We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 149)
Filter reviews
1 149 results
Traveller rating
1 043
90
11
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 043
90
11
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea honeymoon suite garden route attention to detail eggs benedict cape town one night beautiful conservatory on arrival country house scones baked apple turn down service family cottage welcome drink three courses a hot water bottle
Filter
Updating list...
462 - 467 of 1 149 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2015

We stayed here for one night as a stop off while travelling up the Garden Route. We could easily have stayed a few days longer. The hotel had charm and was beautifully restored.
The greeting on arrival was warm and friendly offering us afternoon tea, which was most welcome after a long drive. The pool area was beautifully maintained and offered a peaceful place to relax.
Rooms were well appointed with a massive bathroom and open shower with a huge array of luxury toiletries as well as scented candles... down to the small packet of matches to light them.
We took our evening meal there and were not disappointed. Excellent wine list as well as superb food and the breakfast was first class. While we were eating breakfast our car was being washed, ready for our departure.
Swellendam offers a good selection of restaurants and cafes but we were very glad we ate 'in house' as the food was so good and a lovely setting in the Conservatory. Definitely a gem!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank lisawilliams8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison_J_Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2015

Dear Lisa

Thank you for this truly wonderful review! You have made Chef Wander (and the rest of us) very very happy this morning. We loved spending time with you - come back and visit soon!

With love
Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2015

What a great place Alison and Richard have created here – an unpretentious, classic country house hotel in beautiful gardens nestling just away from the bustle of mainstream Swellendam.

Schoone Oordt presents a fine welcome. Fidiney is born to the job of greeting his guests in a refined and warm way; steering the weary traveller into afternoon tea and then fully refreshed, away and into our accommodation – The Honeymoon Suite!

Fear not relatives, we’re too old for all that wedding palaver but we did enjoy that special room with its magnificent facilities, space and character.

Sad to say, like many of your road-trip travellers, we only stayed for a night at Schoone Oordt but the time we did spend there was out of the top drawer.

Breakfast was a slightly out of character sombre affair but the House, our room, the thoughtful washing of our car and of course 'Sir Fidiney of Schoone’s' unimpeachable manners made up for this small shortcoming in spades.

I'm very glad to have stayed here.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CurtisG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2015

Fantastic accommodation and all round experience. The owners have done an incredible job turning round an important historic building from a near derelict shell to a wonderful, atmospheric hotel. The staff were great and the breakfast so immense I needed a wheelbarrow to move myself around Swellendam after:) Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2015

I have never encountered such a warm and trusting set of staff as those who run this lovely country house. The hospitality including complimentary beverages extended for some hours after our checkout time. A minor constructive criticism is that the portion sizes for the evening meal were a little small, but nevertheless the food qualitiy was outstanding. We will certainly aim to stay again if we're in the area

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2015

Absolutely loved the characterful Schoone Oordt & our welcome by Fidney (I thought he was 'Sidney' but other reviewers say 'Fidney?) in pretty Swellendam. The only reason I don't elevate the Schoone Oordt to 'Excellent' was the breakfast service. The young waitress did not give us a menu (until I asked for one) so we never knew what was to come. There was then a 40 minute wait between helping ourselves to fruit & muesli (which was unpleasantly 'over-toasted' i.e burnt) until our pancakes with apple compote arrived and to be honest she lacked a smiley, morning persona. Despite this, I think Schoone Oordt is a great place to stay & having our car washed, a bonus.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CillaL-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison_J_Walker, Owner at Schoone Oordt Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2015

Hello Cilla

Thank you very much for your kind review. We usually get special mention of our delicious breakfasts and homemade granola, so we are very sad to read that this let us down this time. We thank you very much for pointing it out and will initiate a refresher with our breakfast team. We hope that you'll visit us again soon for a phenomenal breakfast experience!

With love,
Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews