We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$149
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$114/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$118
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albourne Boutique Guest House(Somerset West)(Great Value!)
US$56
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chelaya Country Lodge(Somerset West)(Great Value!)
US$67
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$122
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$130/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bay View Somerset West(Somerset West)(Great Value!)
US$56
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$62/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Somerset Villa Guesthouse(Somerset West)(Great Value!)
US$67
US$60
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Country Guesthouse(Somerset West)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (439)
Filter reviews
439 results
Traveller rating
203
146
60
19
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
146
60
19
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla vignagarden terracemy wifeconference venuecape towntennis courtssunday lunchbreakfast buffet isweekend breakawaysoy milkcomfortable hotelsparkling wineconference facilitiespublic areastop classsouth africafalse bay
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 439 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2018

A luxury hotel and definitely the best place to stay in Cape Town! All staff was incredibly professional and friendly. The service at reception was excellent. The room (a single room) was much better than I had expected. The food was delicious. I have an immense appreciation for Mr. Henry Prens. and the director Daniel Mendez who give special attention to my needs. I just have to say thank you for all!!!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Everton L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lordcharles9, Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Everton

Thank you for the lovely review. I am so happy that you enjoyed our friendly and professional staff, our lovely rooms and our delicious food. I will be sure to pass along your wonderful review to Henry.

We hope to welcome you back for another good stay soon!

Warm Regards,
Daniel Méndez
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

We stayed at the Hotel over the weekend with our grandson. The rooms are very clean and the food is fantastic. They really went the extra mile. Nothing was to much. from check in to check out. Will definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MadeleineDolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Dear Madeleine

Thank you kindly for the lovely comment. I am happy to see that you enjoyed our hotel, the wonderful food and that you found our hotel very clean.

Please visit us again soon!

Warm Regards,
Daniel Méndez
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

stayed in hotel for 2 nights. Room was not properly cleaned, Tv did not work, did not have hot water the first night and second evening the passage flooded. The bathroom tap was loose and Crockery was not cleaned. Aircon got stuck on Heat

I complained about the above but yet nothing was done ..................poor service!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Morne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Dear Morne

Thank you for taking the valuable time to give us feedback on your recent visit at our property.
We have taken note of your feedback and would like to reassure you that this is not our standard. Our Room Division and Reservations Manager have been informed and shall be taking the necessary corrective measures.

We trust that you will give us the opportunity to host you at our property in the future.

Warm Regards,
Daniel Méndez
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

Rooms slightly outdated.
Housekeeping and maintenance needs improvement. Grout in showers are dirty, only a flat sheet, not fitted sheet on my bed.
Service could also be better especially from an entity like this.
Check in and out very fast but not exceptional.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Thank Chantellé T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lordcharles9, General Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Dear Chantelle

Thank you for taking the valuable time to give us feedback on your recent visit at our property.
We have taken note of your feedback and would like to reassure you that this is not our standard. Our Room Division and Reservations Manager have been informed and shall be taking the necessary corrective measures.

We trust that you will give us the opportunity to host you at our property in the future.

Warm Regards,
Daniel Méndez
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

The Lord Charles Hotel. La Vigna restaurant New menu and the food quality and taste was amazing. Enjoyed the food. The salmon starter was of exceptional quality and taste and not to mention the fillet. keep it up great food and service.
GT restaurant well the food is very good and plentiful. loved the mushrooms and the chicken livers. New chef seems to know what he is doing.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dimitri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lordcharles9, Manager at NH Cape Town The Lord Charles, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Dear Dimitri,

I am so delighted to hear that you enjoyed our food and our exceptional service so much. I will be sure to give your compliments to our new chef.

We cannot wait to welcome you back for another visit.

Warm Regards,
Daniel Méndez
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews