We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Trip.com
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
28
0
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
28
0
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews barn ducks clara jacuzzi winelands property guests rooms breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2024

We stayed for one night after arriving on an early morning flight from Europe. We treated ourselves to the Presidential Suite which has its own swimming pool. On arrival Kyle and Patrick were very pleasant and showed us to our room. The manager showed little interest. The Suite is stunning but the pool was dirty and the pool robot stayed switched off and in the pool our entire stay. Nobody checked on us during our entire stay - there were crickets in the room that kept us awake! If you’re charging top Dollar for one night (as much as a week in top class B&Bs ) then you need to deliver world class service. Restaurant is good but breakfast very average - small paper napkins not acceptable. At this price there is so much better in SA.

Date of stay: January 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 851ChrisP851
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angelo Casu, General Manager at Vergenoegd Low Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2024

Dear Chris,

thank you for taking the time to review your stay and my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations; your comments are taken seriously and will react upon. However I would like to clarify few things.
I am extremely proud of my Team and so glad you have experienced the hospitality extended bt Kyle and Patrick; the manager who showed little interest (busy at the time with other issues hence Kyle and Patrick taking care of you) spent 15 minutes chatting to you whilst you were enjoying a wine tasting and also proceeded in arrangement a picnic dinner for you and your guests for the evening.
After your departure we have realised that the pool pump had ceased operating and it was replaced at the weekend; it is an unfortunate situation and for that I do apologize.
We effectively communicate with our guests, once they have checked in, via Whataspp; the Estate is vast and accommodation is scattered amongst 187 hectar of land therefore we have a Lodge approach when communication with guests; in addition we do not want to intrude in their privacy but any requests received are taken care of in 10 minutes.
It is unfortunate that you experienced a cricket in your room; our rooms are set amongst vineyards and open land, therefore it can inevitable, however we have a night manager on duty who can assist with spray or chemicals to eliminate any cricket; it is not the first time that it has happen and unfortunately it wont be the last.
Your request of an early check in was taken into consideration; we generously allowed you to check in very early and also check out two hours after our normal check out time; I take that courtesy as a delivery of world class service.

I sincerely hope though that your unpleasant stay with us did not deter you from having a relaxing holiday in our beautiful country.

Kind regards from the Team at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2023

A lovely place with excellent food and tasty wines combined with friendly and high-quality service.
All facilities were beautifully designed and in excellent condition.
We really enjoyed our stay in Vergenoegd Low Boutique Hotel & Spa and would recommend for anyone looking for relaxing time with great culinary experiences in a beautifully environment.

Date of stay: November 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mlaine272026
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angelo Casu, General Manager at Vergenoegd Low Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2024

Dear Mlaine,

Tahnk you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am so glad to read that you had an excellent one and enjoyed all the that the Estate has to offer, from its culinary experience, the rooms, the service provided without forgetting our wines.

We hope to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards from the Team at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2023

It was a fantastic stay. Everything was perfect. The size of the room, the bed is very comfortable.
Plus there is some little attention as you arrive
The wine dégustation was great and the lady was very professional.
Breakfast is great and of course the running duck were so cute
The only thing is that the hot tub outside was dirty

Date of stay: November 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marlène D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angelo Casu, General Manager at Vergenoegd Low Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2024

Dear Marlene,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. Firstly, apologies for one aspect of your stay which did not meet your expectation, the jacuzzi not been up to standards. We have addressed it with the Team and are alway find solutions for this type of incidents not to occur, sometimes challanging if it is windy, but neverteless it should not happen.
I hope that this small incident will not deter you from using our property in the future.

Kind regards from the Team at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2023

We stayed at Vergenoegd Löw for 3 nights and it was a stay to forever remember. Possibly the best hotel stay we ever experienced. The communication prior to our stay was already excellent as we had a package delivered. We were welcomed by the team with so much enthusiasm and hospitality. Purely impeccable service with the kindest people working here. We stayed in the Presidential Suite. It had everything you ever hoped for and dreamed about. Breakfast was good and dinner at Clara's Barn was so tasty. The winetasting at Vergenoegd Löw was something else, as the rooms where you do the tasting are beautiful, with impressive art on the walls and lovely relaxing music playing in the background. And the wines were absolutely magnificent, especially the Cabernet Sauvignon and the Chardonnay. The sommelier did a fantastic job, making us feel at home explaining the wines and telling the stories behind them. It was wonderful and we will return, no doubt.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 110christiaans
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angelo Casu, General Manager at Vergenoegd Low Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2023

Dear Christiaan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a through review. I am glad to read that we have exceeded your expectations and and made a nice contribution to your honeymoon.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Estate in the future.

Warmest regards from the Team at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2023

This is local 5-star luxury at its best! I will come back whenever I can and recommend Vergenoegd Löw for all winelands tour operators... Best value for a 5-star experience in the winelands I have found.

The wine tasting experience is wonderful and caters to all preferences. The Chenin Blanc MCC was a delightful surprise.

The inclusive breakfast at Geuwels is fantastic, using seasonal, indigenous ingredients. Make sure you catch the Indian Runner Ducks on the way to the vineyards (9am) or on the way back(12am).

The couples massage we had at the spa is the best we have ever experienced and the room is very warm/relaxing.

Our accommodation in the luxury lodge rooms had everything we needed and I spent half of our stay in the jacuzzi. One night is just not enough.

All staff were friendly, attentintive, helpful, and remember you when you come back.

Thank you for your excellence and for an unforgettable experience!

Date of stay: October 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angelo Casu, General Manager at Vergenoegd Low Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2023

Dear Alika,

Thank you for taking the time to write a beautiful review on your stay and giving so many useful informations.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future on our Estate

Warmest regards from the Team at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews