We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome lunch turned into great evening”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sedgefield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I went for lunch and had such a great time we stayed for dinner (and breakfast) - the views are amazing, the rooms are exquisite and the food is to die for - can highly recommend this for anyone who is keen on an unbelievable experience by the water's edge

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PStreeter, Owner at Lakeside Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Wow what a lovely review. The Lakeside team really try to go the extra mile and it is good to hear that you came for lunch and stayed with us. Your comments are really appreciated and will spur us on to ensure we exceed our guests expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2017

I have actually stayed over at Lakeside Lodge two times, and both times were really nice. This is a lovely hotel to base yourself for a weekend to enjoy the Garden Route. Definitely a hotel for people who treasure peace and quiet - as it is a boutique hotel and never very busy (from what I've seen). I would say the establishment offers relaxation and luxury plus all the rooms have good views. The staff have always been super nice, and you can also keep yourself busy with wine tasting, boat rides and kayaking, as well as dining at Benguela Restaurant (quite pricey though).

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank monlikes2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren P, Public Relations Manager at Lakeside Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed at Lakeside lodge for a family wedding. What a location!

Upon arrival a member of staff greeted us out in the car park, checking we were attending the wedding. Rooms had been arranged to be ready early for out of town guests (a very welcomed touch).

We were shown over to our room with excellent instructions on how to use everything. We were surprised by a complimentary upgrade by the hotel.

Having lived out of a suitcase for close to 2 weeks our wedding outfits needed a press desperately, upon requesting an iron, we were told to give our items to reception and this would be done for us (no additional charge)

Rooms were wonderful and well appointed with the most amazing bathrooms.

Food for the wedding was sublime and breakfast, cooked to order, was very good.

There was an issue with drinks not belonging to us being posted to our guest room. Perhaps an area for review by management in how this can be avoided in future. A big thank you to Simon who had been serving us on the night for noticing and bringing this to our attention so all could be rectified on the night.

Well worth a visit, I am just disappointed I didn't get an opportunity to use the pool or spa.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SA2Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PStreeter, Owner at Lakeside Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your comments. I am sorry that there was a mix up with your room account and that this issue spoilt what would have been a great stay. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and you are right without feedback we cannot improve on what we do. We hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

We visited for an early dinner...the surroundings are breathtaking...however the restaurant was soulless...the lighting was dreadful and gave me a headache as it was too dim andstrained the eyes...the service was pretty poor and left a bad feeling because for this level of restauration, one expects efficient and pleasant service. The food, however, what little of it there was, was pretty good...we wanted to talk to the chef before we left, but he declined to come out of his kitchen to meet us, and it was not because he was overworked...we were only one of two tables served all evening...all in all, an expensive and disappointing visit...one we will not repeat...a shame because this place could be exceptional...I am almost tempted to contact the owner who is a fellow Brit and ask her to get the restaurant staff whipped into line...

Room Tip: ...Lake view rooms obviously
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PStreeter, Owner at Lakeside Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Thank you for your review, but the sounds of things your evening was far from satisfactory and that is cause for great concern. Our Executive Chef, Kelly Ann Petersen, is an exceptional chef so this is not thank goodness the type of review we are used to. The location of our hotel can mean that on occasion we are quieter than we would hope in the evenings but all the same this should not have an impact on lighting and staff service. I will investigate and i thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

This is a beautician rather than a spa. One beauty treatment that usually takes 20 mins took an hour and I had to shorten the massage which followed to 30 mins. The massage was a deep tissue (and I asked for deep pressure and a focus on neck and shoulders), but it was light on my shoulders and the therapist did not touch my neck.

Despite this, the hotel is in a stunning location and it was lovely sitting outside at the lake afterwards.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank CfromCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgefield
33.7 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#4 of 30 in Knysna
840 reviews
29.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
29.5 km away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.7 km away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
27.7 km away
Villa Paradisa Guest House
33.2 km away
Knysna Country House
Knysna Country House
#20 of 30 in Knysna
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Lodge & Spa

Address: 3 Lakeside Drive | Swartvlei, Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sedgefield
Price Range: R2 328 - R3 800 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lakeside Lodge & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the magnificent Wilderness National Park amidst lush vegetation, Lakeside Lodge & Spa literally is situated on the banks of the beautiful Swartvlei Lake. The Lodge & Spa is unique and offers luxury accommodation. Lakeside Lodge & Spa is truly a wonderful place to escape from city life so simply kick back and enjoy. We offer the following facilities: We have the Benguela Brasserie at the lodge. The Brasserie is open 7 days a week from 8 am for breakfast right the way through the day until 9.00 pm. Serving a delicious local menu and wines at cellar door prices from The Benguela Cove Lagoon Wine Estate. Lakeside Lodge & Spa is fully licensed for your enjoyment. The rooms are all luxurious and include full bathrooms, free standing baths and 2 of the rooms have spa baths. Every bedroom has a large walk in shower. Complimentary luxury toiletries and soft fluffy white towels fresh every day. The rooms all have king size beds, beautiful linen, flat screen TVs, minibar, safe, air conditioning, fans, Nespresso coffee, alarm clocks and music. The bedrooms are all beautifully decorated, with luxurious linen and every bedroom is Lake facing. The Lodge has its own spa so why not treat yourself to a massage? In addition to these facilities Lakeside Lodge & Spa being a water retreat has its own jetty and hotel guests are welcome to bring their own boats (sail, power, jet ski). The lodge has shallow water launch facilities and deep-water facilities close by. Secure boat parking. The lodge also have a number of mountain bikes for the complimentary use of our guests as well as canoes, kayaks, windsurfers, a pontoon boat, a speed boat and fishing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Lakeside Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing