We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Villa Ketumbar”
other travellers have booked this property
Villa Ketumbar Swimming pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Ketumbar Swimming pool
Tropical Luxury Villa Bedroom of Villa Ketumbar
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
38 reviews
Villa Ketumbar Swimming pool
Tropical Luxury Villa
Bedroom of Villa Ketumbar
Villa Ketumbar King size Bed
Luxury Bedroom
King size Bedroom
Bedroom View
TV - Living Room
Living Area
Dining Room and Living Area
Villa Ketumbar Kitchen
Exterior and tropical garden
Beach bed
Outside dinning Area
Outside dinning Area
Inside Bathroom of Villa Ketumbar
Inside Bathroom of Villa Ketumbar
Inside Bathroom of Villa Ketumbar
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Seminyak, Kuta District, Bali

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Sandydunl...
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Villa Ketumbar”
Reviewed 24 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Wow we just loved our stay. The villa was recommended and we were not disappointed. The villa is gorgeous true Balinese style. It is in a quiet location but central to everything. The staff could not be more helpful always willing to lend a helping hand. The owner when emailed was always quick to respond and very also very helpful. Would we recommend or stay again? 100% yes. Thank you to all for helping make our holiday memorable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2017
Thanks a lot for your nice review, and also thanks for our staff :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCBL0404
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed 7 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

This review is based purely on mine & my family's experience, observations, & our personal opinion only.
We booked the Villa for our family of 5 adults & 1 child for Christmas. To get to the the villa we had to drive through the back streets of a residential area. Not the best first impression & so much rubbish & litter. We were met by a member of staff who lives next door to the Villa. Through the gate of the Villa you are met with stepping stones over a pond that is a perfect magnet for mosquitos. The villa also seemed a lot smaller than the photos.
Rooms & living area ok but kitchen could do with a good clean & not sure why there was food left in the fridge with private marked on it? The villa cat was also present & they make sure that food is left out for it. We are all animal lovers but to be honest it was a pain especially when you were eating any food. The four bedrooms don't have any connecting doors (this is something I should of clarifyed before booking) but we felt it wasn't safe to allow our 8 year old to stay on her own in one of them.
On the first day the staff member showed us the walk through the alley ways to the local supermarket. Again not the nicest of walks with stray dogs, barbed wire on other villa walls, rubbish & motorbikes to avoid.
On the evening we took a taxi into Seminyak & we had a look at beach 66. Absolutely amazed to see how much rubbish was on the beach. We've never seen anything like it. The taxi back to the Villa was not the best as the taxi driver couldn't find the street where the Villa was located & we ended walking the last bit in the dark. Not the safest we've felt to be honest & not sure where we were going.
On the second day the staff member from next door came in about 8am & pottered around the villa for about 3 hours. When he left the cleaner came in for 4 hours. In our opinion we felt having staff there for 7 hours of the day totally unecessary & we certainly didn't have the privacy we wanted.
We had another walk into Seminyak & it was so busy with mopeds on the roads they even drive up into the path which is not great when you have an 8 year old. We were hassled to go into all the shops along the street & the whole experience was
not peaceful or tranquil as we were expecting. On the walk back to the Villa we were met with the mess of chicken that had been gutted in the alley next to the villa & the remains discarded in the drain! Unfortunately we felt that Seminyak is more of a "back packers" area & just not what we wanted. On the morning of Christmas Eve the staff member from next door was in again at 8am & the cleaner arrived about 10.30am, so again no privacy. By this time we had enough & decided at an extra cost to us to relocate to Nusa Dua & book our family into a hotel. We were very courteous to the staff & explained we were not happy with the area & also the booking was not really what we expected. It was Christmas Eve & making sure our family was happy & able to enjoy the rest of our holiday was our main concern.
When we eventually got settled the area of Nusa Dua was exactly like we expected Seminyak to be. When we eventually got settled I emailed the owner to advise we'd left the villa as the Villa & the area didn't meet our expectations & the response was very unsympathetic.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2017
Dear Sally,
I am surprised by your comment:
This is the message that you send me on my email: "Dear Hadrien

Just to let you know that we left the Villa yesterday. The villa itself is ok, however the surrounding area outside the villa & Seminyak itself was not what we were expecting & certainly not the peace & tranquility that we have had from our previous visit to Bali."

We rent our villa for now 5 Years on Tripadvisor and Airbnb, you can check our comments and you will see how people enjoye the villa. This is not my fault that you choose the wrong holiday destination. Our villa is in the center (very center) of Seminyak, but on a quite place, very quite place ! Yes the villa is on a small street like you said on your comment on the "back streets of a residential area". But you are in Indonesia in Bali, not at home so yes there is some "Local People" who live close to the villa, and those people are very friendly and nice people. About the rubbish & litter our staff always clean the street in order to be sure that there is no any rubbish !

"Through the gate of the Villa you are met with stepping stones over a pond that is a perfect magnet for mosquitos" There is no mosquitos on the pond because we put some products on it which kill all the mosquito larvae (every month), we also do every week during the raining saison the Mosquito Foging ! So yes you can have some mosquito at the villa but less than many other place because we try our best to eradicate them. By the way at you arrival we always give to our guest some mosquito skin cream and some mosquito spray for the room and you also have mosquito net on each room.

About the villa size, this is your point of view but the villa don't look smaller that the picture, this is the last comment that we add on airbnb (the guest who stay just after you)

"Hadrien's villa is the perfect place for a family - comfortable, with all the amenities that one would need, very well-maintained and very clean. Azan is the BEST - he took care of us very well, took care of all our needs from the moment we stepped into paradise (yes, that is what we call Hadrien's villa) until we checked out. Except for the occasional hiccups (e.g. power trip, no water - this happened once though), everything was just perfect! We cooked breakfast everyday and it was a breeze because we had all that we needed. Pictures don't do justice to the villa - you should see the villa and experience paradise. Love the interiors and the decor, too :)"

"The four bedrooms don't have any connecting doors (this is something I should of clarifyed before booking) " What do you mean ? no the rooms don't have any connecting doors, you have 4 bedrooms with 4 bathroom which give you some privacy. The villa is safe, the area is very safe also, so it was very safe for your 8 old years girl to stay on her own, I can understand that for you it wasn't safe enough but our villa is not unsafe !

About the staff, when you said "staff member from next door" this is not staff member from next door, we own the 2 villas so we have the same staff for both they do Half day in one and one day next door. You complain because the staff was here the 25 of december, why you didn't ask them to leave the villa.

For the 66 beach and Seminyak what can I say ... You decide to come in Bali during the raining season and you complain about the beach, about the area about the mosquitos about the dogs, the cat, the local people, about our staff about everything ! and by the way my very unsympathetic answer !!! I alway do nice and quick answer ! You just left the villa like that, you didn't inform me, our manager was not here, and we asked you to wait for him but you didn't want, so our staff didn't understand, so when I send you the first message, I just want to understand what happen to understand.

The problem is that you rent a villa in seminyak instead of a big hotel like a Sofitel / Westin ... in Nusa dua. This is not our fault and not my staff fault !

For the people who will read this "Very bad" comment I hope that you will read the other comment that we have because this comment is not the reflection of what people think about our villa, and I really want to say that: Our staff always do is best to help our guest and to make them happy !
This is very important to me to clarify things
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SashLU
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 27 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a beautiful 8 day stay at the villa. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. The villa is very well looked after. We felt we were living in luxury and had everything we needed at our finger tips.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeby
Western Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Private Garden in another world!!”
Reviewed 29 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Wow I did a lot of searching to find the perfect villa for our 11 night stay in Bali, 7 family members in total 5& 7 year old, 5 adults (grandma & Poppy) I will say I did find the perfect villa!!
Once you open the gates you are in another world. Don't be put off by the drive down street to villa as there are a lot of local homes and villas being built. We arrived late at night and I was a little concerned by this but we felt perfectly safe during our stay (though little surprised no one else has mentioned this in there reviews)
Ajan was our main contact during our stay he did EVERYTHING from the garden to the rooms to getting our tea/coffee in the morning and running our washing to be done. Always a smile on his face and our kids thought he was just great. He makes the stay at the Ketumbar the amazing experience it is. Nothing is to much and he was truly sad to see us go.
The Villa is bigger than the photos let on which is a surprise as most of the time it is the opposite. The rooms are huge and very comfortable, just love the outside showers even in the rain. The pool is great day or night. I think it is a great family share villa as everyone gets there own space. There is even a alarm for the pool which makes it safer for the kids.
As mentioned we arrived very late so if this is your case make sure your breakfast arrangements are very clear. We had Setree (not sure the spelling sorry) come in most mornings to do a simple breakfast and great juices. Such a friendly lady. Nice way to start the day not having to run around like crazy.
After a long day trip we also booked the villa chef to have dinner waiting for us, just walk in the gates and everything was done. Perfect!
I had a lot of communication with the owner Hadrien coming up to our stay due the volcano concerns and he was very patient and helpful in his reply's. Normally I would never need to contact a owner so much.
Oh and how can I forget the villa cat Tickles who's personality is larger than life, kids followed her around for hours.
Our family has traveled a lot and stayed in many villas all over the world and this is one that I will say I would love to go back to again and would highly recommend. (book early as they are very popular)
I just hope they can fit us in next time! Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quietness and privacy of the villa
Liked least: The walk down to villa
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellbird1...
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A great villa in great location in the heart of Seminyak, perfect for a group of friends or extended family. Private Bedrooms were large and impeccable with aircon, private bathrooms and outdoor shower. Our shower didn't work so well but didn't bother us as the housekeeper couldn't get the part in a hurry- we know he tried.the decor in the bedrooms and living was distinctive Balinese which added a nice exotic touch. The only negative was the kitchen which was small and a bit dirty.also no fan in there so preparing meals was a hot and sweaty business.
But a BIG thank you to the grounds/housekeeper and the cook - both genuine warm people.they made our stay special. Nothing was ever a bother.would definitely stay again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location,decor,people
Liked least: Kitchen
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing