We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
StayForLong
R 2 423
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
17
4
1
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
17
4
1
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cape town city centre wonderful memories superb breakfast beautiful hotel magnificent view comfortable rooms pools reception gem establishment luxury wine
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2023 via mobile

Great hotel, rooms and the staff are polite, professional and friendly. I’ve stayed here twice now and had a great time. The facilities are very good and the St Andrews bar became our haven!! The rooms are all of a high standard, food was great and what a breakfast,wow!!

Room tip: There’s a mall across the road with everything you need, the Laurenceford estate is just down the road for wine, food or a day out.
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Beentheredunit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lord Charles Hotel, General Manager at Lord Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2023

Dear Beentheredunit, thank you for taking the time to rate and review our iconic Lord Charles Hotel, we are truly delighted that we could be of service to you ensuring you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to extending a warm welcome back to you yet again in the not too distant future. Thank you for selecting Lord Charles Hotel as you accommodation of preference when in the Helderberg /winelands region.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2023 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay at Lord Charles very much. We stayed for 4 nights. I liked the gym facilities, the restaurants and bar, and the overall service.
Gardens are very well taken care of, rooms are beautiful and spacious.
Will be coming back for some future trip in the summer.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Pilar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lord Charles Hotel, General Manager at Lord Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2023

Dear Pilar P, we are certainly looking forward to your return visit. It is with pleasure to note you enjoyed the newly upgraded and renovated services. We consistently strive to provide 5 star excellence in our iconic establishment and your feedback will most certainly be shared with our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2023

The hoteI was welcoming and comfortable. Location, is fine. It has a shopping mall opposite which apart from a few shops and supermarkets, also has a couple of restaurants, so enough should you need something locally. Next time, we will try a hotel in town, which I think would suit us best to experience other restaurants easliy, without having to get a taxi each time. The swiimming pools were cold, otherwise appeared very clean. The breakfast was very good. There is a pub style bar in the hotel, but cannot comment on that as enjoyed tasting wine out of the hotel rather than staying there. We had several coffees outside by one of the pools, very nice, thank you . The room we had was very comfortable. Lovely patio door leading to the gardens. Unfortunately no chairs at the patio. The garden around the hotel is adorable.

Room tip: No real negative comments about the hotel. It is as you would expect. I just would rather try a different hotel next time due to location.
Date of stay: December 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Arlette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lord Charles Hotel, General Manager at Lord Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2023

Dear Family Joy, thank you for taking the time providing constructive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Lord Charles Hotel. We appreciate the time you have taken. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay experience. The hotel is indeed centrally situated to shops, restaurants, beaches, in the heart of the winelands and other places of leisure interest, we have an onsite concierge service to take care of all our guests needs including transfers. Lord Charles Hotel is in a safe and secure location, providing peace of mind to our valued guests. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2023

Wonderful hotel with beautiful grounds and a great place for exploring the wineries in the area, just a short drive from Stellenbosch and Franshoek. Comfortable rooms, great beds. Would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Thetravellingkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lord Charles Hotel, General Manager at Lord Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2023

Dear Thetravellingkitten, we greatly appreciate your feedback and thank you for your time.
Situated at the foothills of the Helderberg mountains on 22 acres of idyllic landscaping, the iconic Lord Charles Hotel looks forward to welcoming you back !
Yes indeed, for those travelers looking to explore beyond the gates, the property’s unique location caters to an eclectic range of interests. From white sand beaches and world-renowned golf courses, to wine tasting at local farms or retail therapy, the Lord Charles Hotel makes an ideal base for the ultimate getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2023

I had an absolutely wonderful stay at this historic hotel. The stunning grounds and beautifully maintained property were a treat to explore. The restaurant's food was absolutely delicious and every dish was bursting with flavor. What really made my stay memorable was the staff - they were incredibly friendly and helpful throughout my entire stay. I was impressed with the level of service and attention to detail. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable and enjoyable stay. The new ownership has done an amazing job and I give this hotel a 5/5 for an all-round pleasurable experience. Carreen

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank carreen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lord Charles Hotel, General Manager at Lord Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2023

Dear Carreen11, we greatly appreciate your time reviewing the iconic Lord Charles Hotel. We pride ourselves in our hotel in every way ensuring every guest experience is bespoke and unique. Your comments will be indeed shared with our dedicated colleagues. We would be delighted to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews