We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place run by a wonderful couple”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Southern Cross Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 81 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2016

Staying here was a delight... We were met with a friendly welcoming by Claudia and Marc, who couldn't be more accommodating to our needs.
Lovely comforty beds, cleanest rooms, and a lovely tranquil pool /sun lounge area.
It's the real care and the personal touches shown that make this a special place to stay...Would definately recommend.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank casey_machen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2016

My Daughter and I had a very good stay at Southern Cross Guest House and the rooms were very comfortable and clean and Marc and Claudia were very accommodating.
The only thing that really needs some attention is that due to the weather being so hot in summer there needs to be an air conditioner or at the very least a Fan. I had to buy a fan and use it in the room until I took it to my daughters apartment that she was moving into.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank leveiral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2016

Only stayed one night on business trip and very adequate and owners very pleasant and serve a lovely breakfast, Only had a small room but on business so no where to rest and work on my computer. Suggestion maybe mount TV on wall so that TV table could be used as work station. Also could only find local SA channels on TV maybe a better range of channels with some international news would be useful.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 570alecb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2016

This is a very good guest house, I had a great spacious room with all the necessary facilities. The hosts and owners were very friendly and helpful. I Would definitely stay there again when going to Somerset West !

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lynnc136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2016

My girfriend and I stayed in Southern Cross Guesthouse for 2 nights. We experienced helpfulness of the owners and easy and user-friendly instructions on basic stuff (operating the remote controlled gate, facilities around etc.). We felt very trusted, which is precious.

The facility itself is comfortably equipped with super bed, spacious bathroom, nice veranda, clean swimming pool, comfy facilities around the common entertainment area. Tea, coffee, cool drinks and other beverages are avilable at all times. The area is quiet, tranquil. Absolutely recommended for any type of travel!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank aciesi_104659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset West hotels
0,9 km away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
377 reviews
5,5 km away
Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa
Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
328 reviews
4,1 km away
Vredenburg Manor House
Vredenburg Manor House
#7 of 81 in Somerset West
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,5 km away
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
#18 of 81 in Somerset West
145 reviews
1,1 km away
Blaauwheim Guest House
Blaauwheim Guest House
#1 of 81 in Somerset West
387 reviews
5,9 km away
43 on Sandstone Guest House
43 on Sandstone Guest House
#3 of 81 in Somerset West
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Cross Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Cross Guesthouse

Address: 20 Barlinka Avenue | De Wyngerd, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range: R626 - R1 766 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Cross Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Cross Guesthouse is situated in a quiet private residential area on the slops of Somerset West with stunning views of False Bay, mountain ranges and the Atlantic Ocean. Only 30 min. drive from Cape town, close to sandy beaches and in the heart of the Winelands is the guesthouse a perfect gate to all the interesting points of the Western Cape. The Southern Cross offers its guests a choice of 4 Star sea and garden view rooms and suites, all individually decorated and offering a very modern European standard in their equipment. The surrounding park-like garden is lush and manicured at the same time. Either here or on different sundecks guests can find their individual place for relaxation. A beautiful so called boma offers stunning views to Capepoint and the possibility of enjoying a bonfire or braai. Southern Cross Guesthouse is the perfect little hide-away out of the city`s buzz but having all that business- or leisure-travelers would need to find in close proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Southern Cross Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing