We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service!!!”
Review of Drostdy Restaurant

Drostdy Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 31 Restaurants in Swellendam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Drostdy Restaurant has the best mountain views in Swellendam, overlooking an indigenous garden with a lovely outside seating area. Our aim is to offer and deliver freshly produced meals, a relaxing experience matched with efficient and attentive service. Set in the beautiful surroundings of this 1757 heritage building, we offer a fine dining experience, value for money and a variety of choice with both traditional and contemporary dishes on our menu. *Offer alternative choices for guests with dietary requirements *Varied wine list, do not allow to bring your own beverages, please. Corkage R80 *Reservations recommended
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came late into Swellendam from a long day on the road and the Drosdy was the only restaurant willing to serve us a meal. They even blessed us with a complementary starter soup. The staff unlike the other places were super friendly and the owners overwhelmingly accommodating. We had a lovely meal, the best we tasted in a long time! Thank you so much

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank Serah1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2021

The food and service was excellent. The hostess was super friendly and had a hearty chats with us throughout our stay. One of the few restaurants in Swellendam that was open for lunch on Christmas. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gadgit88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2021

Amazing ambience, presentation and flavour top notch...Worldclass Chef, great service, will be back!

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank Piknwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2020

A great venue for a delicious meal in a historic building. An attentive host supported by wonderful service staff. Definitely worth a visit.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank eddenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2020

World class food and perfect service tucked away in the small town of Swellendam. Wish I could visit more often. Well done, David, Annelie and staff!!!!

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank MarizeU2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Drostdy Restaurant also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to Drostdy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
South Africa
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.