We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
R 1 656
Breakfast included
R 1 656
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Natascha

Exquisite in all ways !

Review of Rothman Manor
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Apr 2022
When one wishes to start off on the garden route, it is imperative to "make a draai" aka take some time to visit Swellendam. One of the oldest towns in SA, the Drosdy museum is worth a visit and make sure to have lunch (or dinner) at the Republiek restaurant opposite the road. But 1st check in at Rothman where you will find an island of peace, beauty and friendliness.
The rooms are amazing, breakfast is super, the jacuzzi needs to be tried and make sure to get a bottle of bubbly while you look out over the zebra and springbokkies in the garden. Overall wonderful experience that deserves a stay of 3 nights at least.
Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
R 3 720
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 543
  • Trip.com
    R 3 726
3.0 km from Rothman Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 1 180
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 180
  • Agoda.com
    R 794
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 118
2.2 km from Rothman Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
HOTPOT at GUINEA FOWL
Booking.com
R 920
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 920
  • Agoda.com
    R 920
  • Vio.com
    R 915
2.1 km from Rothman Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 1 115
  • Priceline
    R 1 045
  • Agoda.com
    R 944
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 150
3.0 km from Rothman Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 950
  • Priceline
    R 869
  • Agoda.com
    R 799
  • Expedia.com
    R 950
1.6 km from Rothman Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Superior River Suite 4
Booking.com
R 1 995
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 785
  • Trip.com
    R 1 666
  • Priceline
    R 1 995
3.6 km from Rothman Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 1 500
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 350
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 200
  • Priceline
    R 1 363
3.0 km from Rothman Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 1 208
  • Priceline
    R 1 209
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 208
  • Vio.com
    R 1 202
3.3 km from Rothman Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 2 381
  • Priceline
    R 2 381
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 972
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 360
12.1 km from Rothman Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 1 400
R 1 330
  • Priceline
    R 1 330
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 400
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 400
3.0 km from Rothman Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Swellendam
Reviews (561)
Filter reviews
561 results
Traveller rating
516
40
1
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
516
40
1
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub africa suite garden route attention to detail one night cape town his wife lilly pond breakfast is served south africa large bathroom an oasis the main house wonderful place perfect hosts stayed longer top class
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 561 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2022 via mobile

What a wonderful place and experience. Everything is thoughtfully done and immaculate, from the rooms to the gardens. Warm welcome, good, unobtrusive service, sparkling clean, and wonderful touches everywhere. In town, but feels like a country retreat. Definitely a place to come back to.

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Richard v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 March 2022

What a great place to stay…everything top class. The rooms are spacious and everything from the beds to bedding ,towels etc are all top quality. The grounds surrounding the property are spacious with a lovely salt water pool completing the package.
Breakfast is served on a beautiful patio with lovely views.
Andreus and his wife are the perfect hosts.
Robert and Christine F

Date of stay: January 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank robertfinlay2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 March 2022 via mobile

Last minute booking while en route from Plett to Cape Town. Just one night but would love to stay longer! Wonderful welcome, upgraded to Africa suite; so comfortable and right by the pool. Delicious breakfast (do try the bacon!) and fabulous gardens. Just loved watching the sunbirds while taking a leisurely breakfast.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank proftrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 March 2022 via mobile

One of the nicest places I have ever stayed in. Beautiful house in magnificent grounds. Where else can you see springbok and zebra in the garden. The animals are in a large compound but at the bottom of the huge garden. There is a pool and lovely outside seating areas. Our room was so stylish with lots of space. The excellent breakfast can be in the garden or in the main house. There is also an inside guest area. Our hosts were so friendly we would willingly have stayed longer.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LambertCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 March 2022

A wonderful experience. From the moment you arrive in the extensive and well manicured grounds you are in an oasis of calm and luxury. The rooms are well appointed and finished to a very high standard. The service is understated but at the same time they cater for your every need. We couldn’t fault the place and would highly recommend it to any travellers wanting something special. Our only regret was we didn’t stay longer !

Date of stay: February 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mvicke284603
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews