We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Teniqua Treetops
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$162
US$146
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackwaters River Lodge(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
US$150
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Wilderness Hotel(Wilderness)(Great Value!)
US$157
US$78
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
US$170
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$114
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$629
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (479)
Filter reviews
480 results
Traveller rating
284
161
22
5
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
284
161
22
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree housethe riverindigenous forestunique experiencegorge viewknysna loeriecreepy crawliesrock poolsforest walknature loversour honeymoonmagical placehiking trailsperchon stiltselectric blanketsgarden route
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 480 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We came to Teniqua Tree tops for the second leg of our honeymoon and were warmly greeted by the owners. The cabin we had was a perfect blend of rustic, charming, practical and functional. I felt like I was aboard a ship, following Peter Pan through Neverland as one of the lost boys or that I was Robinson Crusoe. All at the same time.

Teniqua is located about 20 mins from Sedgefield, 30 mins from Knysna and 90 min from Tsitsikamma. The area is breathtakingly beautiful, quiet and peaceful.

I would highly recommend the location to any tourist wanting something a little different and magical as they explore the Garden Route.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Scubajohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2017

Thanks, it I appreciate the positive feedback
Regards
Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

More emphasis on the beautiful bird life at Teniqua
More emphasis on the trees, plants and flowers found there. Allso the Fynbos.
Perhaps some names on boards fix to trees will help identify the species.
Perhaps a brochure with the most birds, trees and flowers/fynbos found and to be on the lookout for at Teniqua. The kids will love this hunting/searching game while staying at Teniqua Treetops.
Hope this can help or get you thinking.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 312sydneyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2017

Thanks Great suggestions
Regards
Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017

The tented room was not up to standard.
Hot as hell.
Not even a ceiling fan.
It was a wobbling tree house,very cramped.
We left without staying there! Forfeited our payment! But it was the best move! Stayed at Protea in knysna,which had all the mod cons and comforts.
The owners should warn guests!
It would be closest to camping! Not even glamping!
Sorry ! Owners need to be more open!
Not Recomended at all!
Just being honest! And hope it will save others there hard earned cash!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank debbiepU5062RL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2017

Hi, Sorry you did not stay. We try and show people up front what do expect and even have a page on our website "Don't come if". Its not a hotel, it is wacky, we don't compete with the Protea Hotel. We are 3 Star and I appreciate for some its the wrong place.
I am sorry
Regards
Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Frying pan very worn. Teflon is almost absent. I do not like to eat Teflon. Please replace with a steel pan. The toilet vent could be better. I do not know how. Fantastic views from the terrace and rooms. Hiking trails very well marked. Please build more houses at the edge of the valley! But not visible from neighbors. The tear closure from the tent is broken. So the cat can always go to bed. Cat hair allergy! But all in all really great. Envious keep it up. Protects nature!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chris-Horst-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2017

Wow
OK I have printed your comments and we will try and address them all this week
Thanks
Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

A great place to stay in the middle of nature. Nice hiking in the nearest sourunding. Animals all around. Even people with handicap are able to live in this tree houses. An amazing view from the house and from viewing points around the hike.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank johanssonh2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2017

Thanks, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay
Regards
Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews