We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southern Cross Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$171
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Somerset Lodge(Somerset West)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$81
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Krystal Beach Hotel(Gordon's Bay)
US$104
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Spa
Gordon's Beach Lodge(Gordon's Bay)
US$118
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
211
34
6
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
34
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscape townguest housesmall roomlaundry servicefriendly and helpful ownershonesty barhost and hostessa lovely stayexcellent breakfastgreat place to staytop classexcellent hostspool areagreat hospitalitypeace and quieton arrivalwould definitely stay here again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 254 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2016

Our stay at the Southern Cross Guesthouse was very pleasurable. Everything was clean and i would any time stay at the Southern Cross again. The owners was so friendly and we had a very memorable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed here two weeks in total and have already booked to go back. The hosts, Marc and Claudia are really attentive and caring. They notice your small preferences and quietly deliver to meet your needs. Breakfasts are fantastic and a combination of European and English so there is something for everyone. Rooms are large, beautifully appointed and the cleaning staff are really top class. The grounds are gorgeous and we spent quite a bit of time at the pool. We found the location to be extremely central to whatever we wanted to do. Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank STH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Southern Cross guesthouse. What better place to spend Christmas in the sun! Claudia & Marc were welcoming hosts and had a high attention to detail. Our room was spacious and clean with a very comfortable bed with lovely, soft sheets. We loved the view from the sun deck in the garden - a great place to watch the sunset!

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jellybeantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2015

We stay there for one Week ,
Claudia and Marc are wonderful hosts.
The rooms are always super clean and beautifully furnished.
The breakfast with much love prepared.
At questions or wishes both try to help wherever they can.
It´s a very nice place after a Daytrip to Chill out.

I hope they stay there for a long time

Good luck for your future and wonderful Christmas days

Perry

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 365perryk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2015

The location in Somerset West makes the Southern Cross Guesthouse an almost ideal place to discover Cape Town, the Winelands and also a day trip to Hermanus is no problem. For those who are golfing: There are a number of good courses not far from there.
The majority of the guests were from Germany.
The guesthouse is located in a kind of a small park, it's not the most modern place but rooms have been renovated and the suite we were in was large, airy and light with views to the False Bay.
The breakfast including fresh rolls and eggs of any style was very good.
Claudia and Marc were very helpful when booking restaurants, tee-times or giving valuable tips for activities.
We can recommend this guesthouse and would go back if the occasion arises.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank onmytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews