We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Paul M

Old World Experience

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 01 Jun 2024via mobile
Just stayed 1 night at this truly wonderful country house, I cannot praise this establish highly enough as they made my wife and myself so welcome, the rooms are so cosy and the log fire and hot water bottles were a real bonus.
The breakfast was amazing. I just wished we had eaten in the restaurant the previous night.
We will definitely return
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alison Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this review
Responded 1 week ago
Paul, we wish that you could've stayed longer (and eaten in the restaurant) too! Thank you for the beautiful energy that you brought to our property and we shall see you soon for your next visit (we hope!).
Thank you so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Superior River Suite 4
R 2 313
R 2 101
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 101
0.6 km from Schoone Oordt Country House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 040
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Schoone Oordt Country House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 475
R 1 035
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Schoone Oordt Country House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 400
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.3 km from Schoone Oordt Country House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 513
R 1 401
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 401
2.4 km from Schoone Oordt Country House
Free Wifi
Free parking
HOTPOT at GUINEA FOWL
R 900
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
2.5 km from Schoone Oordt Country House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 243
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.0 km from Schoone Oordt Country House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from the Wildebraam fields of the mountain
R 1 087
R 1 000
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.6 km from Schoone Oordt Country House
Free parking
View From the Deck
R 993
R 900
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.1 km from Schoone Oordt Country House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 339
R 1 330
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
10.8 km from Schoone Oordt Country House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Swellendam
Reviews (1 663)
Filter reviews
1 663 results
Traveller rating
1 528
116
13
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 528
116
13
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honeymoon suite garden route beautiful conservatory eggs benedict cape town attention to detail one night complimentary afternoon tea high tea scones country house the owner hot water bottles turn down service granola car washed warm welcome
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1 663 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2024 via mobile

We were welcomed by the manager who showed us around our very large beautiful room and invited us for scones and tea. The bathroom was large, loads of hot water and plenty of space for your things. Lovely soft dressing gowns. After our dinner at a nearby restaurant we came back to a fire lit in our room. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was amazing, really tasty and freshly cooked. During breakfast our car was washed! Highly recommend.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alison Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Lovely! Lovely! Lovely review! Thank you so much Jane. It was a joy having you to stay and we look forward to your next visit. :)
Much love from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2024

What an unforgettable breakaway we experienced this weekend at Schoone Oordt Country House.

Each cottage boasts a charming fireplace right in the bedroom. Picture yourself snuggled up with a good book or sharing intimate moments by the crackling fire.
Mornings start with a delightful three-course breakfast. From homemade granola, freshly prepared delights that changes daily, your taste buds are in for a treat.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tasilicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alison Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2024

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on both platforms, Tasch. We so appreciate your kind words and generous spirit. We loved spending time with you both and so look forward to your next visit!
Much love from us to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2024

Beautiful hotel with great attention to detail. Wonderful service. Excellent food stunning setting. Can’t recommend highly enough.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank cdL5634BK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alison Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2024

Fantastic Feedback! Thank you so much for this review. We love it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2024

My wife and I spent a wonderful 2-night mid-week breakaway in the honeymoon suite at Schoone Oordt Country House. After a very warm and friendly welcome by Alison, the owner, we were shown to our suite which was nice and secluded with a view into the small forest that borders the property. The room was a decent size and the mattress and linen were high quality. The bathroom and amenities were also first class. We enjoyed a superb dinner at the guest house restaurant, The Conservatory, on the first night which was professionally prepared and presented. The traditional vetkoek to start was a proudly South African taster. I opted for the venison carpaccio followed by the locally farmed Poached Salmon Trout. Delicious. Breakfasts are served in the same location and there is something for everyone - including very decent coffee made from Merkava coffee beans. Reyldean and Steffanie are 2 sisters who work in reception and the restaurant and are truly a credit to the establishment - as are all the staff we encountered. The guest house is set in a very tranquil spot on the quieter side of town and our 2 nights there were wonderfully rejuvenating. If you are looking for a relaxing break in a picturesque part of the Western Cape then this is definitely a place to consider. We hope to return too.

Room tip: If you are there for more than one night, be sure to add La Sosta restaurant in town to your dining plans
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DPJ1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alison Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2024

We love.love.love this review! Thank you SO much.
How fabulous that you've mentioned our gems by name? Steff & Rehldean are very proud.
Thank you, too, for the mention of our food. It's our thing and it fills our soul when guests love it.
We very much look forward to your stay again soon.
Much love from all of us to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2024 via mobile

We travelled here with friends on the garden route. What a beautiful place to stay. The staff were so welcoming, the rooms were lovely and cosy and the food was amazing. We had a complimentary car wash too. We only stayed one night but wish we could have stayed longer.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank DartEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alison Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2024

We wish you could've stayed longer too! It was such a joy spending time with all of you. Thank you for the beautiful energy and the love that you brought to our property. You made our hearts very happy and filled our soul. Come back soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews