We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every Detail Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Braeside Guest House
Ranked #17 of 39 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 April 2015

This was my second time at Braeside and it was just as lovely as the first time round. It is beautiful and the care and attention to detail of the owner shines through. The setting in perfect, the gardens are beautiful. The room was clean, spacious and well equipped with everything for the perfect stay. Our host, Alain, and everyone at Braeside were warm, friendly and incredibly helpful. I hope one day I can go back again. You will be delighted with everything if you decide to stay there.

Room Tip: All rooms beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2015

Every thing we read about this Bed and Breakfast on Trip Advisor was true, the breakfast was a delight, our room was excellent, very clean, spacious and well appointed. The view from our room was perfect overlooking landscaped gardens and a mountain nature reserve

The owners were just perfect at all levels and we were made so welcome on arrival.

My wife and I can wholeheartedly recommend this bed and breakfast, which was in a great location with in a beautiful town with a very interesting museum a short walk away . There was a wonderful choice of restaurants and bars only a short distance away, even at night we never felt unsafe in town whilst eating and walking about.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stephensue2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2015

Friendly staff, go out of their way to help, small above ground dip-pool rather than formal swimming pool [which we did not need anyway], fantastic breakfast to be enjoyed at leisure: great stop on way to Oudtshoorn from CT

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2015

Lovely guest house in a peaceful location close to the Main Street, beautiful gardens. Wonderful breakfast with home made breads and fresh fruits. Good room with very comfortable bed, magazines, tea and coffee etc. Hope to return when we next return to SA.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2015 via mobile

Stayed one night on a Western Cape trip. The Braeside is located in a quiet hillside just off the end of the Main Street in its own lovely grounds with nice mountain views.
Alain is a perfect host from his welcome till you leave.
Our room opened onto a verandah with a view of the mountains and was furnished in a style befitting of this grand house built in the early twentieth century.
Public areas are also nicely furnished and the rear courtyard contains s small but pleasant pool.
Before leaving we enjoyed a beautiful breakfast on the terrace.
Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Welsh_traveller1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.3 km away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 39 in Swellendam
528 reviews
0.2 km away
Cypress Cottage
Cypress Cottage
#6 of 39 in Swellendam
246 reviews
3.2 km away
Swellendam Country Lodge
Swellendam Country Lodge
#9 of 39 in Swellendam
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
De Companjie Guesthouse & Restaurant
0.6 km away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 39 in Swellendam
151 reviews
3.2 km away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 39 in Swellendam
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braeside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeside Guest House

Address: 13 Van Oudtshoorn Road, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: R1 080 - R1 472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Braeside Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under new ownership this Beautiful Cape Edwardian house set in a large garden with views over the Langeberg Mountains and the Marloth Nature Reserve was built in 1901, Braeside has a lot of charm and character and is a haven of tranquillity with 5 very nice individually styled en-suite bedrooms. We are situated in a very peaceful and safe area of the picturesque town of Swellendam, in the Western Cape province of South Africa. We are a 4-Star graded property (Tourism Grading Council). We offer gracious, personal service in a beautiful setting. Our breakfast consists of a continental buffet composed of cereals, yogurt, fresh fruits, various local cheeses, cold meats, fruit juices. We also pride ourselves in serving several homemade products such as: freshly baked organic breads, orgnanic cake, organic sweet and savory muffins, jams and marmalade. The cooked part of our breakfast will be made on request. It will consist of our fresh free range eggs either fried, scrambled, poached, or boiled; we can also provide very nice omelettes with several seasonings, bacon, mushrooms, sausage and grilled tomatoes Braeside is the ideal place to spend a couple of days exploring the Overberg region from visits to the coast to the beautiful winelands, all within easy reach. Or you can just spend a day relaxing by the pool, in the lovely gardens or beautiful patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Braeside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing