We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
US$85
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bloomestate(Swellendam)
US$126
US$123
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
US$79
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marula Lodge(Swellendam)
US$65
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langeberg Guest Lodge(Swellendam)(Great Value!)
US$67
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (660)
Filter reviews
660 results
Traveller rating
525
117
13
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
525
117
13
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverthe barnguest houserose budsone nightcape townonward journeybreakfast was excellentbeautiful gardensmallest roomhomemade muffinsfew minutes walkgarden routewithin walking distanceguinea fowllovely roomcar wash
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 660 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2017

Spent two wonderful days here where the staff were absolutely fantastic. The guesthouse is a real gem with lovely appointed rooms which are spotlessly clean. The pool area is so comfortable with plenty of sun beds & seating areas. Breakfast (weather permitting) is served on the deck & what a locaion. The food was plentiful & delicious & nothing was too much trouble. Wonderfully situated for walking to good restaurants. We enjoyed it so much that we have arranged to return in March on our way back.A great stopover if travelling along the Garden Route.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden area
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Good Afternoon,

Thank you very much for the amazing feedback. We are so pleased that your stay with us was enjoyable. We look forward to your return visit in March 2018 :)
Best wishes for the Festive Season.

Kind regards,
Aan de Oever Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

The incredible service started as we completed our booking on line with a phone call from Carol saying we had be upgraded from the road facing room to the Owl Barn! The views from our room made it tempting to never leave. We had our own little "patio" complete with chairs and table and a sun lounger. The facilities were very well maintained and clean. And the new family rooms to the left of our room looked gorgeous. The sun deck for those rooms made me a little envious! The breakfast was superb with someone always around to assist with queries and special requests. The pool and deck were stunning and sundowners looking at the mountain and beautiful garden, surreal. Staff were invisible and beds magically made, rooms always immaculate. The guest house is perfectly situated in Swellendam to allow for a beautiful run towards the mountain and shopping and restaurants are within walking distance. All in all a wonderful experience...we will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for the most amazing & very descriptive feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope you will be back again in future.

All the best with the rest of the Festive Season.

Kind regards,
Aan de Oever Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

Beautiful garden, excellent breakfast safe and secure place. Clean room and bathroom.
The plus: nice restaurant around accessible in 5min walk, little muffins as take away offered when you are leaving, the washing of our car.
We will surely come back if we are around!
Thanks a lot

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Franck L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2017

So so lovely - Thank you!
It was wonderful meeting you & we're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Have a Merry Christmas & Happy New Year...

Best Wishes,
Aan de Oever Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

The Aant de Oever guesthouse is a very charming place to stay. The staff exerts greatest hospitality and practices flexibility towards guests wishes. It has a comfortable terrasse and nice pool. The breakfast provides all you wish to get.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank B9991HTmichaelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2017

Thank you Thank you Thank you Thank you!!
Hope you had a wonderful holiday all together,

Merry Christmas!

Best Best Wishes,
Aan de Oever Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

This nice guesthouse is built in the old capenetherland style. The service is excellent. The room is decorated with fresh roses. The guesthouse has a wonderfull garden and there lives plenty of different birds. The view is fantastic surround the mountains. For your way home you get fresh muffins. We will come back. Thank you so much!

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice. The area is very quiet.
Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank barbarakrawinkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2017

So wonderful to hear, thank you ever so much for your kind comments,

Lovely meeting you & we hope to see you again some time!

Merry Christmas!

Best Wishes,
Aan de Oever Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews