We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
US$148
View deal
eDreamsUS$148
Orbitz.comUS$148
TravelocityUS$149
TripadvisorUS$148
ZenHotels.com
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
238
41
10
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
238
41
10
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stone kitchen lavender room country house afternoon tea wine tasting wine hour infinity pool honesty bar cape town breakfast and dinner superb views country stay beautiful location braai area honeymoon suite attention to detail dirt road
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2020

Dunstone Country House is neither a B&B nor a hotel but boasts the best of both. So let’s call it more of a delightful country retreat (without the Kumbaya). With so many 5 star reviews (with which I heartily concur), I have little to add except to mention the most generous breakfast delivered to our room’s garden: a great picnic hamper containing, croissants, brie cheese, biscuits, hot quiches, toast, jams, cereals, fruit salads, fruit juices, yoghurts, mueslis (home made), muffins, Pastel de Nata…and more, and rounded off with hot teas. Absolutely overwhelming! Of course, we couldn’t finish the lot; Abbi, our delightful host suggested that we keep the rest for lunch (which was most of it).

On the second day, we elected to have breakfast at the Stone Kitchen (easily within walking distance of our beautifully appointed room). There they offer a full à la carte menu for all appetites… more of a complimentary breakfast on offer rather than the B in B&B’s usual limited fare.(Stone Kitchen also offers lunch and the occasional pop-up dinner. And they are quite a number of wine estates that offer dinners within easy driving distances.)

In all, a wonderful, tranquil, relaxing three day stay.

Date of stay: November 2020
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 February 2020 via mobile

We had stayed a couple of year ago and the quality has remained the same. Very friendly staff in a beautiful setting. The rooms are not very large but well appointed with comfortable beds. A very nice communal area looking at the valley and the vines with a happy hour every night. A peaceful swimming pool with comfortable loungers and shade. The Stone Kitchen produces a very good breakfast (and is a pleasant place for dinner a short walk from the main buildings)

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank richardbP4788DM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 February 2020 via mobile

Beautiful place! We stayed in the lavender room, which was delightful. The honesty bar worked well and the staff could not have been nicer! The view and tranquillity at the infinity pool was divine! Excellent wine also! My only small criticism would be that the directions do not actually take you to the dirt road that leads up to Dunstone - our Sat nav didn't recognise any of the road names given and Google maps on my phone stopped at another track earlier on the road, so a signpost as you turn right off hill road (I think!) and at the start of dirt road would have helped immensely! We ended up stopping at the local pub where the owner gave us excellent directions! Lovely place however and well worth the time spent trying to find it!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 February 2020

Once again I brought out of town guests to experience the warm and gracious hospitality of the Dunstone team. They were awed by the beauty of the Manor house with its spacious bedrooms with a French country feel - casual but elegant and the many out door spaces from front gardens with fountain, to the back views of the mountains, or the pool with all the causal lounging areas- all stunning. The inside living spaces are also generous and well appointed. We spent the afternoon in the pool and enjoyed an afternoon tea with cake just out of the oven. That evening we enjoy their complimentary bottle of Chenin Blanc before dinner. And breakfast at the Stone Kitchen was delicious. All the staff are warm, friendly and professional. I will be back with more friends.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mocpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 February 2020 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at Dunstone Country House!
The staff was warm and welcoming! Our room, the pool area and the restaurant with breakfast and dinner within walking distance was great. The complimentary wine offered in the early evenings was a wonderful possibility to get to know other guests!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Per25
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews