We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$143
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$114/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

NH Cape Town The Lord Charles(Somerset West)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blaauwheim Guest House(Somerset West)
US$116
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Country Guesthouse(Somerset West)(Great Value!)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albourne Boutique Guest House(Somerset West)(Great Value!)
US$55
US$51
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Somerset Villa Guesthouse(Somerset West)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
US$115
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bay View Somerset West(Somerset West)(Great Value!)
US$55
US$51
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$61/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Chelaya Country Lodge(Somerset West)(Great Value!)
US$64
US$55
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
77
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
3
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Nice people, Comfortable place. Easy to access. Very efficient location near Somerset to get quick access to almost everywhere. Only critical point would be breakfast cost that is 150 rands and is as expensive as having lunch in a restaurant. We've preferred to pass on it.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kjg842017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016

The owner and his wife are really welcoming and do what ever to assist you. The premies are really in good shape with a lovely garden and a fairly large pool.
The place overlooks Sumerset West and False Bay. Lovely restaurangs on walking distance in a safe environment.

It is just 30 minutes from Capetown but in a small town that has got everything you need

The rooms are nicely furnished but if I was to identify any thing as a little challenging it would be the bed. It is rather small and when your partner turns you know it

We would definitely recommend at Winkler

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bringan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2016

we spent two nights at Winkfield, a very nice place. Katharina was very helpful and made excellent breakfast. Next time we go to SA we might stay for a longer period.
Only drawback was a slow internet connection.....

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bengt-Arne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2016

Imagine this; sitting and watching the panorama of the sunset over the Cape Peninsula, with a beautiful garden and a swimming pool below you. At the same time having a feeling of being in a totally exclusive world, with no distractions except an occasional pigeon. Behind you is this cosy standard double room that accommodates all your expectations for privacy and comfort. You find all this at Winkfield House. It is a perfect place for long stay, you are constantly updated on what to do at any day, and where the best markets and vineyards are. The whole accommodation and services are of top quality. The rooms, the lounge, and the patio are squeaky clean. The grounds and the swimming pool are impeccable. To sit in the shade under the trees, is a perfect place to write or meditate. Other guests are around, and all are enjoying the hospitality of Robert and Katharina. Will we return? The answer is a resounding “yes”! We were all in agreement, us and the other guests. This is a place we can highly recommend.

Stayed: January 2016
2  Thank Agustina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2016

From the moment we arrived, ahead of the New Year, Robert & Katherina ensured that our stay met all our expectations. It started well with a welcoming (free) drink when we could chat about the location and the places to go and avoid, nearby. The location is excellent, 30 minutes from central Cape Town. The airport is even closer and it's a springboard to explore several of the highlights of the Western Cape. Somerset West is is a lovely area although the downtown area is nothing special.
The guest house is rally well maintained. It offers standard apartments, which I didn't see, as we were lucky enough to be allocated a self catering apartment. Very spacious, with a private garden. The west-facing patio area was ideal for sundowners. Request this (the Oak Room) if you can. Especially if you like a water bed!
The salt water pool is great - and a good size. The dogs are fun and provide security, so long as you are OK with dogs! Breakfast was very good, with seating inside or on the patio/balcony. So much storage space! Fresh flowers on arrival.
Such a relaxing week.

Room Tip: Spend extra on the larger self-catering apartment,
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Old_Happy_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews