We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
97
55
15
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
55
15
12
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

Awful experience!! We arrived to find the entrance security gate locked and unmanned. The number on the gate to call did not work. No staff on hand to help! Waited an hour with 2 toddlers in the car who were screaming by this stage. Went to ask for help from the neighbouring estate who managed to get hold of the owner / manager who called us to give us the password for the gate. It then became apparent we were the ONLY guests in the entire complex..... In the Middle of November (high season) there was no staff on site at all. No reception to sign you in. We eventually found the caretaker who assisted us as best as he could and said they were trying to sell the place and it was no longer run as a hotel!!!! WOULD HAVE BEEN NICE IF THEY HAD INFORMED US ! Especially as I had only made the booking 10days earlier. The Spa was shut and we were left to our own devices. I felt so vulnerable and unsafe the whole night!!! Terrible experience and management have still not responded to my complaint! Stay away!!!!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank Mmdd0306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 February 2017

I am very sorry to hear of you experience at Lake Pleasant Living. The Lake Pleasant Hotel unfortunately ceased operations at the end May 2016 and Suite and Villa Owners had to move the rental of their Suites / Villas away from the Mantis Group. The 5 star Suites/Villas are still magnificently appointed in stunning natural surroundings. The Lake Pleasant Living website was altered to reflect the amended situation, specifically removing the hotel services. These amendments were carried through to all participating booking portals on the internet for all prospective guests to be informed of the change at Lake Pleasant. Lake Pleasant experienced problems with gate access via the Telkom line connection and the arrival situation experienced was most unfortunate and we apologise for this. In normal circumstances we have an ETA for all guests with a receiving manager on site to welcome guests at the appointed time. The cessation of the hotel services at Lake Pleasant, has resulted in a quieter environment, which most holiday makers are enjoying, but we understand that this may not be suited to all guests and we once again apologise for the inconvenience experienced

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Spacious, clean and 5 star. Very child friendly and central to all the kids activities. Restuarant was not great but lots of other restaurants in the surrounding areas plus it's self catering. Highly recommended. Will definitely be back.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank jaishalpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Excellent Place.. large Rooms with ample aminities.. Ready Kitchen for making anything from owen..
all thins in kitchen for 6 pax. Plate, soucer, spoor and evrything yu need for lunch or dinner is inside room itself.
Best part is very big rooms apx 800 sq foot for 2 rooms one is seating room and another is bedroom..
musst visit if you are nature lower...

Room Tip: lake side rooms are best with direct garden balcony
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vKalpit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

It's been a while since I have written a review and finally I had the opportunity to stay at Lake Pleasant Living, our gracious host for the Mr Gay Mardi Gras 2016 finalists.
I have not been to Knysna and Lake Pleasant in more than 10 years, so did not quite know what to expect. Pleasantly surprised is an understatement!

Myself and my fellow finalists got to stay in amazing villas over looking Lake Pleasant, stylishly furnished with all the amenities one could ask from such a classy venue. It was a pity that due to our hectic schedule during the Pink Loerie, that we only got to sleep there.

It's a perfect getaway, it's tranquil setting and peaceful atmosphere, makes Lake Pleasant Living a pleasant and refreshing place to stay and unwind.

Thank you again to Lake Pleasant Living for sponsoring our stay.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
Thank LouGM76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016

This was a lovely hotel in a beautiful location on the lakeside. The rooms were extremely good. We were given a free upgrade to a self-catering suite, which was enormous and very well equipped. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good, though not outstanding.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews