We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous cottage, fantastic hosts!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Alfie's Cottage

View of Hottentots Holland mountain range from property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Hottentots Holland mountain range from property
Dining room table with comfortable seating for 4 Lounge with aircon, flat screen TV, Ipod docking station and DVD player
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
View of Hottentots Holland mountain range from property
Dining room table with comfortable seating for 4
Lounge with aircon, flat screen TV, Ipod docking station and DVD player
Kitchen with washing machine, microwave, large fridge, oven and stove
Queen size bed with percale linen changed every 5 days
Dressing table with roses from the garden
Heated towel rails
Proudly South African luxury Charlotte Rhys toiletries
Ensuite shower room with heated towel rails
Private patio in summer
View of the cottage from the driveway
View of cottage garden (winter)
View of nature reserve from our road
View of Helderberg mountain from outside our gate
View of nature reserve from our road
View of nature reserve from our road
View of kitchen garden and Helderberg mountains from cottage
Flowers on the patio
Flowers on the patio
Entrance to Alfie's Cottage
Jasmine covered trellis in private garden in summer
Views from private garden in summer
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Somerset West, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Anna M
Bridport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous cottage, fantastic hosts!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Alfie's Cottage for two nights but I wish it had been longer. The cottage is stunning, beautifully decorated, spacious and with everything you could want. Jen and Charles could not have been better hosts, in face when I mentioned to Charles that a light bulb had gone he changed it himself within minutes. Cannot recommend this property highly enough.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
froggie25...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed at Alfies Cottage for the month of March 2014. The cottage was delightful and our hosts Jen and Charles were always very happy to help. The accommodation was more than comfortable and was kept so clean and linen changed on a regular basis. Melody the housekeeper was always happy to help and did a splendid job keeping everything just so and arranged fresh flowers in the cottage. We loved staying at Alfies. Jen is very knowledgeable about the area which proved a great help.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umhlanga Rocks
Reviewed 10 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Abergavenny
Reviewed 20 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quiet location and the comfortable bed!
Liked least: garden furniture
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kerry S
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning home away from home”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a lovely two night stay at Alfie's cottage, which in terms of location, could not be better. It is a 5 minute walk from a magnificent national park and a 5 minute drive from Vergelegen wine farm, both which are well worth a viisit. The owners made us feel completely at home and the cottage was kitted out with everything we could need. The cottage was so peaceful and with such lovely views that we wished we could have stayed longer,. I am happy to give this cottage and excellent recommendation. We will be back

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$89
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing