We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 40 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a great place to stay! Beatiful village and this guesthouse is só lovely. Everything was great.
Wine at the poolside, overlooking the impressive park area. Next morning our car was washed as surprise. And how sweet everone was. Thanks Vera and the rest of the staff. We want to come back!!!
And than stay more nights: one night is definitely too short in this area!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Afternoon,

Woweeee Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are always so happy if our guests enjoy their stay with us at Aan de Oever.

We hope to see you again in future.

Best Wishes
Aan de Oever Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent two wonderful days here where the staff were absolutely fantastic. The guesthouse is a real gem with lovely appointed rooms which are spotlessly clean. The pool area is so comfortable with plenty of sun beds & seating areas. Breakfast (weather permitting) is served on the deck & what a locaion. The food was plentiful & delicious & nothing was too much trouble. Wonderfully situated for walking to good restaurants. We enjoyed it so much that we have arranged to return in March on our way back.A great stopover if travelling along the Garden Route.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank O2577ZEcaroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Afternoon,

Thank you very much for the amazing feedback. We are so pleased that your stay with us was enjoyable. We look forward to your return visit in March 2018 :)
Best wishes for the Festive Season.

Kind regards,
Aan de Oever Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The incredible service started as we completed our booking on line with a phone call from Carol saying we had be upgraded from the road facing room to the Owl Barn! The views from our room made it tempting to never leave. We had our own little "patio" complete with chairs and table and a sun lounger. The facilities were very well maintained and clean. And the new family rooms to the left of our room looked gorgeous. The sun deck for those rooms made me a little envious! The breakfast was superb with someone always around to assist with queries and special requests. The pool and deck were stunning and sundowners looking at the mountain and beautiful garden, surreal. Staff were invisible and beds magically made, rooms always immaculate. The guest house is perfectly situated in Swellendam to allow for a beautiful run towards the mountain and shopping and restaurants are within walking distance. All in all a wonderful experience...we will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for the most amazing & very descriptive feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope you will be back again in future.

All the best with the rest of the Festive Season.

Kind regards,
Aan de Oever Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful garden, excellent breakfast safe and secure place. Clean room and bathroom.
The plus: nice restaurant around accessible in 5min walk, little muffins as take away offered when you are leaving, the washing of our car.
We will surely come back if we are around!
Thanks a lot

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Franck L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

So so lovely - Thank you!
It was wonderful meeting you & we're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Have a Merry Christmas & Happy New Year...

Best Wishes,
Aan de Oever Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Aant de Oever guesthouse is a very charming place to stay. The staff exerts greatest hospitality and practices flexibility towards guests wishes. It has a comfortable terrasse and nice pool. The breakfast provides all you wish to get.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank B9991HTmichaelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Thank you Thank you Thank you!!
Hope you had a wonderful holiday all together,

Merry Christmas!

Best Best Wishes,
Aan de Oever Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0,3 km away
Schoone Oordt Country House
2,7 km away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 40 in Swellendam
404 reviews
3,4 km away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 40 in Swellendam
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3,3 km away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#3 of 40 in Swellendam
469 reviews
0,6 km away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 40 in Swellendam
168 reviews
1,8 km away
Marula Lodge
Marula Lodge
#7 of 40 in Swellendam
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aan de Oever Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aan de Oever Guesthouse

Address: 21 Faure Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: R922 - R1 720 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aan de Oever Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aan de Oever Guesthouse is nestled on the banks of the Koornlands River, in a garden boasting many species of bird life. Aan de Oever combines picturesque views and excellent service. Enjoy a relaxing swim in the saltwater pool or watch birds. All rooms are spaciously laid-out and feature chic furnishings. We look forward to welcoming you to our special place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Aan de Oever Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing