We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
11
23
32
14
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
23
32
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews comfortable hotel bath and shower braai area spent one night swimming pool gym facilities supper tranquility
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2018

The lady at reception when I checked in was very helpful, friendly and professional. The check out is another story, very unfriendly and poor service. There was no hot water in the room. There is a note in the bathroom advising you that the location of the geasers are far from the room and it takes a couple of minutes to heat up. I waited more than ten minute and only had luke warm water. Very poor! I will NOT be back.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 626barendv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Went to Swellengrebel Hotel for Fathers' Day lunch. The food, service and atmosphere was excellent. Pensioners were given a pension discount. Jorge the friendly owner was on hand and supervised the whole lunch. The cost of R150 per person was real value for money as the food was excellent. We recommend trying the Christmas lunch if you are in the area. The restaurant is also excellent with very competitive prices. This hotel is a real gem.

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank daveguy2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

First time have been to South Africa Went with a Saga group. Made very welcome by owner Mr George who with his wife made us have a good holiday when we all try to give him and staff tips refuse saying you are on holiday we did eventually got him to accept some thank you all at Swellsngrebel hotel

Date of stay: October 2017
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018

in the heat of summer (8th Feb 2018) when it was really hot, I booked 4 rooms for my party of 6 on the condition that the rooms had aircons.
The staff were friendly but embarrassed to be working at such a run down place. Hats of to Marshall, the manager, who worked tirelessly with me to find 4 rooms with working airconditioners, What a great person! It took over an hour going from room to room with broken or non-functional aircon units. The 70's had literally called and taken back their air conditioners. they were noisy, clunky and ineffective.
The room I / we did get did not have security on the windows and had no blockout blinds. The taps took about 4 minutes of constant flow before the water got warm, this in the middle of the biggest drought in Cape history. This shows lack of caring about the situation.
The beds were old, creaky, worn out and uncomfortable.

This must have once been a grand place, but the owners have neglected it to the point that there are other better establishments for similar prices. I would not recommend staying here again.

Room tip: find another hotel
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ferenc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

We arrived in Swellendam en route to the Eastern Cape late in the afternoon and were rather thirsty. We sat in the shade on their verandah watched the traffic and goings on and ordered our drinks. The beer was lovely and cold and the Rock Shandy was brought with all its unused components in their respective cans. We found it quiet and relaxing.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews