We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 136)
Filter reviews
1 136 results
Traveller rating
1 031
89
11
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 031
89
11
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honeymoon suite afternoon tea garden route eggs benedict attention to detail cape town one night beautiful conservatory on arrival country house scones baked apple turn down service family cottage welcome drink three courses a hot water bottle
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 1 136 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2018

We returned to Schhoone Oordt after first visiting six years ago. It has lost none of its charm and you cannot fault the attention to detail in equipping the rooms, even down to two cafetières - one each! Having ones car washed during breakfast is another nice touch. We had dinner in the lovely Conservatory. Small portions but good quality. Breakfast was good and imaginative. This is a great place for a one or two night stop on the Garden Route.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchooneOordt, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Steve, it was so lovely to read that we're still holding up, even after 6 years! Thank you SO much. We loved visiting with you again... Please don't wait another 6 years!
With much love from all of us at Schoone Oordt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

From the welcome afternoon tea to the delicious and perfectly presented dinner and the nutritious breakfast our visited was complimented by the delightful Fydney who looked after us well
We spent two relaxing days around the pool and visiting g the nearby Bontebok game reserve.
Our family room was comfortable apart from a couple of plumbing difficulties (the heavy cold tap fell off on my toe!) but I'm sure they will have been put right by the time the next visitors use the room.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank PAW743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

When you leave this magical place you think can it get better when all is perfect anyway. Perhaps it’s the passage of time but it just seems to.
The minute you arrive you are met with large smiles and the feeling of a promise that this will be your best stay ever.
Rooms large airy,beautiful bathroom with lovely towels and a bed you don’t want to get out of.
Restaurant service spot on food with exciting flavours and beautifully presented. Wine list interesting will suit even the wine connoisseurs. All served at a pace that exists in few places brings back memories of Times when the customer mattered not just about bums on seats.
A true delight thats why we return again and again. Thanks again for a wonderful experience see you all next week.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank djbeecroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchooneOordt, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Our lovely lovely Beecrofts... Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for this spectacular review. It has made us so proud and so thrilled, thank you so much. We can't wait to see you later today and again next year then?
With much love from the entire Schoone Oordt Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

We were welcomed with homemade cake and cooling drinks and our accommodation was excellent and spacious.
We ate dinner in the conservatory and the meal was memorable . What a good chef they have. We will return again for longer next time.

Room Tip: family suite was well situated with large roof terrace
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank davidp5454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018

We arrived a little early but received an exceptionally warm greeting. We were offered afternoon tea while we waited for our room to be ready. It was delicious. Our room was perfect, spacious, clean and very comfortable. We had booked to eat in the restaurant on our first night as it was New Years Day and we thought most places would be closed.
We were so glad we did, the food was truly excellent, as was the wine list! Needless to say we ate there on our second evening too. The breakfast is a real treat as well. The staff is first class, so helpful and friendly. All in all an excellent place and definitely worth a visit.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ufford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchooneOordt, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Dearest Ufford
Thank you so much for this heartwarming review! We have shared with all the staff to huge smiles, thank you. We loved sharing Schoone Oordt and Swellendam with you and look forward to visiting with you again... for longer.
Much love from the Schoone Oordt Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews