquitos are very bad, which, while this is expected in Bali, is usually manageable if you have nets in your bedroom but the room with the single beds only had a decorative bit of cloth rather than the full nets that are in the pictures. Even when we sprayed with insecticide, the gaps in the doors to the larger of the 3 bedrooms were so big that we were bitten every night. The hair dryer in one of the rooms was a serious hazard – it didn’t blow air and element was glowing bright red and the handle became too hot to hold. When this was pointed out to Mimi, the housekeeper, she took it and put it in the bottom kitchen drawer when clearly it should have been thrown out immediately. There were only 2 bowls in the crockery cupboard which seems absurd for a villa that sleeps 7.

Sandrine, although chatty, pleasant and helpful when we met her in person was not good at responding in a timely way, or fully, to our emails and, when she did, the communication left a lot of unanswered questions. Our last day was very stressful (which diminished the serenity we usually feel after Bali time) because she had not only been very late getting back to us the day before to tell us what the checkout plan was, she was then actually late turning up on checkout day - as was the driver she had booked to take us to the airport. We had booked massages for our final day – one last relaxing hour before we departed to take up some time, as we had to be out of the Villa by 10 and our flight was later that afternoon. We were late for our massage appointments because Sandrine was late arriving at the Villa and we couldn’t leave our luggage unsecured (Mimi was there but she speaks and understands very little English) and because we were unsure if Sandrine had arranged transport to the airport.

In the end, we still had a great time in Bali and will treasure our memories of this holiday. We have stayed in several villas that are rated “Excellent” in Trip Advisor, and we agree largely with those ratings. In the case of La Dole Villa we feel we would rate it, by comparison, “Average” due to the Villa’s condition - (2-2.5 out of 5) at best.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
30 Sep 2016
Hello Dan,

We are always disappointed when our customers are unsatisfied with their stay (which is extremely rare!).
Be sure that we will consider your comments.
Some renovation work (painting, ....) were already programmed. This work could not be done before because of the very important occupation of the villa during the high season (June-September). And unfortunately we suffer some damage because tenants.

- I do not agree with your remark about water: the pressure is quite good and hot water at will,
- Regarding the mosquitoes, there is just little in general but it depends on the season. There are mosquito nets and we provide insecticides,
- Regarding the hairdryer: the employee must give to the manager the defective devices and it is the manager who takes the decision to replace or to repair,

Following your review, I asked to Sandrine, our manager, some explanation. She was very surprised to your review because at any moment you did not express your dissatisfaction. And I had seen when I read your emails
On your departure, I don’t understand your point because I read the message you sent to Sandrine about it:
"Thanks, Sandrine. We will be ready for you at 10.00 tomorrow and we will leave our luggage with you, "
and the next one : " Thanks again. The driver is good at 12 "
You said that Sandrine was in late or she was in the morning at the villa to help the maid … and she offer you the airport transfer and paid the driver.
You decided not to leave your luggages with the maid Mimi. It’s your décision. Why ? because every day the maid was alone in the villa with your luggages.

I do not want to argue. Perhaps there had problems understanding.
I renew my apology and be sure that we do everything that our guests have a good stay.

Kind regards
Alain
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annaliese...
Newlands, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 1 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

What a perfect place to stay if you are a group holidaying in Bali. Mimi cleans and cooks if you ask her and she is an absolute gem. She has the best laugh! Budhi the driver will take you anywhere you want and is very kind and patient. Well done to the staff that looks after your every need from lovely basic food when you arrive to even providing a local cell phone

Date of stay: July 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Art_BizTr...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“One of the best places in Bali”
Reviewed 16 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The ambience is just amazing. Stress drained away within minutes of entering the tranquil space.
Great villa, amenities and arrangements. I don't have the words to describe the trip and stay. Just superb!!

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ambience, tranquility & amenities
Liked least: Creaky bed and non-working fan.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E3238BPgi...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth...”
Reviewed 3 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you're looking for indulgence then la dolce villa is for you. From the moment we arrived we were picked up from the airport by Budy(our awesome driver and tour guide) and brought to our new home for the week. There we met Sandrine who went through the place with us and gave us all the info we needed to begin a great holiday. All staff including our housekeeper mymy were more than amazing, always accommodating to any request. For example we needed a cake for a birthday and Sandrine picked up one of the guests and drove him out to a bakery so he could pick one up.The villa itself is beautiful and clean, actually the photos don't really do it justice. I can't recommend this place enough to people and haven't stopped talking about it since we got back. We miss it so much and hope to be back soon. Thanks guys!!

Date of stay: November 2015
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allancV70...
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ultimate indulgence location, total bliss catering to all tastes”
Reviewed 25 September 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

If you want it ALL then this is the place for you! Alian was terrific in communication and sorting out arrangements, he then passed us over to Sandrine to pamper our every requirement and look after us and right royaly she did. On arrival she gave us a run down on every thing, after sorting all of our requests and extra services (cook, driver etc) showed us a book that has helpful hints compiled by past tenants as well as her contact details in Bali so if anything went wrong we could contact her immediately.
The Vila is Bali (paradise) awesome location, $5 taxi to and from Bemo corner, but not so far that if you wanted to walk either there or the beach you could, our most favourite thing about the location was finding fire flies in the empty block opposite the villa and the fact that it whas TOTAL quite in the evening. As with everywhere in Bali shops, restaurants and everything else is only within a couple of blocks, although not as bustle as most other areas we have stayed (in a good way) The actual Villa is indulgent with 3 huge rooms 2 x King beds and 1 x two single beds each air conditioned and sealed so no mossies. The remaining areas are open plan, overlooking the huge pool. We juggled our time between luxuriating in bliss at the villa and hectic hustle and bustle in town, it was like two totally different holidays in one? But we totally enjoyed the Villa and feel it was GREAT VALUE for the level of opulence it gave us!

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Opulence and Fireflies
Liked least: end of my holiday
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.