We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
R 1 657
No prepayment needed
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
bdelad
haifa

Best guesthouse in South Africa

Review of Rothman Manor
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Apr 2021
We were staying at the Rothman manor for 2 nights, and loved it so much, that we didnt want to leave.
The place is so beautiful, and so clean, perfect pool and hot tub, they also have some animals like Zebra and Springbok, which is amzaing. The garden is huge as well.
Andreas is such a perfect host, and helped us with everything before we arrive, and during our stay.
Breakfast was really good, great selection of cheeses and cold meats, as well as fruits, jogurt, eggs, and actually anything you need in order to start your day.
There is a lounge where you can have coffee, or just sit and relax.
We were staying in the Suite Africa, which is so beautiful, they really make an effort to give attention to all the small details so you will have anything you need.
This was definetely our best guesthouse experience in South Africa, and we cannot wait to come back.
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 904
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Rothman Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 217
  • Hotels.com
1.7 km from Rothman Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 300
  • Hotels.com
2.4 km from Rothman Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 909
  • Hotels.com
1.6 km from Rothman Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 927
  • Hotels.com
2.2 km from Rothman Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
View From the Deck
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 899
  • Booking.com
1.0 km from Rothman Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 928
  • Hotels.com
3.0 km from Rothman Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 712
  • Priceline
3.0 km from Rothman Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bed Room
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 872
  • Booking.com
0.2 km from Rothman Manor
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 400
  • Hotels.com
3.0 km from Rothman Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Swellendam
Reviews (561)
Filter reviews
561 results
Traveller rating
516
40
1
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
516
40
1
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub africa suite garden route attention to detail one night cape town his wife lilly pond breakfast is served south africa large bathroom an oasis the main house wonderful place perfect hosts stayed longer top class
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 561 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2020

Rothman Manor is set amongst beautiful countryside. The main building in which we stayed was full of character and has preservation status but did not compromised on comfort. The grounds are relaxing with a nice pool in which to relax. Breakfast was cooked to order and very good. Andreas our host could not do enough to help. We will return the next time we are in the Western Cape.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank garry612
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 March 2020

This is the third time we've stayed at Rothman Manor, immaculately clean, super facilities, great pool, hot tub overlooking springbok and zebra, and super breakfast!
We will return and strongly recommend this 5 star guest house in Swellendam.
A gentle stroll to some fabulous restaurants.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank dwalker636
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 February 2020 via mobile

Rothman Manor in Swellendam is an excellent first stopover point if you are travelling out of Cape Town to the Garden Route and beyond. Conveniently situated off the N2, the rooms are comfortable and nicely furnished. There is a traditional pizzeria right next door and other traditional restaurants within a short taxi ride if needed. Excellent home cooked breakfasts are served on a patio within the garden to the rear of the property. The owners are very attentive to all requests. A pleasurable stay.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank zoar101
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 February 2020 via mobile

It would be hard to beat the pure beauty and tranquility of this old Dutch Colonial property set in idyllic surroundings. I would give it a six star rating if possible for it is such a wonderful place.
Exquisitely decorated rooms offer real comfort and ambience and a good degree of privacy. Lovely pool to enjoy the wonderful sunshine here.
Breakfast in the garden is a true delight in location and food quality. There is also a lounge to relax with interesting books. A secure and covered parking area and even found my car windows cleaned the next day!
It goes on....... the garden area has a large lily pond, varying areas with seating to enjoy the surroundings and a large paddock with Springbok and Zebra! All flanked by the local mountains!
The challenge is leaving this place as we could have happily stayed much Longer than two nights.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Phillip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 February 2020 via mobile

I wanted a special stay over albeit for just one night and boy did I get it. We had the cosy room e.g. smallest but for one night it didn't matter. This place is without doubt the most beautiful guesthouse I have ever stayed in and we will be back next year if we are able to get in. Truly amazing.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank seedoubleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews