We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical”
Aerial view of the Log Cabins. The Small Cabin is behind the trees to the right of the water tanks.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Aerial view of the Log Cabins. The Small Cabin is behind the trees to the right of the water tanks.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Aerial view of the Log Cabins. The Small Cabin is behind the trees to the right of the water tanks.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Sedgefield, Knysna, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gill M
Cape Town
1 review
“Magical”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful Easter weekend at Fynbosvlei in the small log cabin. The view from the cabin is out-of-this-world and we had a fabulous braai in the lapa next to the lagoon one night. We loved our stay so much that we're booking the big log cabin for a Christmas holiday with our parents in three year's time as it is booked over the next two Christmas's.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2016
Hallo Gill & Ross - thank you for your very complimentary review. We've got you pencilled in for Christmas 2018, but I hope we see you before then ...
Best regards,
Gail.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimx5217s...
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Piece of paradise”
Reviewed 2 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

What a great find. The perfect holiday spot to relax and enjoy what nature has to offer. Great hosts and very spacious and well equipt cottage. Spectacular views, lots of bird life and private access to the river (great for young kids).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2016
Thank you for the review, Kim. We hope we'll see you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElizmaSpa...
Robertson Wine Valley, South Africa
1 review
“If we can't stay forever, when can we return??”
Reviewed 17 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Gail and Nic Hanekom are the perfect hosts and they truly live "The Essence of Fynbosvlei" as is beautifully captured in a framed essay in the cottage living room. Moments after we arrived, we felt at home. The cottage and surroundings all scream 'love of nature', 'care for the environment' and 'sharing this beautiful piece of earth entrusted to us, with others'.
My husband absolutely loves sitting by a fire, so the 'terms and conditions' stating "please do not bring any wood" was one of his highlights! As they are clearing aliens on the farm, they have plenty of wood and Daniel was only to willing to bring you as many as you needed.
We had the perfect stay weather-wise as well. One day of rainy weather which was our excuse to light the indoor fireplace, drink red wine and read books. The very next day was the perfect sunny day in which my husband caught a grunter from the jetty early morning, we made brunch on a open fire at the lapa down at the lake, I sunbathed while listening to the chirping of numerous birds and our doggy just couldn't get enough of the huge lawn!
Nic, Gail, thank you for sharing this piece of heaven with us - we will see you again soon!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2017
Hallo Chris and Elizma - Í've only just seen your lovely review - almost a year after the event! Thank you - and we've seen you once or twice since then!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
less-is-b...
2 reviews
“Spectacular views all around you.”
Reviewed 9 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a lovely stay at the Fynbosvlei cottages.

The cottages had some of the most spectacular views we've experienced. It was the perfect place to relax.

Our 2-night stay was just over too quick. Next time we'll surely stay for a little longer.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2016
Thank you, Wiehann! We are truly blessed to live in such a beautiful place, and look forward to seeing you again soon ...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yvonne150...
Somerset West, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Our own private slice of paradise”
Reviewed 20 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Fynbosvlei has become our home away from home in the last few years. We have been coming here for our annual summer holiday for a few years. The farm is privately owned by Nic and Gail Hanekom, who very kindly share their piece of paradise with anyone who stays here. They are the most amazing hosts who really go out of their way to make one feel at home.
The Log cabins have everything you need to create a perfect holiday. From the balcony with stunning views, the well-equipped kitchen and the lovely comfy beds.
The best part of the farm is however the private lake access. Despite being there at the busiest time of year, it is never crowded because you have your very own jetty on the lake. You can launch your boat, enjoy water sports, swimming and fishing.
We will certainly be back again and again again!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and views of the lake. It's my happy place.
Liked least: Leaving!!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2016
Thank you, Yvonne and Johann! Your private slice of Paradise is waiting for your next visit ...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing