We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
R 1 657
No prepayment needed
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
garry612
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom

We were uncertain but ....

Review of Rothman Manor
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Mar 2020
Rothman Manor is set amongst beautiful countryside. The main building in which we stayed was full of character and has preservation status but did not compromised on comfort. The grounds are relaxing with a nice pool in which to relax. Breakfast was cooked to order and very good. Andreas our host could not do enough to help. We will return the next time we are in the Western Cape.
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 904
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Rothman Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 234
  • Hotels.com
1.7 km from Rothman Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 300
  • Hotels.com
2.4 km from Rothman Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 927
  • Hotels.com
2.2 km from Rothman Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 712
  • Algotels
3.0 km from Rothman Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 909
  • Hotels.com
1.6 km from Rothman Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 929
  • Hotels.com
3.0 km from Rothman Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 1 210
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
3.3 km from Rothman Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 2 360
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
12.1 km from Rothman Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 400
  • Hotels.com
3.0 km from Rothman Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Swellendam
Reviews (561)
Filter reviews
561 results
Traveller rating
516
40
1
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
516
40
1
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub africa suite garden route attention to detail one night cape town his wife lilly pond breakfast is served south africa large bathroom an oasis the main house wonderful place perfect hosts stayed longer top class
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 561 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2020

This is the third time we've stayed at Rothman Manor, immaculately clean, super facilities, great pool, hot tub overlooking springbok and zebra, and super breakfast!
We will return and strongly recommend this 5 star guest house in Swellendam.
A gentle stroll to some fabulous restaurants.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank dwalker636
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 February 2020 via mobile

Rothman Manor in Swellendam is an excellent first stopover point if you are travelling out of Cape Town to the Garden Route and beyond. Conveniently situated off the N2, the rooms are comfortable and nicely furnished. There is a traditional pizzeria right next door and other traditional restaurants within a short taxi ride if needed. Excellent home cooked breakfasts are served on a patio within the garden to the rear of the property. The owners are very attentive to all requests. A pleasurable stay.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank zoar101
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 February 2020 via mobile

It would be hard to beat the pure beauty and tranquility of this old Dutch Colonial property set in idyllic surroundings. I would give it a six star rating if possible for it is such a wonderful place.
Exquisitely decorated rooms offer real comfort and ambience and a good degree of privacy. Lovely pool to enjoy the wonderful sunshine here.
Breakfast in the garden is a true delight in location and food quality. There is also a lounge to relax with interesting books. A secure and covered parking area and even found my car windows cleaned the next day!
It goes on....... the garden area has a large lily pond, varying areas with seating to enjoy the surroundings and a large paddock with Springbok and Zebra! All flanked by the local mountains!
The challenge is leaving this place as we could have happily stayed much Longer than two nights.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Phillip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 February 2020 via mobile

I wanted a special stay over albeit for just one night and boy did I get it. We had the cosy room e.g. smallest but for one night it didn't matter. This place is without doubt the most beautiful guesthouse I have ever stayed in and we will be back next year if we are able to get in. Truly amazing.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank seedoubleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 January 2020

525 4 and 5 star TA ratings versus 1 average and 1 poor (Jan 28th 2020)
There's always two aren't there.....however I'm giving it another 5 star rating.

I personally couldn't have created a more lovely, clean, quiet and personable establishment. I did it in Vermont and won awards.....but I've met my match here.

From the fresh daisy on the pillow to little bowls of water with fresh petals dotted around the property, the delightful pool, immaculate but lived in gardens, two friendly zebras and assorted springboks in the field at the rear of the property...what more can one ask for?

The breakfast bacon got 10/10. Home made bread and a decent croissant washed down with a good strong cup of tea sitting in the sunshine on the patio as water burbled from a small fountain....well I was very content.

Great bedding and bed, spotlessly clean room with 21st century European design mixed with SA history and culture. Add personable owners and staff.....result it exceeds ones expectations.

Simply put the place is a winner!

My only suggestion and I'm very biased......a wee doggie toddling around the place and I'd stay for two weeks!

Room tip: Only one room faces the road (I was in it) but it's double glazed and quiet....
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Davidbignose
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews