We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Visit”

Henri's Restaurant & Wine Bar
Ranked #4 of 145 Restaurants in Somerset West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$170
Cuisines: International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Walking into Henri's, you will be greeted by the owner and the staff who will treat you like guests in their own home.Henri's is conveniently situated on Somerset West's Main Road in a heritage building that has been renovated into a spacious contemporary restaurant. Well known for their aged grass-fed beef as well as the freshest local seafood. The menu can be described as comfort food with a modern global influence. You can also enjoy a drink on our patio or at the stylish bar. Once you've discovered Henri's you'll be back (and back again!)
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is our third time here., the first time off-season.The steaks are consistently excellent and the owner is very hands-on. The place is always busy and the quality consistent.
One our favourite restaurants , we hope to enjoys many more happy evenings in years to come.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Beachbeavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 636 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On Tuesday 6th November 2018, my wife and brother and myself went to Henri's for dinner. The service was good and attentive.
We ordered steaks - Sirloin and Ostrich. My wife had the Ostrich and thoroughly enjoyed. My sirloin on the bone was cooked to perfection. However my brother was disappointed as his sirloin was still a bit bloody after having requested it pink - not bloody. He received it rare and returned it and it came back still a bit bloody.
The desserts of Creme Brulee and Chocolate Fondant were really good.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank daveB7007OE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018

Sounds like a cliché when people write that this place is the favourite place for locals, but when you visit, it is easy to see why:
Service is top, full attention, swift and easy going. Some good wines by the glass, and free BYO! When looking at the menu we decided that with 5 dinners in Somerset West, we needed at least 2 of them to be at Henri’s:
Very extensive, interesting compositions, very fairly priced and above all – these guys know their steaks, lamb, ostrich, liver, fish and their sauces. And they do excellent veggies and mashed potatoes. The portions are so generous that you can settle for a main course only. Of course that would be a mistake, as their starters are more than worth the extra effort.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JeJeWe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

We often eat here. It is pleasant with ambiance,good service and the food is well prepared and tasty. A bit pricey but not exuberant.
They sometimes have specials that would include a bottle of wine.
Worth a visit x

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank ElsabeB26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

Had a wonderful dinner with great food recommendations from Marcus.Would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a great place to go.Keep up the good work.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank CollinsK57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Henri's Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 
Somerset West, Cape Town
 
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to Henri's Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing