We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Comfortable, Secure Guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Cross Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 81 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2016

My girfriend and I stayed in Southern Cross Guesthouse for 2 nights. We experienced helpfulness of the owners and easy and user-friendly instructions on basic stuff (operating the remote controlled gate, facilities around etc.). We felt very trusted, which is precious.

The facility itself is comfortably equipped with super bed, spacious bathroom, nice veranda, clean swimming pool, comfy facilities around the common entertainment area. Tea, coffee, cool drinks and other beverages are avilable at all times. The area is quiet, tranquil. Absolutely recommended for any type of travel!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank aciesi_104659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2016

Our stay at the Southern Cross Guesthouse was very pleasurable. Everything was clean and i would any time stay at the Southern Cross again. The owners was so friendly and we had a very memorable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed here two weeks in total and have already booked to go back. The hosts, Marc and Claudia are really attentive and caring. They notice your small preferences and quietly deliver to meet your needs. Breakfasts are fantastic and a combination of European and English so there is something for everyone. Rooms are large, beautifully appointed and the cleaning staff are really top class. The grounds are gorgeous and we spent quite a bit of time at the pool. We found the location to be extremely central to whatever we wanted to do. Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank STH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Southern Cross guesthouse. What better place to spend Christmas in the sun! Claudia & Marc were welcoming hosts and had a high attention to detail. Our room was spacious and clean with a very comfortable bed with lovely, soft sheets. We loved the view from the sun deck in the garden - a great place to watch the sunset!

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jellybeantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2015

We stay there for one Week ,
Claudia and Marc are wonderful hosts.
The rooms are always super clean and beautifully furnished.
The breakfast with much love prepared.
At questions or wishes both try to help wherever they can.
It´s a very nice place after a Daytrip to Chill out.

I hope they stay there for a long time

Good luck for your future and wonderful Christmas days

Perry

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 365perryk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset West hotels
0,9 km away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
377 reviews
5,5 km away
Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa
Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
328 reviews
4,1 km away
Vredenburg Manor House
Vredenburg Manor House
#7 of 81 in Somerset West
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,5 km away
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
#18 of 81 in Somerset West
145 reviews
1,1 km away
Blaauwheim Guest House
Blaauwheim Guest House
#1 of 81 in Somerset West
388 reviews
5,9 km away
43 on Sandstone Guest House
43 on Sandstone Guest House
#3 of 81 in Somerset West
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Cross Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Cross Guesthouse

Address: 20 Barlinka Avenue | De Wyngerd, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range: R626 - R1 766 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Cross Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Cross Guesthouse is situated in a quiet private residential area on the slops of Somerset West with stunning views of False Bay, mountain ranges and the Atlantic Ocean. Only 30 min. drive from Cape town, close to sandy beaches and in the heart of the Winelands is the guesthouse a perfect gate to all the interesting points of the Western Cape. The Southern Cross offers its guests a choice of 4 Star sea and garden view rooms and suites, all individually decorated and offering a very modern European standard in their equipment. The surrounding park-like garden is lush and manicured at the same time. Either here or on different sundecks guests can find their individual place for relaxation. A beautiful so called boma offers stunning views to Capepoint and the possibility of enjoying a bonfire or braai. Southern Cross Guesthouse is the perfect little hide-away out of the city`s buzz but having all that business- or leisure-travelers would need to find in close proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Southern Cross Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing